10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe made a lovely pie. I used Splenda as a sweetener and used heaping cups of berries.
The egg yoke wash made the pastry shiny and it browned to a lovely shade. I did increase the flour by l/2 tablespoon and the filling was not at all runny.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patric July 16, 2010

I used four cups blueberries adding 3 tablespoons flour and 3/4 cups sugar. Spiced with cardamom, cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg. Also didn`t use egg wash for the top I just wet it with water and dusted with sugar and cinnamon. The baking time I would change. I did have to extend the time by about 15 minutes. Baking I suggest the first 15 in a 425 degree preheated oven then lower to 350 for 20-30 minutes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ June 26, 2008

I loved this pie. I did make some changes though. I actually had leftover pie dough from a Kentucky Bourbon Pecan pie, so I found this recipe, since we have lots of frozen blueberries that we'd purchased from the farms and froze during the season.

I doubled the amount of blueberries, putting them in mostly frozen. I also didn't have enough dough for the top, so I just criss-crossed some strips (I've uploaded a picture). I did 1-1/2 tblspns of flour, thinking I should have used cornstarch, but in the end, glad I didn't. I kept the rest of the recipe exactly the same.

I baked the pie for about 10 minutes longer, since the berries were mostly frozen. What came out of the oven was absolutely wonderful. When I served the pie, I spooned some of the syrup over each piece of the pie, so it didn't go to waste. I'll make this pie many more times! Thank you for this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Bryn December 02, 2010

Great recipe! I wondered at whether I should cut a slit in the top to vent (I did) and I did add about 1/2 tbsp extra of flour in response to another reviewer having a "soupy" pie. I also turned down the temp to 375 degrees and covered the top of the pie with foil about halfway through baking as it was getting very brown. I used a 21 oz can of blueberry pie filling (I guess that was what canned blueberries meant...lol. I'm not a very knowledgeable baker, obviously!). But, after all that, we enjoyed this pie immensely! It had a wonderful taste and texture and while my crust wasn't very pretty, it sure tasted good. Everyone loved this and I'm so glad I picked this...yummy yummy yummy! Congrats on winning the football pool and thanks for posting such a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Troop Angel November 04, 2007

This was my first time making blueberry pie. I looked at the recipe and was wondering if 1 Tbsp flour would be enough thickener. I restrained myself from putting in any more than that, and unfortunately, I had a rather soupy pie. My dad was visiting and had tons of advice about what I had done wrong....don't you just love family...lol! Anyways, to continue, I really liked the taste of the pie. Even my daughter tried it, and had a second piece. But, I think I will add some more flour (or maybe a little cornstarch next time.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms*Bindy August 16, 2006

I went and bought frozen blueberries from the Russian market just to make this pie, and I'm so glad I did! Beyond the fact that blueberry belongs in the triecta of 'perfect' pies (the other two being apple and sour-cherry), it is dead-easy to make. Served with vanilla ice cream. Bliss

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens September 07, 2014

I had a bit of trouble with the cooking time. I didn't know if I was supposed to cut a slit in it or not so I didn't. I tried the 425* for 15 minutes, then lowered the heat to 350* and baked it for 40 minutes more. I still don't think the top crust is done but I took it out anyway so it wouldn't burn the edges. So it isn't very pretty but it does have a nice taste. I'll try it again the way it was written and see what happens. Thanks for sharing. Made for Football Pool 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY December 11, 2010

This recipe made a beautiful pie. It was a bit tart for my taste but that's a personal preference. Also it was a little soupy. I added extra flour to not much avail. I think next time (yes there will be a next time) I'll ad a couple tablespoons of cornstarch. Thanks for a good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktenille July 06, 2009

Personally I'm not a huge blueberry fan, but my dad is a blueberry freak. I made this pie to take to him on Christmas. He loved it. He dished up a huge slice and plopped down a couple big scoops of ice cream and he was a happy camper! He said he wouldn't mind if I made this for him again, lol. Thanks for posting! Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo December 29, 2008

Did we ever enjoy this pie..Very good and will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoraMarie June 26, 2006
Blueberry Pie