49 Reviews

I've made these at least six times...I took them to a party, and to work, and everyone raves about them! Be sure to bake them long enough, or the center will be sticky. I've doubled the main recipe and used a 13" X 9" pan, and they are great!

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate Newell June 06, 2002

Yummy with a cup of tea, or in the kids lunchbox.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela June 18, 2001

These make a wonderful healthy snack.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C.L. Miller November 04, 2000

Great recipe. My family thought these tasted like bars from a professional bakery. I increased the bluberries to 2 cups, and because the recipe doesn't specify which kind of oats to use, I made two different batches (quick oats v. rolled oats). The quick oats won--they held their shape much better.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Joshi July 29, 2008

Excellent bars and soooo easy! Great for the kids lunchbox, a morning treat with coffee, or a yummy dessert served warm and topped with vanilla ice cream. I didn't have enough blueberries, so I added some chopped strawberries...FANTASTIC!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bowheme126 June 04, 2010

Blueberry Picnic Bars to the rescue! I had an abundance of blueberries and was looking for a recipe, other than muffins, to make with them. I used a slightly larger pan which resulted in my bars being a little thin...a mistake I will not make the next go'round. Delicious treat, well deserving of many occasions other than just picnics!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud June 20, 2010

Hello BB! This is terrific! I am up alot at night so keeping up with Zaar is one of the things I do. Came across this recipe last night and had to make it immediately as I had all the ingredients on hand. Used SMart Balance for margarine and WheyLow brown sugar--otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Well, I guess not. I put it in a ceramic rectangular pan sprayed with PAM rather than using foil. Had to have a piece right away. Came out of the pan with ease and tasted AWESOME. The cookie part was probably the best oatmeal cookie I've had in ages. Can already think of a number of variations. Apple raisin /cinnamon; cherry almond; pumpkin spice. Anyway thank you for a great midnight snack. Judy in Wa

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
godbreathed01 July 18, 2009

These bars are a great fresh tasting treat they are not too sweet. I used 2 cups of blueberries as per another review. I also tried two batches one with old fashioned oats rough chopped and one with them left whole, I prefered the chopped ones.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jadique July 30, 2008

Made these bars twice in a week! Once as 8x8 and the next time doubled recipe using 13"x9" jelly roll pan. Made two changes increased the blueberries by 1/2 cup and used Earth Balance Organic Butter (dairy allergy). These are simply wonderful ~ thank you Barefoot Beachcomer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puglvr July 30, 2014

Wow, these are really tasty and pretty healthy. I used whole wheat flour and sprinkled about 1 tablespoon of Grapenuts cereal on the topping for extra crunchiness, otherwise, followed recipe to a T. Next time I will do what other reviewers said and increase blueberries to 2 cups so I could get full blueberry coverage. My family really like the base, they said it tastes like a cookie. Nice recipe, I will make these again. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 July 23, 2014
Blueberry Picnic Bars