43 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nummy Blueberry muffins, made these for breakfast, by lunchtime they were gone!! The topping was particulary nice, thanks for sharing!! will be doing these again.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf November 02, 2002

These muffins were very delicious and easy to make, they raised nicely and were moist without being wet. The topping was just perfect for a cinnamon lover like me!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Pixie* January 28, 2003

I omitted the topping and reduced the baking powder to 1/2 Tblsp. They went together quickly and puffed nicely in the oven. Very "oaty" tasting and not too sweet. Good for breakfast or a healthy snack. The batter was really wet and it made more than I could use in the muffin tin (even filling them to the top), but I'll make these again, I'm sure.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrvrvr June 05, 2003

Full of flavor, moist and easy to throw toether. This is a keeper in my house for sure. I made double the receipe and put half in the freezer for a quick defrost for breakfast. Thanks for the recipe MG!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin W June 20, 2003

Delicious and filling! These muffins are very dense and are perfect for a quick breakfast. I thought they needed a little more sugar added to the recipe but when I shared them with two girlfriends they said to leave them just they way they are! Will definitely make more and freeze them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea P. June 22, 2012

I was really pleased with these muffins. Baking is NOT my forte and these were easy and tasty. Not too sweet. Like others I was concerned about the high temp so about halfway through I turned the temp down to 385 and they came out perfect! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LCinLA June 19, 2010

These were really good. The batter was quite unusual but they baked up nicely and had a wonderful texture. I also added 1 tsp. vanilla at the suggestion of some others, substituted no sugar applesauce for the oil and left off the topping. I also baked at 350 for 20 minutes. I will probably add cinnamon next time just because of personal preference. If you are looking for a healthier muffin, this was great. This probably won't be my standard blueberry muffin recipe but it is a nice alternative.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amanda_c April 21, 2010

Yum- these were real good. I used Splenda instead of sugar and applesauce instead of oil. I misread the oil amount and added 1/3 cup of applesauce. I also used 1 cup of frozen blueberries. I added the topping also. We all enjoyed these. I cooked mine at 350 for 25 minutes and they came out perfect. I would be afraid to cook them at 425 as I think they would have burnt

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol February 22, 2010

Really enjoyed the muffins this recipe makes! I subbed unsweetened applesauce for the oil and got great results. The reason for four stars instead of five is that the recipe calls for the oven to be at 425. I thought that was a little high, but trusted the recipe and promptly burnt them. However when baked at a lower temp like my other muffins they're perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinkerpuppet January 08, 2010

These muffins were ok, there wasn't all to much flavor to them, except for the topping. (I had extra topping, by the way). I will try making these again, maybe adding some almond extract and cinnamon to the batter....I just have to work on them alittle bit. Hey they are healthy muffins tho!!! ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katrina August 13, 2003
Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins