24 Reviews

I followed the recipe less a little topping and made 12 standard muffins instead of 8 large. Also, for buttermilk, I used the homemade yogurt. Reduced baking time to approx 22 min and sprayed the muffin pan with coconut oil cooking spray. Released beautifully. Used the smaller frozen wild blueberries. Muffins are a little chewy (I might have over mixed), but absolutely delicious (I don't like overly sweet deserts).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kims2cute March 07, 2015

Wonderful blueberry muffins! I did use unthawed frozen blueberries and a tad more cinnamon (love cinnamon). Always have a winner with your recipes Paula. Made and reviewed for the 2014 Culinary Quest - Family Picks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 September 25, 2014

Wonderful! The topping gives them that special touch. They are not too sweet, as they are not intended to be a cake. They were very tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emr4kids May 29, 2010

I made these w/o crumble topping and these were great. This was very accurate to say that these go bad in 2 days. These were everything a good muffin should be! I was worried when I didn't mix it completely, because I've never heard of that technique before, but it worked out wonderful

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin' Swimmer September 05, 2009

Nummy! The husband requested that it go in the recipe box... And so it shall! I didn't make the topping, but they were good all on their own.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mellowcheddar June 24, 2009

Very good muffin, not overly sweet. I only have regular muffin tins so that is what I used. I got twelve muffins out of those. I love that the recipe uses buttermilk...my muffins were a little on the flat side. Probably my fault for having too many things going on at once. I skipped the crumb topping just as a personal preference. The kids are sure loving them. Thanks, Paula! Made for ZWT4 Canada.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Witch Steph June 28, 2008

This was a tasty muffin that was quick and easy as all muffins should be. I followed almost exactly except for increasing the cinnamon and adding a pinch of cloves. I use the little wild frozen blueberries which gives you lots of berries in every bite. Thank you Paula. this ones a keeper. Reviewed by a Chic Chef for ZWT4 Canada.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet June 21, 2008

I made this as a muffin cake - it took about twice as long to cook. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel June 20, 2008

Great muffins! The topping was excellent. Muffins were some of the best I have ever had. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendyt57 February 12, 2008

Delicious! These muffins are so moist and so yummy! The addition of the cinnamon to the batter and the crumbly topping put these muffins over the top. I baked these in regular sized muffin tins for 25 mins. and it made 12 muffins. Also, I didn't have any buttermilk, so I did the ol' vinegar in milk trick and it worked well with this recipe. Thank you Paula for this fabulous recipe...it is definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill January 19, 2008
Blueberry Muffins