17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum Yum Yum, these are fabulous!! I did make a few changes, I used melted butter instead of veggie oil, added an extra 1/2 cup of milk and about a 1/2 half a cup more blueberries. These came out big and fluffy and delicious. I didn't use the crumble topping, I'm sure it's good but they really didn't need them to satisfy us :) This is a keeper. And I cooked them at 350 for 25 minutes, 400 just seemed to hot especially with no posted cook time. Thanks for sharing :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jake ryley'smommy March 02, 2010

Just finished making these...sooo good. Only rated 4 stars, as I made a few changes right off the hop - added the extra 1/4cup milk others have mentioned, used 1 cup melted margarine in place of the vegetable oil, added 2tsp vanilla and the zest of half a lemon, and was closer to 4cups of berries. Also, instead of using the struesel topping, I just topped them with a coarse sugar which added a nice crunch on top. Baked mine at 350 for 20 minutes and they came out nice and moist, but not underdone. Also made some into mini muffins and only baked those for about 8 minutes. In total, I got 24 regular and about 40 mini muffins. I'll be sure to make these again :) I'm sure these would be great with other berries as well...might try raspberry next - Thanks for a great starting point!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MittenKitten August 17, 2011

Very yummy, but my only complaint is I think they have too much baking powder. Perhaps mine just didn't mix in as well or something but some muffins had a funny baking powder taste to them. I halved the recipe and added a little extra milk as suggested. Those without the baking powder taste were great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anna in the Philippines January 10, 2011

Great delicious muffins! I did need to add a bit more milk. I halved the recipe, using 2 eggs. I also skipped the topping, just sprinkling with cinnamon/sugar instead. Kids loved them, I loved them. My only problem with the recipe is that there is no time given for baking. Yum-tastic recipe...I will definitely make again, and keep track of how long they baked! Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Beth August 09, 2008

Absolutely delicious. The batter was very thick but I did not add more milk to it and they were beautiful. I did add about another half cup of blueberries. Thank you Liz.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef bje August 04, 2008

I made these today for my Read Across America breakfast. The students really enjoyed them. I also found the batter to be a bit thick- a bit of milk fixed it right up though. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Teach March 02, 2007

My family absolutely loved these muffins!As others have commented, the mixture was a little thick, but after reading the other suggestions, I also added another 1/4 cup of milk. Definately a keeper. Will be making them again and again. Thanks liz timm, will be sure to follow up on some of your other recipes soon too =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme September 09, 2006

Delicious! Absolutely delicious! My third time making them, A little thick, added a splash more milk, but super easy to make. I won't use any other recipe. Recipe could be adjusted to reflect length of baking time. I just keep checking mine. Thank you, liz!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wirkwoman1 September 01, 2006

An absolutely fantastic recipe! I did add more maple syrup and a little bit less sugar and they taste so good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
young_rosemary August 27, 2006
Blueberry Muffins