57 Reviews

This recipe was my first attempt at making jam and I love it! I'm not even a blueberry fan but I think the lime juice cuts the sweetness of the berries and just adds a great contrast to the taste. This was so easy that I've moved on to Apple Butter and Salsa. Looking for a peach jam recipe right now as the peaches are just coming into the produce stands here!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peggy P. August 11, 2009

Every year I try to add one new recipe for canning and this year it was this jam. For the first batch I followed some of the reviews and only added 4 cups of sugar. It was delicious but I felt it didn't set as well as I thought it should. I made a second batch using the full 5 cups of sugar and it was better. The lime gives it a clea/fresh taste that we all liked. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy H. August 11, 2009

This was incredibly easy to make! I even winged it on the canning part by making my own canning system lol (Stock pot and steamer basket!) I haven't really tried it on bread yet or anything but I did lick my spoon to see how it tasted...and mmmmmm! It was great! Thanks for a super easy and tasty recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashley S. July 03, 2009

I stumbled across Key Lime juice at the store and decided to give it a try in this recipe. Boy was it a hit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GA Farm Girl June 28, 2009

This was my first ever attempt at jam, and I made it using frozen wild blueberries, and fresh lime juice. All I can say is that I will never buy commercial jam again! I followed other people's advice to cut the sugar down to 4 cups instead of 5, and it's still plenty sweet. It was messy, but I managed to accomplish the whole thing using only three pots/pans, and a handful of utensils and tools. I am glad I decided to buy a canning funnel!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Natalia - St Louis June 17, 2009

My Sister, Mom and I made three jams that were amazing. They were all well recieved in holiday baskets (with requests for more :) Raspberry Jalapeno Jelly(#8542) Best Apple Pie Jam (#100315) and Blueberry Lime Jam! :) I loved the contrast in flavors of the blueberry and lime- what a great kick!! Jazzed up that peanut butter! :) Wonderful on scones as well :) The kids loved it on waffles with whip cream. :) Thank you for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chez Michelle January 04, 2009

Way, way too much lime. I can barely taste the blueberries in the jam. I used fresh limes, not bottled, maybe that made a difference. I would definitely cut the lime in half if I ever made it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stinkycheesefan August 20, 2008

Great recipe--we loved the subtle the lime flavor. I used bottled lime juice, compensating for the lack of zest by adding a little more juice. We have had it on croissants, heated with pancakes, on toast, and mixed with vanilla yogurt on waffles. Our kids LOVE it. I would probably use only 4 cups of sugar next time, but that's a personal preference. Thanks, Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gatorchef August 13, 2008

This was excellent! I made this recipe using wild blueberries we picked one afternoon. This was my first attempt at making jam, and I hit a few obstacles along the way (canning rack broke, ran out to buy a new one and then it didn't fit. Bought the wrong type of pectin, had to go to the store again! etc) but the end result was worth the running around! I loved the subtle lime taste you get from the lime zest. I added a little more blueberries to use up some of what I had and added a small amount more sugar just to balance. Everyone who has tried it has loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AshleyTruckley August 05, 2008

I just finished making this, so my review is based upon what i could scrape out of the bottom of the pot. All I have to say is -WOW!! After reading all the reviews, I made 2 changes based on personal preference...I used my emersion blender while it was cooking because I don't like big chunks in my blueberries and I used 1 cup less sugar. I find most blueberry jam too sweet. After careful consideration, I loved it. It seems to have jelled perfectly and the taste is heavenly. Thank you for posting Sharon123, I might not have tried this, otherwise...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
me & alex August 04, 2008
Blueberry Lime Jam