57 Reviews

This is my go-to recipe for blueberry jam - I won't make it any other way. Everyone always comments on the flavor (the lime isn't too strong, but it REALLY adds a lot to it). I crush my blueberries in a food processor rather than doing it by hand; the results are a little smoother.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMama August 22, 2011

I'm giving 5 stars because I trust the other reviewers and the way mine came out is through noone's fault but my own. Can someone help a sister out and tell me where I went wrong? I've only been canning for a year...

Ok so I wanted to make a larger batch that 6 half-pints. I had 4 pints of berries, which, once mashed, yielded about 2.5 cups of fruit. I followed the directions and added the package of pectin and combined, brought to a boil.

I then added sugar - 4 cups. Then once it was a rolling boil, I added the lime - juice form 5 small limes (about 1/3 cup juice).

Not sure how long I cooked it, but I kept checking it on a plate with the freezer. And I canned it as soon as it looked jelled. But then when I was cleaning everything up, all the extra residue on everything is VERY jelled. Is this normal? What if it comes out toooo jelled?

Also, when I tasted it out of the pot, before canning, it was DELICIOUS, but when I tasted some of the jelled residue on the plate, utensils, etc. It didn't have much of a flavor of anything, aside from sugar. Please please tell me what I did wrong?? Did it likey effect anything that I used an immersion blender briefly after mashing to break up more of the skin?

Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beembm July 22, 2011

I have tried lots of Blueberry jam recipes, This is so far my favorite.
The lime cuts the sweetness from the sugar.
The end result is really refreshing and it jelled perfectly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clean Plate Club June 29, 2011

I didn't have a lime so I used orange zest.....mmmm! Just a hint of flavor in the jam and it made it taste so good. Great recipe, thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbrown2524 January 29, 2011

This is a delicious recipe! It did not sound appetizing at all when I read the name (not a huge fan of blueberries or limes). The flavors play off each other beautifully though. I have made 3 batches in 3 days. Thank you again and again for this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gooseygrl January 03, 2011

Love this! This is our new favorite jam recipe. Definitely a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ajean July 18, 2010

Easy and delicious - I made 2 batches on a weeknight. I added about a teaspoon more lime zest and probably a couple extra tablespoons of lime juice because I love the tartness!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
salzer July 10, 2010

Freezer died and had a bunch of blueberries...this is GREAT. Love the lime in there. My daughter (2 years licked off 4 spoonfuls and then I just gave her a small bowl to eat...she came back screaming for more, I had just filled the canner...she grabbed the towel I had spilled some on and licked it off...what more can I say an A+?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
farmchick #2 June 29, 2010

Soooo good! I used frozen blueberries and made it exactly as the recipe calls. It came out perfect. The lime adds such a great flavor to this jam. It tastes gourmet! I will be making this again and again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissCatFish June 25, 2010

Yum, yum, YUM! This is such a wonderful tasting jam! I made exactly as stated except that I doubled the recipe. ;) Made 7 1/2 pints. Thanks Sharon! I'll be making this jam again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enjolinfam August 18, 2009
Blueberry Lime Jam