14 Reviews

Fabulous recipe - I ran the first couple of cups of blueberries through the blender for a slightly smoother base to the jam. I also substituted two cups Stevia for two cups of sugar. Once the jam reached a full boil that could not be stirred down, it was exactly 20 minutes before the pan of berries was thick and ready to be put in jars. Love the flavor and texture. Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenBee49444 July 07, 2011

This was my first time making blueberry jam, and my first time making any kind of jam without pectin. It turned out great! I doubled the recipe since I had six pints of fresh berries to work with. I followed another reviews recommendation, and for the 12 cups of blueberries I had, I only used 4 cups of sugar in total (2 cups for each recipe). After 15-20 minutes of boiling I reached the right thickness. I didn't get any foaming that I noticed. The resulting jam has just the right amount of chunkiness for our family, jelled up beautifully, and you can really taste the flavor of the berries by using less sugar. This recipe was really quick and easy. I'll make this again for sure!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helen S. July 24, 2015

Made this recipe twice. Followed it to the letter first time and it was delicious but a tad sweet for me. Second time I used only two cups of organic sugar, orange rind and juice, instead of lemon, and it it was really perfect. Several posts mention the cooking time taking much longer than 15 minutes. I used a deep 12 inch stainless steel skillet over medium high heat instead of a pot. It allows the berries to cook faster. In less than 20 minutes I had a thick gorgeous jam.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
S G. July 17, 2015

My cooking time was much longer to make the jam thick, and I even added a bit of grated apple peel for natural pectin. However, the end result was delicious! I will be making this again. Thanks for such an easy recipe. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jentastic September 21, 2010

first time ever making blueberry jam. was really easy to follow. will do again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dylan T. July 23, 2015

Signed up just so I could review this recipe. Winner winner blueberry jam dinner! The lemon flavor was not crushed by the cooking, and the jam bubbled and sparkled while cooking like so many amethysts. Beautiful spread and so very tasty. And, what's more, it was very easy to make. Simple, fresh ingredients help a lot, of course. One note: I had 8 cups instead of 6, so I multiplied the other ingredients by the same factor (1 1/3) to no ill effect. I increased the cooking time slightly as well, and it seemed to gel up quite nicely. The biggest time sink here was the canning process, honestly. What a great find. Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adgart July 19, 2016

This is a very good recipe as is. But I made some adaptations and like it even more..."Blueberry Lemonade Jam." I omitted the lemon zest and added 2 scant tablespoons of King Arthur Flour's Lemon Juice Powder. FABULOUS! I have gotten rave reviews from everyone who tasted it. (I've made and shared many batches in the past few weeks.) Like others, mine needed a longer cooking time - about 40 minutes each time. Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joniperlette June 15, 2015

I ran into the same problem as some of the other posters....this jam was cooking for far more than 20 minutes...I was not using wild berries and this may be the difference but it was close to 90 minutes before this jam passed the gel test...awesome flavour though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue L. August 16, 2014

Fabulous recipe! It sets wonderfully, and this is so flavorful. I love the combination of smooth and chunky in this jam. I love seeing the chunks of fruit in the jam. This tastes so fresh I won't go back to store bought. We found our new house favorite! I was only able to make three 8 ounce jelly jars with this recipe. Am I able to double or triple this recipe and still get the same great results? I did water bath process these little gems but I can't seem to keep them in storage long enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
My wooden spoons July 10, 2014

Yum! I liked this, and the county fair did too! Got a ribbon! I cut the sugar to 2 cups and added some lime juice and lemon zest to give more flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WashingtonAve August 03, 2013
Blueberry Lemon Jam (No Pectin Recipe)