48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

GREAT recipe! I made this just for fun, and I must say that I was skeptical about the icing. It was WONDERFUL, however, and added just the right amount of tang to the bread. This baked up nice and fluffy--light, not heavy, but also not dry. THANKS!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock March 13, 2002

this was so good very light and the lemon adds excellent flavor. it was easy and went fast at our house. thanks for such a great recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
polly salama March 24, 2002

Absolutely delicious. Love blueberries and the lemon adds a real freshness. I did add a glug of vanilla as suggested by other reviews. Thanks for a great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattygogo August 09, 2010

A very tasty bread! I (1- 1/2) the recipe, and baked in a bundt pan. The glaze is very delicious, and the cake keeps well. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazeleyes May 16, 2010

June 11, 2010: Absolutely fabulous! Turned out VERY MOIST! I used 1 1/2 x the recipe and made it in a bundt pan, baked perfectly in exactly 1 hour 15 mins. I added in juice of a whole lemon to the batter along with the zest, had the right amount of lemony flavour and the sugar was perfect for us, not overly sweet. The icing is a must, that does take it to the next level! Have I mentioned how VERY MOIST it is! It's more like sponge cake than a bread. WE LOVED it and everybody else who have tried it! Thank you so much, mstrcook, for sharing this wonderful recipe, this one is definitely a keeper for sure! Update on Nov 09, 2010: I've made this cake several times now in both a bundt pan and loaf tin, and it's been a big hit each time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aaliyah's&Aaron'sMum June 23, 2011

This bread is pretty good. I took other reviewers' advice and mixed my frozen blueberries in with some flour and they did not sink to the bottom. I agree the actual bread lacked a real lemon flavor - that came from the glaze. Next time I might double the amount of lemon rind and forgo the icing. I forgot about this bread and it cooked an extra 10 minutes, but nothing was harmed. It was moist and delicious. I also used whole wheat flour with success. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie September 28, 2009

Delicious! I reserved about 1/4 cup of the flour mixture and tossed it with my blueberries - this prevented the berries from sinking to the bottom. I used all of the icing, and thought it was a bit too much - the flavor was good, but it made the cake almost soggy. Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FB4082 June 18, 2009

Yum! What a great twist on blueberry bread. Doubled the recipe so I could freeze one loaf. Perfect use of in-season blueberries!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WickedCook17 August 11, 2008

Definitely making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bauline Baker February 15, 2014

I personally found it a little sweet. It had good flavor, but I wouldn't make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jagmichigan September 26, 2012
Blueberry Lemon Bread