45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I halved the sugar like most of the reviews suggested, and I also used 2 c. half and half, and 2 c. heavy cream, hoping for a creamier ice cream. I was really excited because the syrup tasted wonderful!! However, when I added all the cream, it was too diluted. I think a quick fix for this recipe would be to cut out some of the cream. It was a little too much for my machine anyway, so if I make this again, I will definitely add sugar to taste, and use maybe 3 c. of cream, instead of 4. I strained the berries because I was making this for company, but did remember to smash the berries against the side of the pan to get as much flavor as I could out of them. I made three flavors for my guests for Easter (blueberry, toasted marshmallow, and lemon), and this was, by far, their least favorite. Disappointing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alp1357 April 09, 2012

I used 2 cups of heavy cream and 2 cups of whole milk, I also did not strain the mixture, added just a touch of vanilla. If you don't strain the mixture, you will need to make 2 batches as most ice cream makers only make a maximum of 1 1/2 qts at a time, so don't overload your ice cream machine! Also make sure to chill your mixture completely. As an aside...take the cooked down blueberries and add a little cinnamon and vanilla, let it chill down. Then use it as a swirl to add to any vanilla ice cream batch and you will have a blueberry pie swirl (toss in some graham crackers or pie crust pieces too!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sugah Chef August 07, 2011

Whoops forgot the stars!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Decadent1 June 14, 2011

this was really yummy. i used 1/2 the sugar, otherwise it really would have been too sweet. After cooking the blueberry mixture, i threw the whole thing in the blender so there were a few chunks, but not a whole lot. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ August 08, 2010

This was not well received by my family. I believe the problem was the ice cream was too sweet. I would like to try it again, with maybe half the sugar or maybe less than that and some lemon juice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen August 01, 2010

We tried this recipe for the maiden voyage of the ice cream maker we scored at a yard sale. I added some cinnamon and vanilla and I pureed the berries before mixing them with the sugar and water and bringing it to boil. I didn't bother straining the mixture. It came out a gorgeous shade of purple. My daughter dubbed it blueberry pie ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonata August 06, 2009

I wanted to make this quickly so I didn't cook it. I used my hand blender to mix the sugar in and then to blend the frozen blueberries into the mix. I also added a little vanilla. Since the berries were frozen it made the mixture super cool allowing it to freeze quickly in the ice cream maker. I put it in a shallow dish to ripen and only let it ripen for an hour. It set up very well and I served it with Homemade Magic Shell (Ice Cream topping). I too did not strain the mixture as I feel most of the goodness is in the seeds and skins. Thanks, I will try it with other fruit...canned peaches??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doughy July 24, 2009

Made this a few days ago. Added a tsp of cinnamon. We had a bowlful about 4 hours after putting it into the freezer to cure, it was gritty due to ice crystals, when it fully cured, it was smooth, creamy and fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rushiku July 15, 2009

This was wonderful. I followed the other comments and left the berries in. I used Costco frozen berries and it was great. Thank you for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keatsmum September 15, 2008
Blueberry Ice Cream