Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blueberry Ice Cream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blueberry Ice Cream

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on September 14, 2008

      Read the reviews first!!! No one used this much sugar (it's way too sweet) and additionally, my ice cream never set so I guess I shouldn't have strained it like it says? I am very upset because I just wasted freshly picked, great blueberries!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      This recipe has a lovely flavor. I followed the suggestion of many reviewers, and didn't strain my berries, but left them mostly whole, though crushed. They all stuck to the paddle and didn't mix through. Also, my ice cream didn't ever really freeze. I wonder if that was because it was too much for my machine? It did fill to the very top. Despite my troubles, my husband said this is his favorite homemade ice cream yet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      I made this twice in the last week. My ice cream maker could only do half of a recipe at a time so I kept half of the cooked berries seperate in the fridge. I used fat free half and half and it turned out fine. I made this for DS because his favorite color is purple and I'm trying to get him to eat new foods. He tried it and didn't like it. I didn't expect him to but I had hopes. Oh well. My DH doesn't care for blueberries and he was crazy for it. Between him and DD I only got a very small bowl of it. This will be great this winter as a reminder of summer. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      Very good and easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      So, I started making this, added the ingredients to boil and then realized it was 2 tablespoons of water! Yikes! I added 2 cups! So, I boiled it for a while in hopes that most of the water would boil off. Then I forgot about it and about 1/3 of the liquid boiled over! Yikes again. This recipe was destined to be a disaster. But I persevered and finished it anyway. Would you believe that even after all that it was totally awesome!? It was creamy and the flavor was awesome! What an amazing recipe. You can completely screw it up and it is still delicious!!! Thanks Kim!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      I did half the recipe, with only a 1/2 cup of sugar, and it turned out really well in my counter-top quart ice cream maker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      I used frozen wild blueberries and based on some of the previous reviews, 1 1/2 cups sugar and I didn't strain the berries. It was great! I'm going to try cherries next time. This made approx. two 1 1/2 qt. batches in my Cuisinart, though. Maybe 'cause I didn't strain the berries?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      Uh ... hello! Yummy! My daughter and I picked a bucket of blueberries and were looking for creative things to make. We were able to double the recipe and make enough for friends, too! It was very easy and SO good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      DH and I both agree that the ice cream is very good,but it is so sweet.I will reduce the sugar by a cup when I make again. A good desert to made for company,because of the beautiful color and presentation. Thanks for sharing :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      Very easy - beautiful color and flavor - worked very well in my Ice cream maker. I strained the blueberries as requested, but then added in a little of the blueberry fixins just to give it some texture. Next time I'll put more in it - because I'll be braver! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      This was really great, especially considering there's no heavy cream in the recipe (although that would no doubt be delicious). I put the mixture in the freezer for two hours instead of the overnight freezer method and it worked just fine. Great blueberry flavor and a beautiful color. I may reduce the sugar just a tad next time, but that's simply personal preference. A keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      I made this to go with Mirj's Red, White, and Blue Ice Cream Pie. I couldn't find blueberry ice cream anywhere. It was good but it had a different texture than regular ice cream. Like other reviewers I didn't strain the fruit from the mixture because we like fruit in it.I used fat-free half and half to try to take some fat out of it. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      I have been wanting to try this for a while and am so glad I finally did. Loved the beautiful lavender-blue color. Also had a good blueberry flavor and the texture was light and creamy. I made a double batch and served it at our Memorial Day cook-out. It went over very well. I like the idea from other reviewers of adding some of the fruit to the mixture and think I will try that next time. Thanks, Kim D.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2006

      I needed to used up a small container of fresh blueberries and thought this recipe would be perfect. I only did a half recipe, and mixed about 3/4 cup of heavy cream into the half and half. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out fantastic! I did have to smash the blueberries against the side of the pan while they were cooking to get as much flavor as possible out of them. Such a perfect color, just the right sweetness, and none of that "coated tongue" feel you get with some homemade ice creams. This one is going into my permanent file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2006

      This was very good. I would like to try the recipe with other fruits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      Very colorful and flavorful ice cream, texture almost like half sorbet, half ice cream. I made it exactly as instructed, apart for not sieving it, I preferred it that way. The problem was, mine didn´t freeze properly, just like Sugarpeas didn´t, either. Maybe using heavy cream would make it heavier in fat and easier to freeze, maybe my ice cream maker just could´t cope with the mass?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      Absolutely Fabulous. I tried this recipe the first time but just pureed the fresh blueberries. Good, but not fantastic. The second batch was according to the recupe abd I could not ask for better results. I am going to try the recioe with other fruit cause this was so great!!!! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2005

      This ice cream came out very good and very rich and creamy. I didn't sieve the mixture, so it was speckled. I do think my blueberries (frozen) may have been a little sweet. While this was not a huge problem by any means, I think I might reduce the sugar slightly next time. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2005

      The blueberries give a very lovely color to this ice cream and it also has an exceptional flavor. I don't have a very good sieve, so some of the peel was left in the mixture. But if you ask me it adds character to the ice cream. I may try juicing the berries next time. I borrowed a freeze that you put the base in the freezer for 24 hours then added your mixture into the base. It froze in no time at all. Thank you for a great recipe we'll be making it over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blueberry Ice Cream

    Serving Size: 1 (331 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 523.9
     
    Calories from Fat 169
    32%
    Total Fat 18.8 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 59.6 mg
    19%
    Sodium 67.9 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 87.8 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 76.6 g
    306%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites