46 Reviews

Too sweet! Clearly it depends on the blueberries, but it was borderline inedible. I will try again, but will the sugar back by 1/2 cup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
btgglynn October 12, 2015

Used this as a base to make ice cream with blueberry balsamic vinegar that I had received as a gift. Added probably about three tablespoons of the vinegar (it was very sweet and syrupy) until it tasted right. This was the most fabulous ice cream I've ever made. It think it would have been even better with some kind of buttery crumble or like a cobbler type mix-in. Sort of like a blueberry pie. I will update my review or post a new recipe when I perfect it. But I need some more of that vinegar...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kadiprimo May 16, 2013

I halved the sugar like most of the reviews suggested, and I also used 2 c. half and half, and 2 c. heavy cream, hoping for a creamier ice cream. I was really excited because the syrup tasted wonderful!! However, when I added all the cream, it was too diluted. I think a quick fix for this recipe would be to cut out some of the cream. It was a little too much for my machine anyway, so if I make this again, I will definitely add sugar to taste, and use maybe 3 c. of cream, instead of 4. I strained the berries because I was making this for company, but did remember to smash the berries against the side of the pan to get as much flavor as I could out of them. I made three flavors for my guests for Easter (blueberry, toasted marshmallow, and lemon), and this was, by far, their least favorite. Disappointing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alp1357 April 09, 2012

I used 2 cups of heavy cream and 2 cups of whole milk, I also did not strain the mixture, added just a touch of vanilla. If you don't strain the mixture, you will need to make 2 batches as most ice cream makers only make a maximum of 1 1/2 qts at a time, so don't overload your ice cream machine! Also make sure to chill your mixture completely. As an aside...take the cooked down blueberries and add a little cinnamon and vanilla, let it chill down. Then use it as a swirl to add to any vanilla ice cream batch and you will have a blueberry pie swirl (toss in some graham crackers or pie crust pieces too!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sugah Chef August 07, 2011

Whoops forgot the stars!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Decadent1 June 14, 2011

this was really yummy. i used 1/2 the sugar, otherwise it really would have been too sweet. After cooking the blueberry mixture, i threw the whole thing in the blender so there were a few chunks, but not a whole lot. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ August 08, 2010

This was not well received by my family. I believe the problem was the ice cream was too sweet. I would like to try it again, with maybe half the sugar or maybe less than that and some lemon juice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen August 01, 2010

We tried this recipe for the maiden voyage of the ice cream maker we scored at a yard sale. I added some cinnamon and vanilla and I pureed the berries before mixing them with the sugar and water and bringing it to boil. I didn't bother straining the mixture. It came out a gorgeous shade of purple. My daughter dubbed it blueberry pie ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonata August 06, 2009

Made this a few days ago. Added a tsp of cinnamon. We had a bowlful about 4 hours after putting it into the freezer to cure, it was gritty due to ice crystals, when it fully cured, it was smooth, creamy and fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rushiku July 15, 2009
Blueberry Ice Cream