46 Reviews

This was the BEST ice cream to come from our little ice cream maker yet! It was so creamy and a regal shade of purple. I also left the berry bits in my batch, I also added a small splash of vanilla to the mix. My husband loved it, the whole batch was gone the first day.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackieliz July 29, 2010

It was wonderful! I used blueberries from frozen, and I don't think I'd add any water to the sugar and cream next time, with the frozen fruit there was plenty of moisture to dissolve the sugar in.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoName12345 October 04, 2009

This was my first attempt at making ice cream. So after reading the reviews, I made this with 3 cups frozen wild blueberries (from Costco) ,1 tbs. water, 1 cup organic sugar, pinch of cinnamon, a bit of vanilla, 3 cups of heavy cream(no Bovine growth hormones or antibiotics) and left in the berries. Chilled for 6 hours. Really yummy, not too sweet and the perfect amount for the Kitchen Aid ice cream maker attachment.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bellaluna5775 October 17, 2013

First of all, assess the sweetness of your berries to determine the amount of sugar. I reduced the sugar to a cup and a half since many reviews said that 2 cups made the ice cream too sweet. I wish I hadn't. Our berries were not as ripe/sweet, so the ice cream tasted like sorbet or a fruit bar. It didn't hit that sweet spot that ice cream usually does. Besides that, the ice cream came out just right. We also made ours chunky with bits of berries. Half-and-half worked well for my conscience, but I would like to try it with heavy cream. Our family enjoyed this new novelty (our first time making homemade ice cream), and we are already thinking of making the recipe with another fruit.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bugsypugsly_12450285 July 17, 2011

We used fresh blueberries, we DID remove the skins & seeds - as we made the ice cream prior to reading all of the reviews - used heavy cream rather than half-n-half, and used the full amount of sugar. Ripening time was key! Direct from the ice cream maker it was too creamy. Twenty-four hours in the freezer and it is the perfect balance of cream & fabulous blueberry flavor!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovebob May 28, 2011

I wish I didn't like this so much! I am glad I only have an old fashioned ice cream maker or I'd be eating it every week! I made as directed, except I strained it and then decided I just couldn't throw out the blueberry remnants and I dumped them in the mix also, it was wonderful with a little blueberry "bite" to go with the smooth, creamy flavor. I love this ice cream!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CruellaDeVille July 09, 2010

This Ice Cream is the Bomb!! I have made this now 4 times and I usually serve it with crumbled up Waffle cone over the top to give it some crunch. Love it!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Wahoo May 28, 2010

This is delicious, I can't stop eating it! I used fresh-picked blueberries and the color and flavor are fantastic. I used the suggestions of cutting down the sugar to 1.5 cups and left the blueberry skins in (more fiber!). I also used 2% milk instead of the half-and-half, as that's all I had in the fridge. The ice cream is still creamy and has great texture.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolyn W August 16, 2008

It's very sweet, but very good. My family loved it. I added some cinnamon and vanilla and that really made a terrific flavor. I also blended it instead of straining it and that worked out wonderful. I will definitely be making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Smiley7 April 02, 2011

I wanted to make this quickly so I didn't cook it. I used my hand blender to mix the sugar in and then to blend the frozen blueberries into the mix. I also added a little vanilla. Since the berries were frozen it made the mixture super cool allowing it to freeze quickly in the ice cream maker. I put it in a shallow dish to ripen and only let it ripen for an hour. It set up very well and I served it with Homemade Magic Shell (Ice Cream topping). I too did not strain the mixture as I feel most of the goodness is in the seeds and skins. Thanks, I will try it with other fruit...canned peaches??

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doughy July 24, 2009
Blueberry Ice Cream