45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was the BEST ice cream to come from our little ice cream maker yet! It was so creamy and a regal shade of purple. I also left the berry bits in my batch, I also added a small splash of vanilla to the mix. My husband loved it, the whole batch was gone the first day.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackieliz July 29, 2010

It was wonderful! I used blueberries from frozen, and I don't think I'd add any water to the sugar and cream next time, with the frozen fruit there was plenty of moisture to dissolve the sugar in.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoName12345 October 04, 2009

First of all, assess the sweetness of your berries to determine the amount of sugar. I reduced the sugar to a cup and a half since many reviews said that 2 cups made the ice cream too sweet. I wish I hadn't. Our berries were not as ripe/sweet, so the ice cream tasted like sorbet or a fruit bar. It didn't hit that sweet spot that ice cream usually does. Besides that, the ice cream came out just right. We also made ours chunky with bits of berries. Half-and-half worked well for my conscience, but I would like to try it with heavy cream. Our family enjoyed this new novelty (our first time making homemade ice cream), and we are already thinking of making the recipe with another fruit.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bugsypugsly_12450285 July 17, 2011

We used fresh blueberries, we DID remove the skins & seeds - as we made the ice cream prior to reading all of the reviews - used heavy cream rather than half-n-half, and used the full amount of sugar. Ripening time was key! Direct from the ice cream maker it was too creamy. Twenty-four hours in the freezer and it is the perfect balance of cream & fabulous blueberry flavor!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovebob May 28, 2011

I wish I didn't like this so much! I am glad I only have an old fashioned ice cream maker or I'd be eating it every week! I made as directed, except I strained it and then decided I just couldn't throw out the blueberry remnants and I dumped them in the mix also, it was wonderful with a little blueberry "bite" to go with the smooth, creamy flavor. I love this ice cream!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CruellaDeVille July 09, 2010

This Ice Cream is the Bomb!! I have made this now 4 times and I usually serve it with crumbled up Waffle cone over the top to give it some crunch. Love it!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Wahoo May 28, 2010

This is delicious, I can't stop eating it! I used fresh-picked blueberries and the color and flavor are fantastic. I used the suggestions of cutting down the sugar to 1.5 cups and left the blueberry skins in (more fiber!). I also used 2% milk instead of the half-and-half, as that's all I had in the fridge. The ice cream is still creamy and has great texture.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolyn W August 16, 2008

It's very sweet, but very good. My family loved it. I added some cinnamon and vanilla and that really made a terrific flavor. I also blended it instead of straining it and that worked out wonderful. I will definitely be making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Smiley7 April 02, 2011

This was my first attempt at making ice cream. So after reading the reviews, I made this with 3 cups frozen wild blueberries (from Costco) ,1 tbs. water, 1 cup organic sugar, pinch of cinnamon, a bit of vanilla, 3 cups of heavy cream(no Bovine growth hormones or antibiotics) and left in the berries. Chilled for 6 hours. Really yummy, not too sweet and the perfect amount for the Kitchen Aid ice cream maker attachment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bellaluna5775 October 17, 2013

Used this as a base to make ice cream with blueberry balsamic vinegar that I had received as a gift. Added probably about three tablespoons of the vinegar (it was very sweet and syrupy) until it tasted right. This was the most fabulous ice cream I've ever made. It think it would have been even better with some kind of buttery crumble or like a cobbler type mix-in. Sort of like a blueberry pie. I will update my review or post a new recipe when I perfect it. But I need some more of that vinegar...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kadiprimo May 16, 2013
Blueberry Ice Cream