25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is absolutely the best gingerbread I've ever eaten...and, it's easy to make. It's very moist and has a wonderful flavor. No whipped cream is needed!!!!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy1166 July 08, 2002

Delicious gingerbread. I was hesitant about the blueberries at first, but I will make this again, for sure. I used a 9x13 pan, as that's what I had. Also, I used "sour milk" (1 Tb vinegar + milk to 1 cup), as I didn't have buttermilk on hand. It turned out great.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SerenaSnape October 13, 2002

Wonderful taste and on the lighter side. The bread was so moist yet did not stick to pan. Really delicate compared to my usual recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisy M July 30, 2003

Great! Great! Great! Have had wonderful comments. Will freeze and use for Christmas gifts! Many thanx! Jeneen

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ImASweetP October 25, 2003

VERY good!! Even my DD who is not a big blueberry fan loved this. And so easy and quick to make. A definate keeper to make again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elvishdreamer October 08, 2003

Good gingerbread, very moist and light. Instead of the sugar topping, I used a thin lemon glaze that I applied while the cake was warm. My only problem with it was that the blueberries tasted more like raisins to me (not a big raisin fan), but that could have possibly been due to the tanginess of the lemon glaze. I'll have to try this without the glaze and see. Everyone else who tried it really enjoyed it, though, so it's a good recipe overall.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess September 23, 2003

Awesome gingerbread! Everyone I shared with loved it and commented on how moist it was. I don't make gingerbread often, but this recipe makes me wonder if maybe I should. This is going into the keeper cookbook for sure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 August 25, 2003

Sooo delicious! I'd give it 5 stars just for the aroma alone -- my house smells wonderful. This gingerbread is so moist and delicious and the blueberries are a wonderful addition. This gingerbread won't last long at my house for sure. Made for the Sweet December tag, December, 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry December 10, 2013

Update 8/11/08: A friend asked me to make it for her -- a camping cook-out competition. It won first place! (out of 32 entries in dessert competition). She cut it up to look like a star and placed sliced strawberries around it. Received a very nice trophy too! Absolutely wonderful! Not overpowering gingerbread flavor -- the blueberries make the difference. I used a 11 x 8 baking dish. Served as is (no additional butter or whipped cream). I would suggest that you don't cover it tightly...the sugar tends to be absorbed and you lose the crunchy top created by the sugar. This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo in Arlington August 11, 2008

You really couldn't taste the blue berries, but i loved the gingerbread. i live in a family of four and it was gone in 2 days.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southwest Chef from Oklahoma December 30, 2007
Blueberry Gingerbread