19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this as directed and just like the other reviewers mentioned, the ratio of wet to dry ingredients isn't correct. I had made this once before with many subs and they turned out great then. I had used whole wheat pastry flour instead of regular flour, regular sugar in place of the Splenda, 1/2 cup blueberry yogurt and 1/2 cup mashed banana instead of the buttermilk (which is probably why they turned out great), and butter extract instead of the lemon extract.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaGun May 19, 2010

Great recipe! I did change a few things based on our tastes & what we had on hand. I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, oatmeal instead of oat bran, all sugar instead of using splenda, homemade yogurt instead of buttermilk and vanilla & cinnamon instead of the lemon. The kids love them & so do we!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BellaBooDaisy April 20, 2010

Loved them! We used butter and oil in place of the applesauce, and a tsp lemon juice for the lemon extract. They are fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO March 14, 2010

Thanks Paula, for my favorite flax seed muffin recipe! I used wheat bran and subbed cinnamon/vanilla for the lemon. I also used 2/3 cup white sugar. These rose nicely with a nice shape, and the flavor was so buttery! I will be making these regularly. Thanks for posting- Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado February 17, 2010

These are great muffins. My kids really enjoyed them and they are healthy! I baked the muffins at 350 degrees (instead of 400 ) for 25 minutes and they came out perfectly. I used 1 cup of plain goat yogurt instead of buttermilk because we have dairy allergies. Great option for a quick breakfast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mdmcdonald01 January 16, 2010

Loved these muffins. Made the following subs due to lack of ingredients. Used self-rising flour with half the salt, baking powder and soda called for. Used 6 oz nonfat vanilla yogurt and 2 oz 1% milk instead of buttermilk. Used toasted wheat germ instead of oat bran. Used frozen blueberries. Very light and moist!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
silkychef March 08, 2008

I made these and put about a third less buttermilk because of previous comments. It still came out perfectly, and they were wonderfully tasty. These aren't a horribly sweet muffin. That's what's nice about them. Every bite is sweet and tart all at once. Very interesting! I'm using these as a relatively low cal mid morning snack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juushinkan March 01, 2007

This is an excellent muffin, especially for being so healthy. The only problem, like others have stated, is that it needs less liquid or more flour. I had to add 1/2 C+ more flour, but I would halve the buttermilk when I make this again - and I might also add a bit more regular sugar, maybe 1/2 C. I topped these with 1 T white sugar mixed with 1/4 t ground nutmeg. And it made 15 or 16 muffins, instead of 12 (probably because of the added flour).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4Susan December 03, 2006

Finally got around to making these and they were excellent! I followed the ingredients and directions exactly but added cinnamon instead of lemon as I did not have the lemon extract. I didn't have any problems with the consistency. Thanks for posting Paula.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TXOLDHAM November 19, 2006
Blueberry Flax Muffins