Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blueberry Flax Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blueberry Flax Muffins

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2010

      I made this as directed and just like the other reviewers mentioned, the ratio of wet to dry ingredients isn't correct. I had made this once before with many subs and they turned out great then. I had used whole wheat pastry flour instead of regular flour, regular sugar in place of the Splenda, 1/2 cup blueberry yogurt and 1/2 cup mashed banana instead of the buttermilk (which is probably why they turned out great), and butter extract instead of the lemon extract.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Great recipe! I did change a few things based on our tastes & what we had on hand. I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, oatmeal instead of oat bran, all sugar instead of using splenda, homemade yogurt instead of buttermilk and vanilla & cinnamon instead of the lemon. The kids love them & so do we!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Loved them! We used butter and oil in place of the applesauce, and a tsp lemon juice for the lemon extract. They are fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Thanks Paula, for my favorite flax seed muffin recipe! I used wheat bran and subbed cinnamon/vanilla for the lemon. I also used 2/3 cup white sugar. These rose nicely with a nice shape, and the flavor was so buttery! I will be making these regularly. Thanks for posting- Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      These are great muffins. My kids really enjoyed them and they are healthy! I baked the muffins at 350 degrees (instead of 400 ) for 25 minutes and they came out perfectly. I used 1 cup of plain goat yogurt instead of buttermilk because we have dairy allergies. Great option for a quick breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

    • on March 08, 2008

      Loved these muffins. Made the following subs due to lack of ingredients. Used self-rising flour with half the salt, baking powder and soda called for. Used 6 oz nonfat vanilla yogurt and 2 oz 1% milk instead of buttermilk. Used toasted wheat germ instead of oat bran. Used frozen blueberries. Very light and moist!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      I made these and put about a third less buttermilk because of previous comments. It still came out perfectly, and they were wonderfully tasty. These aren't a horribly sweet muffin. That's what's nice about them. Every bite is sweet and tart all at once. Very interesting! I'm using these as a relatively low cal mid morning snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      This is an excellent muffin, especially for being so healthy. The only problem, like others have stated, is that it needs less liquid or more flour. I had to add 1/2 C+ more flour, but I would halve the buttermilk when I make this again - and I might also add a bit more regular sugar, maybe 1/2 C. I topped these with 1 T white sugar mixed with 1/4 t ground nutmeg. And it made 15 or 16 muffins, instead of 12 (probably because of the added flour).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      Finally got around to making these and they were excellent! I followed the ingredients and directions exactly but added cinnamon instead of lemon as I did not have the lemon extract. I didn't have any problems with the consistency. Thanks for posting Paula.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      For a very healthy muffin, this had a great taste and texture, something always to be desired, but not always achievable. Because we are at the cottage, with limited ingredients, I was forced to make the following substitutions, but the muffins were still excellent, which speaks well for how adaptable the recipe is. I used oatmeal flakes instead of oat bran, soft whole wheat flour, golden flax, ground, (which I think has a more mellow flavour than brown flax),Splenda and brown sugar, milk with vinegar instead of buttermilk, and a teaspoon of cinnamon instead of the lemon flavourings. Even with these changes, made by necessity, the recipe worked very well...a no guilt, delicious breakfast treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      Great muffins! We liked these alot. We will be making them again for us. The only thing I did not use was the lemon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2006

      I'm feeling like I missed something here. Should say that this was a wonderful muffin - moist and tender, not too dense and not to airy. The flavor for the most part came together rather nicely and each muffin had a generous amount of blueberries. On that, I would give it 5 stars. My biggest challenge was that I found the added flavor from the flax rather unpleasant. Good for you or not, it was rather bitter and gave the muffins a stange taste, which for me made these inedible. Friends who are regular flax eaters just raved about these and asked for the recipe. So I split the difference on the rating. That said, replacing the flax with additional oat bran, this just might become my go to muffin recipe as the rest of of was sooo good. Sorry Paula.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      Delicious, very moist and so healthy! I made these after searching for recipes using flax seed meal which I am keen to use in more recipes. I made these muffins with SR flour, brown sugar (I’m still too suspicious of sugar substitutes to use them) and some absolutely yummy organic blueberries. I forgot to buy apples to make some apple sauce so I improvised and subbed mashed bananas. I also used ¾ cup of yoghurt and ¼ cup milk instead of the buttermilk. I made them in silicon mini muffin pans, simply because they are new and I was keen to use them! The mixture was the exact quantity for two pans so the yield was 24 mini muffins. Minus one which we ate while removing the cool muffins from the pans! I’ll be making these again! Thanks for a wonderful recipe, Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      Healthy and yummy! Cool! Thanks PaulaG

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2005

      Paula, these mufins are delicious! The only change I made was to use sugar for splenda. Also used frozen wild and regular blueberries. Tender, moist with lots of blueberry flavor. The lemon compliments the blueberries quite nicely. With no fat added and ground flax seeds, these muffins are a wonderful healthy choice for breakfast or snack. I had no problems with the batter, it was exactly the consistency it should have been. The muffin cups did look full, but no problems with overflowing. We'll have these again and again! Thanks, Paula, for another super recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2005

      I've made this recipe several times now. I make them exactly as the recipe directed and they are wonderful! Even my husband loves them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2004

      After reading Roosie's review, I made these muffins today. Followed the recipe and I could tell the batter was to runny. Added aprox 3/4 cup more flour, stirred, added blueberries and baked. They turned out wonderful and have a great taste. Next time I make these muffins I will only use 1/2 cup of buttermilk. The only reason I gave this recipe 4 stars instead of 5 is because of error in ingredient amount. It is really a wonderful, healthful muffin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2004

      I had some troubles with these. Here's the email I sent Paula: "Hey Paula, I made your Blueberry Flax Muffins (#99333) last night, but came across some problems. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly- I did make a couple subs that I usually make (subbing whole wheat pastry flour for the white and sucanat for the sugar/Splenda). Everything looked okay... I poured the batter into cups and stuck them in the oven 400F, as directed. They puffed up and looked good... then, they deflated in the middles. Still gooey on the inside too. I cooked them for closer to half and hour and had to remove them in the end for fear of burning, but some of them still are a bit gooey in the center. We toasted them in the toaster oven to cook them through, and they taste GREAT, but I don't know what went wrong. I was looking at this recipe I have made, that is quite similar to yours (Blueberry Buttermilk Muffins #29383) and I was wondering if maybe the amount of applesauce is listed wrong in the recipe? It seems that too much liquid could cause the problems that I had, so I was thinking maybe you transcribed it wrong? Or do you think it was somehow an error on my part (I have been racking my brain, but I can't think of anything I did that would cause this.) I would love to figure out what the problem was, because they taste so yummy and they are so healthy. I would love for these to be the standard for blueberry muffins in my home, but I just wish I knew what went wrong!!" Paula said the thinks it could be the amount of buttermilk. I will perhaps experiment with these again soon, because the flavor is wonderful and they are healthy to boot! Thanks for the recipe, Paula. Hope I can figure out what went wrong... :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blueberry Flax Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (80 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 123.5
     
    Calories from Fat 27
    21%
    Total Fat 3.0 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 18.4 mg
    6%
    Sodium 261.4 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites