Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blueberry Filling for Pies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blueberry Filling for Pies

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2012

      Awesome, we love our pie oowey gooey, this was just like the inside of a table talk pie(the little individual pies). We loved it. I have to say I mixed the pie filling and made my pie right away, only let it slightly cool, we figured if the bottom crust was soggy so be it, we could not wait after the whole house smelled so good. The pie cooked up wonderfully. We will have this on hand in the freezer next week(going blueberry picking)Thanks for sharing...this is 5star!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2012

      I just made a double recipe, 4 cups at a time, for a huge (9.5" deep dish) pie. I microwaved the sugar, lemon juice, and blueberry mixture for 8 minutes, stirring after five minutes, added the cornstarch/water mixture at 8 minutes and microwaved for 5 more-came out perfectly! I added 1t. grated lemon zest, 1/2 t. cinnamon and 1/4 t. nutmeg to each 4 cup batch. The filling looks and tastes amazing! Best ever! The pie's in the oven-can't wait to eat it with my family as a 4th of July treat later. Thanks for the recipe and the microwave hints!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      wow this worked well I used 1/4 cup corn starch and 2/3 cup sugar...and guess what? 1 cup really super finely shredded zucchini it sounds crazy but it picks up the blueberry flavor and color...the kids will NEVER know...it stretches the recipe out a bit and uses up some of summers harvest highly recommended as is (and with the sneaky veggie option)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2014

      If I had realized how easy and tasty this was, I would have stopped buying canned pie filling years ago! Bravo for ease and yumminess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2013

      This was so easy and so good! Thank you for solving my blueberry pie dilema!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      Can't believe that I didn't review this last year. Loved this recipe. I put it into the freezer already in a pie crust (using a recipe I love), and topped with a crisp topping. Then this year I used it as Blueberry Crisp instead of pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      This is good blueberry pie filling. I made it to top a poundcake and would have preferrred it not to be quite as thick or tart. Will use less cornstarch mixture and lemon juice next time. Very easy and good flavor though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      I made a double recipe of this yesterday and made one DEEP dish blueberry pie! We have 20 pounds of wild blueberries to use up! The problem I've always had in the past with making berry pies is that they end up kind of runny. I didn't have that problem with this recipe...it turned out perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      Made this in the microwave as another reviewer suggested, then baked it in a toaster oven and it turned out great. No slaving over a hot stove in the middle of summer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2012

      This couldn't be easier or more satisfying. It's perfect every time!! I've tweaked it a bit using some lemon zest and fresh ground nutmeg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      I made this with home-picked blueberries and used it to top mini-cheesecakes, because I could NOT make myself pay $5 for a can of filling. This recipe is just wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      This was my first attempt at making home-made blueberry pie and I was concerned that it wouldn't set up enough to cut and serve....I shouldn't have worried! The filling was a beautiful color and consistency and served up perfectly! I used the full 1/3 cup cornstarch and I think the consisitency was just right. I also used the smaller amount of sugar (2/3 cup) as suggested because the blueberries were plump and sweet to begin with - I also added just a bit of nutmeg and cardamom. Thanks for the great recipe - I will be using this one often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      I've used this recipe a couple of times to make fillings for fried pies. Truly Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      Oh, excellent! My daughter's fiance said this was possibly the best fruit pie he's ever had. I LOVE getting comments like that! I used 2/3 cup of sugar, 1/4 cup of water & 1/4 cup cornstarch. It thickened up wonderfully. I used a single crust pastry and topped it with a crumb topping. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Very good and easy to make. I used half of the recommended amount of sugar--since ripe blueberries are sweet enough--and used about 1/8 cup of lemon juice. I used this filling for crepes. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Great! I did the lower end of the sugar and it was still a little sweet but good, and the higher end of the cornstarch for tart filling. I used half blueberries half strawberries. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Great! I scaled it in order to use 1.5 cups of blueberries that I had on hand for a crostata. It was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      I use to use the blueberry pie filling recipe on the tapioca box.. Sometimes it would turn out fine most times not..I dont have to worry now..This recipe is just fantastic..Always perfect...I use 2/3 cup sugar and 1/4 cup cornstarch..I made a pie today, wild blueberries...It takes so long to pick those little berries,but no time at all eatting this pie...Thank U for this great recipe..I will make blueberry pies more often now when in season....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      9/19/05Great recipe - easy to follow instructions. I added some freshly grated nutmeg and everyone raved. Thanks for sharing! 8/3/08 Updated Have made this several times now and cannot think of one thing to change. Have made with Splenda as well with great results. This is a NO FAIL filling for the best pie ever. Made with our family pie dough Dolly's Pie Crust. Awesome!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Very nice recipe. Used 1/2 cup sugar, was just perfect for us. I used it as a topping for cheesecake. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blueberry Filling for Pies

    Serving Size: 1 (146 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 164.8
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    91%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.0 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 32.2 g
    129%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites