20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A wonderful dessert that is easy to make and very tasty. I let the cookie dough set out until it was room temperature and easy to work with. After reading a few of the reviews I baked it in a 375 degree oven for about 30 minutes and it was perfect. Thinking about chocolate chip cookie dough and cherry pie filling to try next time. Thank you Kathy for posting! Made and reviewed for Kathy and Liza's Cookathon 2008 in the Photo Forum.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 October 28, 2008

Absolutely Delicious !!! My Husband and I loved this recipe. I used apple pie filling and omitted the sugar on top. I will be using this recipe for many years. Thank you !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry & Carl February 03, 2012

Yummy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karlaknighton January 16, 2011

We really liked this! One trick is to put a little less than the whole can of blueberry in the recipe - then it is not as goopy! Great taste and the kids loved helping make it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brokedownrage November 16, 2009

I was very excited about this dessert, and was hoping to win a dessert contest using it. Although I realize now I should have tested it beforehand at least once or twice, by the time I had them made it was too late and it was time to face the music. They came out terribly mushy and soggy. I baked them for longer and even increased the oven temperature some. They WERE simple to make, which I enjoyed, but the end result won nothing but a few offhanded comments to "make me feel better", haha. Thanks, but this recipes not for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheHappyChef September 29, 2009

These bars are super yummy! Photo was taken before I cut them into bars. My husband said he would have liked to try them while they were still warm with some vanilla ice cream. Unfortunately I didn't have any, but will make sure I do before I make these again. Made for the Elves Appreciation Cookathon in the Photo forum. Sorry I'm soooo late with this Kathy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess March 08, 2009

My mom and I made this last night and everyone loved it. My dad gave it two thumbs up as he went back for another bite. We'll definitely be making this again, though we want to try different pie fillings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chads Cook February 02, 2009

DH and I loved this recipe, I guess because we both love blueberries. I made this in appreciation for Kathy :) I baked mine for litle less than 30 minutes at 375. Who knew something so good be so simple. We did have one serving with ice cream on and one with whipped topping. Loved it ! Thanks Kathy (I apologize for being late with the review)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirl (J) 831 October 31, 2008

How easy is this! We all love blueberries and this is better than blueberry pie, love the sugar cookie base it was nice and moist. I used Best Darn Sugar Cookies Ever for the sugar cookie dough (put it in the fridge for 1 hour before using). I weighed 20 oz of dough for the bottom and 10 oz for the top. With some left over. Mine baked up in 17 minutes. This is easy enough to make anytime and fancy enough to serves guests. Next time for the top I would like to roll out the sugar cookie dough and make a crinkled lattice topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calee October 16, 2008

Not too impressed. There was no depth to the taste. Just super sweet. To me, it needed pecans, or a pinch of some spice. I did have to cook it a total of 19 minutes to get it to brown. And, by day 2 the cookie on top was gooey. It's an easy way to cure a sweet tooth, but other than that, I' wouldn't serve it to anyone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephie Biggs August 11, 2008
Blueberry Dessert Bars