Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blueberry Dessert Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blueberry Dessert Bars

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on October 28, 2008

      A wonderful dessert that is easy to make and very tasty. I let the cookie dough set out until it was room temperature and easy to work with. After reading a few of the reviews I baked it in a 375 degree oven for about 30 minutes and it was perfect. Thinking about chocolate chip cookie dough and cherry pie filling to try next time. Thank you Kathy for posting! Made and reviewed for Kathy and Liza's Cookathon 2008 in the Photo Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2012

      Absolutely Delicious !!! My Husband and I loved this recipe. I used apple pie filling and omitted the sugar on top. I will be using this recipe for many years. Thank you !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      Yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      We really liked this! One trick is to put a little less than the whole can of blueberry in the recipe - then it is not as goopy! Great taste and the kids loved helping make it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      I was very excited about this dessert, and was hoping to win a dessert contest using it. Although I realize now I should have tested it beforehand at least once or twice, by the time I had them made it was too late and it was time to face the music. They came out terribly mushy and soggy. I baked them for longer and even increased the oven temperature some. They WERE simple to make, which I enjoyed, but the end result won nothing but a few offhanded comments to "make me feel better", haha. Thanks, but this recipes not for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      These bars are super yummy! Photo was taken before I cut them into bars. My husband said he would have liked to try them while they were still warm with some vanilla ice cream. Unfortunately I didn't have any, but will make sure I do before I make these again. Made for the Elves Appreciation Cookathon in the Photo forum. Sorry I'm soooo late with this Kathy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      My mom and I made this last night and everyone loved it. My dad gave it two thumbs up as he went back for another bite. We'll definitely be making this again, though we want to try different pie fillings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      DH and I loved this recipe, I guess because we both love blueberries. I made this in appreciation for Kathy :) I baked mine for litle less than 30 minutes at 375. Who knew something so good be so simple. We did have one serving with ice cream on and one with whipped topping. Loved it ! Thanks Kathy (I apologize for being late with the review)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      How easy is this! We all love blueberries and this is better than blueberry pie, love the sugar cookie base it was nice and moist. I used Best Darn Sugar Cookies Ever for the sugar cookie dough (put it in the fridge for 1 hour before using). I weighed 20 oz of dough for the bottom and 10 oz for the top. With some left over. Mine baked up in 17 minutes. This is easy enough to make anytime and fancy enough to serves guests. Next time for the top I would like to roll out the sugar cookie dough and make a crinkled lattice topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      Not too impressed. There was no depth to the taste. Just super sweet. To me, it needed pecans, or a pinch of some spice. I did have to cook it a total of 19 minutes to get it to brown. And, by day 2 the cookie on top was gooey. It's an easy way to cure a sweet tooth, but other than that, I' wouldn't serve it to anyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      this recipe was wonderful, my family loved it. Around the holidays, they sell refrigerated sugar cookie dough pre-rolled. It cost a little more, but it saved so much time I would definately do it again. I used large sugar crystals to make it look pretty, and they were too crunchy, it took away from the softness of the rest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      This is truly outstanding; but I managed to goof it up. I didn't make my bottom crust thick enough (cut the recipe in half), so it was a delicious pudding. No photo because of my goof. Will make again with thicker crust!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      I intend to try this again and hopefully change my rating to something higher. I really want to love it! I had 2 problems. The first was that the sugar cookie dough was hard to work with. I think next time I'll actually try making the dough, like some of the others who rated this did. That takes away part of what is supposed to make this easy, but it was a huge pain getting the dough out of the tube and it was so soft and sticky. The dough made it take much longer than the 15 minutes of prep that it called for! The other problem I had was that the top never seemed to cook. I baked as directed, and the top was browning so I thought it was done. The bottom crust seemed cooked on the edges, but perhaps not all the way done in the middle. However, I could handle that. The bottom just seemed like a slightly underbaked cookie - which is how I prefer them. But the top crust was still wet. The dough was clearly still "jiggly" under the brown parts, so I put it back in for another 15 minutes. If that's how it's supposed to be, then someone please tell me and I'll call it good, but it didn't seem right. I ate the whole pan (still tasted good) but wouldn't let the rest of the family eat it for fear of making them sick from uncooked dough. I didn't get sick, however, so it may have been fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      This was AWESOME! I used the "best darn sugar cookie" recipe as well for the dough and it was SUCH a hit! And so easy at that! THANKS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      I made these bars yesterday with the blueberry. They came out real good. My DD said she would like some whipped cream on top but I didn't have any next time. I made #69736 Best Darn Sugar Cookies Ever for my dough. Save me from going to the store cause I had everything else. I think next time I want to try a different pie filling. Raspberry or Lemon. It was so easy to make I cooked it the 17 minutes. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      SO simple and so delicious! I used Granny's Sugar Cookies for the sugar cookie dough and coloured sugar crystals for decoration but I think I will stick to plain sugar next time as the colour seemed to run when the bars sat overnight. I'll be making these again! Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      Very easy to make, tastes wonderful. A keeper for sure. Found out that the dough now comes in 18 ounce rolls, which still provided enough dough for the pan. All the store had was the soft and chewy sugar cookie dough, and that proved to be a bit of a problem. It didn't bake through during the 17 minutes, so I ended up covering the pan with foil, lowering the temperature down to 350 degrees and placing the pan on the lowest rack in the oven and baked it for 18 - 20 minutes longer. The results were great! Goes well with a cold glass of milk. Thank you Kathy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      Delicious! This was so easy & so good. I served it with Cool Whip & everyone enjoyed it. I can't wait to try it with raspberry and other pie fillings!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      This is a great recipe! Had a can of blueberry pie filling and needed something quick and easy. This fit the bill. Served with a dollop of whipped cream. Delicious! Thanks, Kathy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2005

      Was planning to use sugar cookie dough, but must be the wrong time of year to find it, so used chocolate chip, glad I did-I'm not a sweet food eater, just make it for my Dh and DS's, but after they were raving over it I took a little bite and BOY was it good! Thanks Kathy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blueberry Dessert Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (124 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 505.2
     
    Calories from Fat 177
    35%
    Total Fat 19.7 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 27.4 mg
    9%
    Sodium 405.4 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.5 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 39.8 g
    159%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites