41 Reviews

This is a great recipe for that "special breakfast". I used frozen blueberries as fresh are not yet in season. Make sure you let it set (I would suggest 10-15 minutes) or it will not look pretty when you serve it. This is one french toast that doesn't need any of that bottled syrup.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie May 19, 2002

Thanks for the great recipe.Due to the ice storm I decided to try something new. This recipe is the ticket. I was not able to get out for fresh berries so I used Blueberry pie filling and omitted the sugars. Perfect for a cold morning. I did take more baking time. Next time I will take it out of the frig. and let sit at room temp. for awhile. Definetly a keeper!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna Walters February 18, 2003

Awesome recipe! The only changes I made were reducing the amount of Blueberries down to four cups & using Blueberry cream cheese which made more sense to me. It was so delicious & very filling. Doesn't take much to really fill you up. This is a restaurant quality dish. Powdered sugar topping isn't necessary. No syrup needed either. It's perfect as is. Best recipe in my arsenal. You must try this!!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abintl November 22, 2008

One of the best new recipes I've tried in a while. The only change I made was to only use 4 cups of blueberries. It was very easy to make, too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
asturgis July 08, 2009

I made this for Christmas breakfast this year and it was heavenly! I followed the recipe exactly except that I didn't have enough frozen blueberries, so I added frozen peaches to the mix.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evan's Mommy December 27, 2009

This recipe was fantastic! Thank you so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnotherSwedishChef August 20, 2009

I'm going against the majority here - - I did not like this dish. The cream cheese/sour cream/sugar mixture got overwhelmed somewhere and we really didn't taste that those were added. Also, after the first layer of bread, everything was mush - - I'd imagine like a bread pudding. The title "French Toast" is misleading. I expected some of the familiar tastes and textures from French Toast to be in this dish and they weren't. Overall, it just came off as pretty bland and mushy. I can't say I'd make it again or recommend it. But, clearly I'm the only one that thinks so so don't let my review stop you from trying this - - you may like it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Northern Cook February 10, 2008

I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out terribly. Gross flavor and aroma. Yuk. I wish I could give it zero stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kirk March 04, 2015

Oh my word roll me to the door! Did not use white bread, used wheat and didn't put french bread, I took 4 wheat and sliced for top and used pie filling blue berries , I rinsed them a little on man its a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingerbreadman1967 January 15, 2015

This recipe is delicious, and gets extra points for being very easy! I used reduced-fat cream cheese, light sour cream and skim milk and it was still decadent. Next time, I think I'll try a little lemon zest in the filling--think it might make it even better. Powdered sugar is a must, as is letting it cool off and sit for 15 minutes (as Indiana Debbie noted). It tastes better and is much easier to serve.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy at Food.com April 15, 2013
Blueberry Cream Cheese Stuffed Baked French Toast