Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blueberry Cream Cheese Stuffed Baked French Toast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blueberry Cream Cheese Stuffed Baked French Toast

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2002

      This is a great recipe for that "special breakfast". I used frozen blueberries as fresh are not yet in season. Make sure you let it set (I would suggest 10-15 minutes) or it will not look pretty when you serve it. This is one french toast that doesn't need any of that bottled syrup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2003

      Thanks for the great recipe.Due to the ice storm I decided to try something new. This recipe is the ticket. I was not able to get out for fresh berries so I used Blueberry pie filling and omitted the sugars. Perfect for a cold morning. I did take more baking time. Next time I will take it out of the frig. and let sit at room temp. for awhile. Definetly a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      Awesome recipe! The only changes I made were reducing the amount of Blueberries down to four cups & using Blueberry cream cheese which made more sense to me. It was so delicious & very filling. Doesn't take much to really fill you up. This is a restaurant quality dish. Powdered sugar topping isn't necessary. No syrup needed either. It's perfect as is. Best recipe in my arsenal. You must try this!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      One of the best new recipes I've tried in a while. The only change I made was to only use 4 cups of blueberries. It was very easy to make, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      I made this for Christmas breakfast this year and it was heavenly! I followed the recipe exactly except that I didn't have enough frozen blueberries, so I added frozen peaches to the mix.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      This recipe was fantastic! Thank you so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      I'm going against the majority here - - I did not like this dish. The cream cheese/sour cream/sugar mixture got overwhelmed somewhere and we really didn't taste that those were added. Also, after the first layer of bread, everything was mush - - I'd imagine like a bread pudding. The title "French Toast" is misleading. I expected some of the familiar tastes and textures from French Toast to be in this dish and they weren't. Overall, it just came off as pretty bland and mushy. I can't say I'd make it again or recommend it. But, clearly I'm the only one that thinks so so don't let my review stop you from trying this - - you may like it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2013

      This recipe is delicious, and gets extra points for being very easy! I used reduced-fat cream cheese, light sour cream and skim milk and it was still decadent. Next time, I think I'll try a little lemon zest in the filling--think it might make it even better. Powdered sugar is a must, as is letting it cool off and sit for 15 minutes (as Indiana Debbie noted). It tastes better and is much easier to serve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2012

      I made this twice this summer with fresh blueberries. It is SO GOOD! I did make a few changes to use what I had without a trip to the store. I left crusts on the bread and used a variety of partial loaves I had out, some raisen bread that was too dry to eat plain, some leftover sourdough and some regular sandwich bread. I had cream, no half and half, so used 1 cup cream and 2 cups milk. We used maple syrup instead of topping with powdered sugar. My kids loved this so much. Yesterday, I made it again using apples instead of blueberries. It too, was yummy. I used 6 cups of Granny Smith apples and sprinkled them with about 1/2 cup of sugar and 1 tsp of cinnamon. Next time I will use a softer apple as they held their texture too well and we would have liked it better a little less "crunchy". I'm also going to try it with apples and blueberries (to make my frozen winter stash of berries go farther) We'll be creating new versions of this wonderful breakfast for a very long time. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      This recipe was amazing! Made it exactly as the recipe states using frozen blueberries. I would definitely make this again!! Only thing I might try differently is to make a cream cheese drizzle to serve on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      I have made this recipe many times over and I just love it. I always cut the recipe in half and put in an 8 x 8 pan and use frozen blueberries. I tried it once with fresh blueberries and I just felt that the frozen kind held their shape better. I have yet to put powdered sugar on top as I can never remember and now my family requests it that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      This was delicious! I made it exactly as directed, except I used 6 cups of frozen raspberries instead of blueberries. This made it tarter, but was still sweet enough to not need to add dashes of maple syrup to the finished dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      This was great! I even baked it the morning I made it. I did not have any blueberries so I omitted them and only used white sandwich bread. I knew it might not turn out at all but took the risk. I am glad I did! I did add a little nutmeg since I didn't use the berries and left it covered the whole cooking time. I can't wait to make it as directed, it will be even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      Found last minute that I didn't have sufficient blueberries - and as it was Christmas Eve - could not run to the store. A quick substitution of a can of apple pie filling and extra cinnnamon in the cheese mixture produced a WINNING recipe and NEW family favorite. This was delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      Modified for lower cost/calories: Blueberries were too expensive right now so I made it with frozen strawberries instead (about $5), low fat half and half, light sour cream, and light white bread and it STILL came out amazing with probably half the calories. The pictures are pretty accurate. It's sweet, but is supposed to be. We ate it with sausage patties and honestly, next time I might just cook the sausage into crumbles and put it in the middle with the fruit. Sound crazy? It was awesome together so why not?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      I made this for a party I had in my home...nobody ate it and the left-overs got really soggy. It was rather expensive to make so I don't think I'll be making it again (not to mention, insanely bad for you!). Thanks for posting though, it's always fun to try a new recipe...I live in Wisconsin and am very familiar with Door County.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

    • on March 30, 2008

      DELICIOUS! However, next time I will probably use less bread because I ended up with such huge chunks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      Holy Moly! This was amazing. We had this for New Year's breakfast and it was wonderful. Nothing but raves all around. I followed the recipe to a tee and I wouldn't change a thing. I saw someone said it was too sweet and we didn't think so at all. And we don't like super sweet things....we thought it was perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      I made this (as written other than subbing mixed berries for the blueberries) as part of Christmas brunch. Despite being very pretty it was the last to go and some people commented that it was too sweet. I may make it again for a potluck or some such as it was so easy to put together

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blueberry Cream Cheese Stuffed Baked French Toast

    Serving Size: 1 (423 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 982.8
     
    Calories from Fat 322
    32%
    Total Fat 35.8 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 18.0 g
    90%
    Cholesterol 299.5 mg
    99%
    Sodium 1054.8 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 138.2 g
    46%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 48.5 g
    194%
    Protein 30.0 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites