15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I added about a teaspoon of fresh grated lemon zest, and it really brightened the blueberry flavor of this cake, without turning it lemony. That one little tweak makes an amazing difference.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyM63 June 17, 2011

This is delicious. The cake itself is so moist with a great understated sweetness. Without the glaze, it tastes more like a bread. The glaze pushes it over into a sweet cake land. Yummy. i did use soy milk and frozen blueberries. i'm definitely making this again!! Thanks for the recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pink Kitchenaid Lover January 14, 2010

Very easy recipe, I used fresh blueberries and added lemon zest, I also used 1% milk to cut down on the fat. I found it tastey

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bikorock June 28, 2014

Add the finely-grated zest of one lemon to brighten up the flavor, and this cake is perfection!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacym_63_11204229 May 06, 2013

Delicious, moist cake that is quick to put together. Thanks for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vosmom2 January 30, 2013

The cake was good, but I made it with fresh blueberries, and maybe it was the blueberries but it tasted rather bland. Next time I will use frozen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sch30 September 12, 2010

Have made this cake 4 times now that blueberry season is here - twice as gifts. I felt it made too much glaze, so I have reduced powdered sugar to about 1/2-3/4 cup and added a 1 T milk with 1/2 tsp vanilla. Delicious! It has earned rave reviews from everyone who has tasted!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maureen in MA July 12, 2009

didn't even do the glaze and it was tremendous! i'm making it again this friday for a playgroup. but i'll try hemp milk instead of regular because i have to keep it dairy-free.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamainurbana April 23, 2009

I made this cake for a brunch baby shower I gave for a friend. It was delicious and pretty easy to make. Everyone loved it. It was a small shower and a lot was left so I sent a piece home with each person! They were so excited. I made it exactly as the recipe says except I used frozen blueberries that I had thawed out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarahwayne February 12, 2009

This was the best Cake. I posted a review earlier.I forgot to mention the glaze.The Vanilla glaze came out really well.I have only one thing to say about the glaze.Dont let in set too long before pouring it on the cake,the glaze will start to get hard.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tn19772003 January 04, 2009
Blueberry Coffee Cake With Vanilla Glaze