Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blueberry Buttermilk Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blueberry Buttermilk Muffins

    Average Rating:

    113 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 113

    Sort by:

    • on August 23, 2001

      I made these Blueberry Buttermilk Muffins for my boyfriend and his family. They loved them. It was so easy to make, and a big hit. My boyfriend''s Dad said that they tasted just like how his mom had made them when he was a boy. And now he is asking my boyfriend to ask me to make him other things. It is really great that something so easy made them so happy! But when 2 big guys are around I would say double the recipe if you want any to yourself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      A very good, no problems muffin recipe. I have to confess though, I didn't have any blueberries. I added chocolate chips and chopped banana to the batter mix. Came out fine and I think this is a good versatile recipe. Made 12 big muffins and only 20 minutes to bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2002

      I made these for 'zaars muffin day. Great tasting muffin, although I only got 10 big muffins and not the 24 as stated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      I was planning on posting this recipe but followed Zaar's rules and checked to see if it was already published...and it is! Mine varies ever so slightly: it came from a pamphlet provided by the Michigan Blueberry Growers Association. In their recipe, you slightly brown the butter and allow it to cool. Also, they call for 2.5 teaspoons of baking powder along with the baking soda, which gives a lovely high dome. This is the ONLY recipe that I've used for the past 20 years; my paper recipe is so old it's curled around the edges. I always use 2 cups of frozen blueberries and top it off with a cinnamon-sugar sprinkle. It's also a great recipe to use as a base for other muffins: raspberry, cranberry and strawberry muffins all work with this basic recipe. So glad that this is listed in case my pamphlet disappears! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      These were very yummy, dense, moist blueberry muffins. I increased the sugar to 1 cup, added lemon zest and juice and sprinkled with sugar on top before baking. Made about 16 medium sized muffins. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      I didn't have enough butter, so I used the canola oil instead. I barely had a full cup of buttermilk, so I added a bit of regular whole milk to make a cup, and finally I only had a cup of frozen blueberries, And if nothing else could possibly go wrong, I mistakenly set the oven to 350...despite all that, these blueberry muffins turned out to be the best! They disappeared before I could figure out what I did right! Thanks for posting! I'm sure to bake them again under better circumstances.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Did some changes but the results were good. Used 1 1/2 cups flour and 1 cup quick cooking rolled oats {oatmeal}, plus did not have blueberries on hand so I used Saskatoon berries - being from Saskatchewan - Added vanilla. I believe that a recipe is always just the basis for your own imagination and this was a good base. THANX

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Good recipe. I used 2 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and the oil option, the taste was still excellent. Topped it a sprinkle of turbinado sugar for the extra sparkle. I filled 12 regular muffin cups to the top and it made nice muffin tops. The perfect amount of batter for 12 regular muffins. Love the amount of blueberries too, just right. Thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      These were wonderful. I made just a few adjustments. First, I used 1/4 cup (1 stick) margarine, melted instead of the butter/oil. I did add .5 tsp vanilla and about 1t of lemon zest and 2t fresh lemon juice. Next time I will add even more lemon juice. I also increased the sugar to 1c. I had to cook the for 35 minutes in a 375 degree oven. Oh - and I sprinkled cinnamon-sugar on top before baking. Used frozen blueberries and they did not sink! Will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      Beautiful big fluffy muffins. Almost perfect! I agree these need a bit more sugar then called for. I'd definately bump up to a full cup. I liked the vanilla and used the butter. But they're a tiny bit bland to me. Next time I'll sprinkle the tops with sugar before baking. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      I just made a batch of these muffins and they came out wonderful! I used 1 stick melted butter, vanilla extract, and a little lemon juice/zest to the wet ingredients. Then I added a little ground cinnamon to the dry ingredients. I sprinkled a little sugar on top of each muffin before I baked them. I was able to make 18 regular size muffins (20 minutes at 400 degrees). Thank you for sharing a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2014

      These are very good! I did add a tsp of cinnamon, some vanilla, and sprinkled the top with sugar crystals. Curious though why the directions say 4oz. Of butter instead of just staying 1/2 cup--- I was confused trying to make these early in the a.m.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2014

      These were really good, i used fresh blueberries and used 2 cups, i also added lemon zest of one lemon to add pop and a bit more freshness and did add the optional vanilla. I also sifted the dry prior to add the wet. It came out really good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2014

      I had buttermilk to use and decided to make two batches of these muffins. One was with blueberries and the other one I added two ripe bananas and a few chocolate chips. These muffins were super moist and delicious. I would definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2014

      Wow, very impressed! Was disappointed with the sour cream blueberry muffins I tried from Cook's Illustrated and so glad I found these. <br/>I found the batter too dry so I added another 1/3 c buttermilk and that did the trick. Used butter, vanilla, a sprinkling of sugar on the top, a little extra salt, almost a full cup of sugar, and frozen blueberries which I kept frozen until I added them to keep them from turning the batter blue. These are perfect and so simple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2013

      these were so easy, and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      Pretty good. I subbed applesauce for the fat and these muffins were nice and moist. We did feel they were missing something, some cinnamon or lemon zest maybe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      We used self-rising flour which has flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder already. Next time I'd add a bit more sugar, but this time we added a little bit of melted cream cheese frosting on the top. Simple and yummy, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      Wow, these are so good. They are so flavorful, not too overly sweet and perfect. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      I made these last night and they were some of the best blueberry muffins ever. I made them as written with canola oil instead of butter and did include the vanilla. The only extra I added was a little sprinle of cinnamon sugar on top. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blueberry Buttermilk Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (96 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 483.7
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    33%
    Total Fat 17.9 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 104.2 mg
    34%
    Sodium 495.7 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.4 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 30.8 g
    123%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes