10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was so excited to find this recipe on here...my Mom used to make this when I was little. It smelled so wonderful while it was baking, great memories! DJB, you didn't mention what size pan, but I remember my Mom making it in an 8" x 8" glass baking dish, so that's what I used and it turned out perfect. Thank you DJB for a trip back in time for me!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude March 29, 2003

Super easy and VERY good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peg Roberts June 20, 2013

This is wonderful. The instructions are kind of sketchy but from reading the reviews I decided to use an 8" springform pan to bake it in. Combine shortening and sugar, add the egg and mix well. Then add dry ingredients and milk. Spread into prepared pan. Top with topping and bake. The topping comes out crunchy and delicious. So, so, good and worthy of a bakery product!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandma Deb July 29, 2012

This was GOOD! I used Fresh Blueberries and I doubled it! Will make again. We served it with a dollop of cool whip. mmmmm! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy ny October 01, 2011

My oh my...this is one great blueberry cake! I made this today for our friends and gave them the whole cake. I didn't want to do that....lol So I will be making one for us tomorrow. The cake came together easily and results are awesome. Thanks for posting this keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvcook'n February 20, 2008

Extremely straight forward recipe with outstanding results. If I had a bakery, this would be a daily item using this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Azurebuck November 30, 2007

My 13yr old daughter made this today. This was the most advanced recipe she has tried but it turned out great. The cake was moist, the topping a nice texture and her blueberries all sort of sunk to the bottom which made a very pretty layering effect. I would like to mention that the directions are a little vague for beginner cooks...no instructions on how to prepare topping or glaze, and nothing to instuct on how to prepare baking dish. Easy enough to figure out, but I know she hated having to ask me when it was "her" recipe. She was quite proud of the end result and can't wait to show it off to the rest of the family. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_wing March 16, 2007

This recipe is wonderful. I picked blueberries this weekend and made a double batch of this last night. I brought one pan to work (I used 8x8 glass pans) and I'm not getting any work done, because everyone keeps coming into my office and commenting on how great it is!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellasmom July 24, 2006

Hooray! It's blueberry time again. I bought a 44 oz. package of blueberries at Walmart. I'd intended to make muffins and several other items with them, but after making your recipe, I doubt I'll put them in anything else. I doubled your recipe, but it still left me with a surplus of blueberries. Enought left to do this again--at least two more times to share with neighbors. This definitely is a recipe that brings out the best in them. Thanks, DJB, for giving us your luscious recipe. "Joje"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joje in Oklahoma City, OK, United States June 26, 2005

this is excellent. i can't believe how easy it is to make, you just throw it all together and and comes out perfect! i am glad that Hey Jude posted her review as i followed her lead and used and 8x8 baking dish. grest recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeahG July 26, 2004
Blueberry Buckle