18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was fabulous- we enjoyed this the day before Christmas. I didn't do the caramel sauce, since I served if for breakfast and wanted to watch my calories. I love to make this the night before and pop it in the oven for breakfast. Very filling and addictive.<br/><br/>Update- we make this at least 2 times a month for breakfast. It is so good with powdered sugar on top and/or maple syrup. My hubby and kids just love this breakfast. I like to use whole wheat French bread to make it even more filling. So great you make it the night before. What a fabulous great dish!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TeacherLaLa April 26, 2013

This was good but not as custardy as I would have liked. Also, I thought the lemon zest was a bit much. Next time I won't use any zest and I might make a little extra custard.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Olive81 May 22, 2009

Made this for brunch last Sunday and was a huge hit. From the relatives with simpler tastes (the meat and potatoes crowd) to more complex (the foodies) - everyone agreed that they loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pappyspal April 03, 2007

Great for breakfast or dessert and very easy to make. Didn't use the caramel sauce only brown sugar and it tasted wonderful. I really like bread puddings as a way to use up stale bread and this one is a winner. Thank you for posting Rita.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie in Indy November 15, 2005

I made half the recipe...it worked out very well!! DH is a blueberry fanatic...he loved this! We skipped the caramel sauce we thought the brown sugar topping was perfect!! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP September 24, 2005

So delicious! I've made this twice now, once for family in the summer and once for co-workers and it was a big hit with everyone! Followed the recipe exactly except left out the caramel sauce both times. Very sweet but not over the top. Amazing!! Can't wait to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misty113 January 26, 2013

I just made this tonight! It was so good. I served it with some vanilla ice cream. I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for the wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jencathen October 23, 2009

Very yummy. I used 4 slices of blueberry crumble bread, and 4 slices of cinnamon bread. I also used all cream instead of 1/2 milk (had cream I had to use up) and orange zest for the lemon, double the vanilla, and just mixed everything together instead of layering it. I only baked for about 38 minutes and it came out perfect! Will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tornado Ali July 04, 2008

We loved this bread pudding, and I don't like bread pudding!! I used the bread Honey Wheat Oatmeal Bread - All Whole Grain Version that was getting old. I also used fat-free evaporated milk for the cream and milk. Topped it with vanilla ice cream and it was delicious. Like other reviewers we liked the crusty top. This is a "doer again" Thanks, Carole in Orlando

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando February 02, 2008

I skipped the butter and sugar topping, used EggBeaters, fat free evaporated and skim milks and Splenda. I still got an excellent bread pudding which is a satisfying and delicious dessert. It's moist and the cinnamon taste is rich. I have made bread pudding with apple or peach before and now I love it with blueberries. 5 total yumm's from me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia June 09, 2007
Blueberry, Bread Pudding