31 Reviews

I didn't know what to expect from this. It was much better than I thought it would be. I cut it into 9 and ate one piece hot out of the oven with a tiny bit of maple syrup--super good. This will be very convenient for breakfast with a piece of fruit or a glass of milk. I'm glad to hear it can be frozen too. I really didn't think it would be as good as it is--anyone would like this. I used one whole egg plus one egg white to get the half cup--no egg sub here.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha February 24, 2006

Another great recipe! Hubby loves it. I mix all the ingredients the night before and bake it in the morning as I get ready for work. I must have made this atleast 5 times so far. This past time I did not have any lemon zist, so I just put a few drops of lemon juice. It was still wonderful! Also, I did not have egg substitute, so I used two eggs. All worked well and delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyMonteiro April 02, 2008

I used the optional vanilla extract and used one egg instead of the egg substitute, but it was delicious. I still have a few in my freezer I'm saving. This was my first time trying baked oatmeal and once I got past the unfamiliar texture, I loved it :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Tiny Chef February 15, 2008

This recipe is fabulous! Healthy, delicious, and easier to take to work than a bowl if oatmeal. And the recipe itself is very easy. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chocolover September 11, 2013

My husband is off flour, and totally enjoyed this as a snack cake. I added 1/2 cup of corn flour and use whole eggs and br. sugar. Thank you for a lovely new fav. Making it today with apple, raisin, walnut and cinnamon. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathleen L. February 22, 2013

This really is great. After reading the reviews, I felt really comfortable that you couldn't really mess this one up regardless of the minor tweaks you might want to make. I followed the recipe pretty closely, used about a 1/2 cup of Equal, 1 tsp of minced (dry) lemon peel, t tsp cinnamon, 1 cup frozen blueberries and 2 eggs. I also added about a 1/2 cup of powdered milk for extra calcium and about 2 tbsp of flax seeds. Oh, and I added a little over 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. I love the texture and the taste warm out of the oven for dessert. I'll heat the rest micorwaved with a little warmed up milk instead of cereal for breakfast. I'll be making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen67 June 18, 2012

Fantastic! I made this for our Christmas breakfast and it was delicious! My kids even ate it without too much complaint (they complain about most things). I served it with Sheila's Swedish Creme Sheila's Swedish Creme, but used 1 1/2 tsp cornstarch instead of gelatine in that recipe to make it more of a sauce consistency. We tried the baked oatmeal with both maple syrup and the cream. The cream definitely won out. Doesn't make the dish very low fat any more, but once year won't hurt anything! I will be making this baked oatmeal again! So very good!

UPDATE: I've been making this nearly every week since my last post. I cut it into portions and keep in my fridge for a quick take-to-work breakfast. Instead of eating it with the Swedish Creme, I now eat it with Dannon's Honey Greek Yogurt. I've also used combinations of frozen berries with great success.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MonsterMaha February 15, 2012

Wonderful! This set up like a dense cake and will be a perfect breakfast on the go treat. I made as directed except doubled the blueberries and sprinkled some cinnamon on top. I also added a small amount of sugar-free maple syrup on top when I ate it and it was delicious. I will definitely make this again and again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas September 28, 2011

New favorite breakfast here. Easy to make, very tasty and more subtantial than boiled oatmeal. Since there are only two of us, this recipe will last for several days in the frig. Next time, I will add chopped pecans to the mix. I admit I've actually never heard of baked oatmeal before (except in cookies) but I'm a convert now and so is my husband. Thanks so much Lynne for a delicious new addition to our breakfast repertior. PS We are both diabetic and this is a great diabetic recipe, only about 30g carb per serving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrammaMikki June 04, 2011

I thought that this was really good. I will be making it again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karlaknighton January 16, 2011
Blueberry Baked Oatmeal