167 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

All in all, an excellent cookie. I expect that individuals will tweak the recipe to their taste. I myself would use just a little less sugar. Instead of shortening, I used canola oil as a healthier ( i think) alternative. Maybe some people won't need so many chocolate chips in their cookies. I like chocolate chips, so I just dumped'em in. Yeah -- no complaints. 5 stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~~lala~lemon~!~~ ^_^ April 08, 2008

These were good, but I didn't think they were really anything special. They baked up pretty flat and even when they weren't done yet in the center the edges were brown. So I either had to take them out still too soft in the center (and I usually do take my cookies out a bit early so they don't brown or get crisp at all) or let them bake through and be crispy. Dough tasted very good! The baked results just weren't my "type" of cookie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers April 01, 2008

Absolutely the best Chocolate chip cookie ever! Made these for a Super Bowl party, and they were the biggest hit! I will make these all the time! Made them exactly as suggested. YUM!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anne.graves March 27, 2008

This is a really good cookie! I made a couple of changes to the recipe out of necessity... I was out of flavorings so I used 1.5 t of Cognac, and I had 1 cup disposable containers of brown sugar so I used 1 c of brown sugar and only 1/2 cup white sugar. I used Sunspire semi-sweet organic chocolate chips in my ongoing effort to avoid products harvested by slave labor. This is the most successful batch of chocolate chip cookies I have ever made! I'll definitely use it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PeacemongerNC March 02, 2008

WOW! Chocolate chip cookies have been one of my foavorites for years, but this recipe has raised the bar. The almond extract compliments the chocolate morsels wonderfully. Thank you for such a delicious recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Raasch February 29, 2008

a delicious buttery cookie - but I really couldn't taste the almond - might use more next time - they were gone in a flash!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakerNurse February 27, 2008

I made many types of cookies for Christmas. These were the very first to go. They are filled with goodness and just delicious! I used the Ghirardelli chips but butter in place of shortening.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joym624 February 16, 2008

This is the best chocolate chip cookie I have ever made. I did cut the almond flavoring in half (our family is not a big fan) and made up the difference with vanilla. Otherwise, I stuck to the recipe and will no longer need to search for the perfect chocolate chip recipe. FOUND IT!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dallimomma February 15, 2008

These are really yummy! I made them twice, once with the original recipe, and once with the extra flour. ORIGINAL RECIPE: These didn't 'spread out' as much as I'd hoped... but they were really good. The dough was smelling very almond extract-y, but once the cookies were baked I could tell I would have missed the almond if it wasn't there. EXTRA FLOUR: Wasn't much different from the original... didn't spread out any more/less... and tasted the same. I completely forgot I had no brown sugar left... so I used all white sugar with a tsp molasses. I only used 1 cup CC just to cut down on the sugar, and because I made smaller cookies anyways it was fine (2 tsp icecream scoop, baked 8-9 minutes). My opinion is just to use the regular recipe because there wasn't an overall noticeable difference to use your flour for. I also only used margerine because I had no butter at the time, and never use shortening. Sorry if you feel this would have affected the cookies... but I rated 5 stars so it shouldn't be a problem? :) Thanks for the great recipe, will be using again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelsey* February 13, 2008

For a long time now I have looked for a great CC Chip Cookie recipe that doesnt flatten out. I like a big, thick, tasty cookie. This is that recipe and will be my staple CC Chip Cookie recipe from now on. Everyone loved it and wanted more! Thanks Roxygirl!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EinyOpi February 12, 2008
Blue Ridge Mountains Chocolate Chip Cookies