167 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The almond extract adds a slightly different taste than my normal Tollhouse recipe, and the cookies turn out cakey and delicious. They are more "solid" than Tollhouse and would probably travel better without crumbling - but they are still soft and good! It isn't replacing my other recipes, but it's good and worth making again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Besu December 17, 2008

I just LOVE the texture of these cookies! I did alter it a little as I was trying to get a little more nutrition into them for a little boy who refuses to eat ANY fruits or veggies! So I snuck in a mashed banana in place of the egg, threw in some quick-cook oats and substituted whole wheat flour for 1/3 of the total flour content. Even with all of those changes this was FABULOUS and I can't wait to try it the "normal" way for the rest of us!! oh, and during the last couple minutes of baking I did flatten these with a spatula, as they don't spread out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roweena December 11, 2008

Not any better than Nestle.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Agoedie December 10, 2008

This is a great recipe-- I added a little flour because I'm cooking at high altitude, and I used 3/4 butter, 1/4 shortening for flavor, as well as 1 c. brown sugar to 1/2 c. white. I didn't have any almond extract, but I'll try that next time. I made it for two different groups of friends and got rave reviews both times! They were gone in a flash!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
uberivy December 09, 2008

I loved the thickness of this cookie. They were soft and chewy. I thought that they were better the second day we ate them. when they were right out of the oven I thought that the almond extract was a little overpowering and a little too strong, but the second day they were great and were gone really quickly. I will probably make these again. Thanks for a good recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tricia December 08, 2008

I'd made these about a week ago and I almost forgot to rate it! These are wonderful cookies. The only changes I made were: I added in 1 cup of chopped almonds and 1 cup of chocolate chips instead of 2. Thank you Roxygirl.... for sharing another one of your wonderful recipes, this one is also a keeper! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aaliyah's&Aaron'sMum December 08, 2008

Crunch on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside, with a subtle hint of almond. I don't buy shortening or bleached flour so I just doubled the butter and used unbleached flour, and they turned out fine. While these weren't over the top outstanding, they are excellent and tasty nontheless--a fairly basic chocolate chip cookie recipe. Worth making again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rmf917 December 06, 2008

I may have finally found the perfect chocolate chip cookie! I'm throwing out my old one and using this one from now on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriLee in TX December 04, 2008

LOVE these! They are so yummy, made these to take on a road trip to Nana's house, don't know if there will be any left by the time we get there! I've never made choc chip cookies with almond extract, the flavor is great, don't skip it. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelNTex November 25, 2008

Just finished baking them! Excellent~I couldn't keep all the little kid fingers off of them! Trading my old recipe for this new one, especially for my holiday baking! Thanks for posting! I thought the texture was just right...crunchy edges/bottom with a nice soft center! YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaDBcooksforfive November 22, 2008
Blue Ridge Mountains Chocolate Chip Cookies