13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was looking to bake something today and this recipe was in my must try. I made the mistake of putting it in 1larger loaf pan and had to let it bake a bit longer. I sprinkled the crumbs of my walnuts across the top and it gave a beautiful topping. I used 1 zucchini and 1 carrot . Excellent cake and with a serving of veggies PS I wont tell them

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigbadbrenda February 02, 2010

I am SO glad to have found this recipe. I love RecipeZaar! I am trying to not waste ANY food and had some zucchini to use up. Instead of 2 loaf pans, I greased up a large angel food cake pan. It works great! I put the whole recipe in the pan. I did the same for Banana Banana Bread Banana Banana Bread last weekend. Yum! Thanks for this!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
healthcoachruth October 04, 2009

I just made a double batch of this with zucchini from the freezer. Great recipe...very moist. Someone suggested adding a can of crushed pineapple. I think I will try that next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irish350 January 06, 2011

I totally agree that this recipe is wonderful! It is very similar to one I make except I add a can of crushed pineapple! Now, for those of you who don't really like pineapple...I'd like to ask you to just try it first! I have made this recipe many times for several different occasions and it always is gone before other recipes. I get compliments and request for the recipe and when I tell them what's in it, most are shocked because they don't usually care for pineapple (sometimes even zucchini). In fact, I am not able to freeze and save any. It never lasts that long. Good part is, it gives me an excuse to make more! Enjoy :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1018126 August 26, 2009

I havent made zucchini bread in years and have no idea where my recipe is so I am very happy I came across this one! Wonderful zucchini bread that I baked in a cake pan because I couldnt find my other loaf pan. Used pecans because that is what I had on hand and I enjoyed the milder flavor. Perfect amount of cinnamon and I used 2 medium zucchini that I grated in the food processor. Thank you mariahswind for posting this recipe! Made and reviewed for the Australia/New Zealand Recipe Swap #24.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 January 10, 2009

Oh my, not a 5 star a GOLD star. I've never made (or had this) before. But a neighbor gave me some Zucchini and looking for a way to use it I decided to try this and so glad I did. I did Use Baking Splenda instead of the sugar in an attempt to cut back a little on the calories - but everything else was exactly as directed. It was wonderful, moist and a nice blend of flavors. You'd never know it was a veggie in it so a good way to get extra veggies into those picky DGSs of mine. Directions were clear and easy to follow. I did follow another reviewers idea and added a glaze to the top and it was the perfect ending. I made mine in those mini tins so was able to give some to the friends that gave us the zucchini and froze two for later. Thanks Mariahswind for posting a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 September 10, 2008

Made up two loaves over the weekend to use up some very large zucchini. Wow, was I surprised, very moist, very flavorful, the best way to use up zucchini. Next time, I am going to add some candied cherries for a little sweetness. Can't wait. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sodak1951 August 19, 2008

This was yet aNOTHER phenominal recipe that I have gotten off the zaar!!!! This was fabulous! I added a touch of almond extract and nutmeg, glazed the top and topped with large sugar granules ("raw" sugar). Thank you SO much for sharing! A keeper for sure! LA :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L.A. Stewart - way upstate N.Y. August 05, 2008

A wonderful bread. I did add a simple sugar glaze after baking and switched walnuts for pecans ( I like pecans better ). Great little bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kupinskis July 28, 2008

Excellent. I only added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. each of nutmeg and ground cloves. I forgot to add the oil till after I mixed the wet and dry ingredients, but that didn't ruin it a bit..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristen Porter July 26, 2008
Blue Ribbon Zucchini Nut Bread