29 Reviews

Is a blue ribbon recipe. Will use as my only tuna caserole recipe from now on. Only things different, I used half mayo half sour cream and a cheese blend.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riverboywa June 12, 2010

I can't believe how something so simple can be so delicious. :) I made this a few weeks ago, and my husband and I loved it. I did make a few changes, due to what I had on hand: I used a package of onion soup mix in place of the onion, and omitted the celery (and the butter to saute it in). Such a change from the bland stuff I was raised on!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrebleClef April 24, 2010

My boyfriend makes this for us and company all the time and it is always hit (we never have leftovers) He doesn't use the full 2 1/2 cups of cheese and he found that the potato chips add a little crunch but the dish is just as good when he leaves them out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisalouk01 May 16, 2010

This was the best homemade tuna casserole I have ever eaten. I can understand why your Mom got a blue ribbon. I made it with whole wheat noodles, other than that, stuck to the recipe. Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thepeppermintpatties April 22, 2010

Used mushroom instead of celery as most of the time that is on hand. Replaced mayo with lowfat yogurt. Yummy and delicious!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Ellen #3 April 09, 2010

All five of my kids gobbled this up, even the picky one who was all prepared to hate it loved it! I didn't have the carrots & peas on hand, so I skipped them, I added an extra can of tuna and used penne pasta since that's what I had. I used to think my grandma's was really good, but I have to say, this was awesome!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twin_momx2 January 23, 2010

Another Blue Ribbon for Mama! This really is just too good for words. I didn't want to just make the usual tuna casserole, so after reviewing several choices, I decided on this one. WOW! Who knew tuna casserole could be so soul-satisfyingly delicious? I followed the recipe exactly, except since tuna annoyingly comes in 5 oz. cans now, I just used two of those. I added a little fresh lemon juice to add a fresh spark and a few tablespoons of sour cream and a little more evaporated milk when mixing because it seemed a little onh the dry side. I also did not add all the black pepper because I know from experience that I don't like it too peppery. I used wide egg noodles and after giving it a little taste test when it came out of the oven, I can't stop eating it. Next time, if I wanted to gild the lily (which it really doesn't need), I might add a small can of drained mushrooms and sprinkle some sliced almonds on top along with the chips and cheese. Thank you, BK -- I will never bother with another tuna casserole recipe other than this one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msjenjenp December 27, 2009

Made with the following changes: subbed fusili for the egg noodles omitted the celery (had none) Miracle Whip for the mayo frozen mixed veggies for the peas/carrots & added a splash of lemon juice. The whole family loved it - probably the tastiest tuna casserole I've ever made. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Book Worm October 26, 2009

Hello new favourite way to enjoy potato chips!! This was wonderful! So creamy and full of flavour! This is being added to our dinner rotation!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog June 01, 2016

I would have given this 5 stars except for the fact that in my mind it really needed some serious adjustments to make it more balanced in terms of fats/carbs/proteins. I made the following modifications: 1/4 C mayo and 1/4 C 2% greek yogurt (instead of 1/2 cup mayo); only 1.5 cups of cheese instead of 2.5 (1 cup in the casserole and .5 on top);4 cups of egg noodles instead of 3; 16 ounces tuna (4 5oz cans which yield 4 oz each of tuna); 7 oz of evaporated milk instead of 5 (I felt I needed a bit more liquid because of the additional egg noodles and tuna). Other than that I followed the recipe and ended up with a recipe that was very tasty and makes 8 servings each with 18 grams of fat/27 grams of carbs/ 28 grams of protein. This adjusted recipe will be a regular in our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marthas19 June 07, 2015
Blue Ribbon Tuna Casserole