27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Is a blue ribbon recipe. Will use as my only tuna caserole recipe from now on. Only things different, I used half mayo half sour cream and a cheese blend.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riverboywa June 12, 2010

I can't believe how something so simple can be so delicious. :) I made this a few weeks ago, and my husband and I loved it. I did make a few changes, due to what I had on hand: I used a package of onion soup mix in place of the onion, and omitted the celery (and the butter to saute it in). Such a change from the bland stuff I was raised on!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrebleClef April 24, 2010

My boyfriend makes this for us and company all the time and it is always hit (we never have leftovers) He doesn't use the full 2 1/2 cups of cheese and he found that the potato chips add a little crunch but the dish is just as good when he leaves them out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisalouk01 May 16, 2010

This was the best homemade tuna casserole I have ever eaten. I can understand why your Mom got a blue ribbon. I made it with whole wheat noodles, other than that, stuck to the recipe. Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thepeppermintpatties April 22, 2010

Used mushroom instead of celery as most of the time that is on hand. Replaced mayo with lowfat yogurt. Yummy and delicious!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Ellen #3 April 09, 2010

All five of my kids gobbled this up, even the picky one who was all prepared to hate it loved it! I didn't have the carrots & peas on hand, so I skipped them, I added an extra can of tuna and used penne pasta since that's what I had. I used to think my grandma's was really good, but I have to say, this was awesome!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twin_momx2 January 23, 2010

Another Blue Ribbon for Mama! This really is just too good for words. I didn't want to just make the usual tuna casserole, so after reviewing several choices, I decided on this one. WOW! Who knew tuna casserole could be so soul-satisfyingly delicious? I followed the recipe exactly, except since tuna annoyingly comes in 5 oz. cans now, I just used two of those. I added a little fresh lemon juice to add a fresh spark and a few tablespoons of sour cream and a little more evaporated milk when mixing because it seemed a little onh the dry side. I also did not add all the black pepper because I know from experience that I don't like it too peppery. I used wide egg noodles and after giving it a little taste test when it came out of the oven, I can't stop eating it. Next time, if I wanted to gild the lily (which it really doesn't need), I might add a small can of drained mushrooms and sprinkle some sliced almonds on top along with the chips and cheese. Thank you, BK -- I will never bother with another tuna casserole recipe other than this one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msjenjenp December 27, 2009

Made with the following changes: subbed fusili for the egg noodles omitted the celery (had none) Miracle Whip for the mayo frozen mixed veggies for the peas/carrots & added a splash of lemon juice. The whole family loved it - probably the tastiest tuna casserole I've ever made. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Book Worm October 26, 2009

It was really good! I need a quick, throw it together dinner so whip up before we left for church. I did change some things to make it a bit healthier. I used fat free mayo, fat free cream of chicken soup, my kids HATE celery so I left that out entirely and I ditched the chip topping. I did leave in the cheese. <3 cheese :) Can't leave that out!<br/><br/>It was really good and everyone enjoyed it. Add this one to my recipe binder, it's a keep :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michell611 January 14, 2015

Love this tuna casserole! I used rotini instead of egg noodles and fresh milk instead of evaporated but kept the rest the same. Amazing and so easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover December 06, 2013
Blue Ribbon Tuna Casserole