16 Reviews

Really good! Looking at the seasonings I thought my family would like more. I sprinkled the potatoes with seasoned salt, garlic powder, and a good dose of black pepper. This would taste good with some spice too. I used 1/2lb of ground beef b/c that's what I had on hand and it was plenty. I used cream of chicken b/c that's what I had on hand. I added a small can of drained mushrooms, pieces and stems. I didn't put any cheese on top, just the rest of the onions. Loved the broccoli and tomatoes in this! It really is a nice looking casserole and way better than the mushy "hot dishes" that I don't care for. Thanks for a great recipe! My alterations are truly to taste and/or availability.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenisinchina July 01, 2010

This was a good dish for dinner, but not stellar. My family gave it 3 stars based purely on taste. I would give it less (!) for the amount of work and fuss, but I thought the taste was great. However, it's a "heavy" casserole - one serving sort of lands with a thud in the gut. I followed the recipe exactly. All the elements: the freshly steamed broccoli, the freshly chopped plum tomatoes, the cooking times (in and out of the oven) etc. It was a lot to keep track of as I put it together, and that was annoying, because I knew this wasn't going to be top-notch gourmet fare. On the upside, it was a very pretty casserole. But after all the glowing rave reviews, I felt a little deflated with this. Apparently my family did too. Sorry!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrvrvr April 02, 2010

Can't believe I haven't rated this yet nor am I sure If my changes are too much for me to rate this recipe. I halved recipe. Used 1/4 lb ground beef personal preference don't like lots of meat., 2 cups broccoli, 1 can french fried onions, 1 can cream of mushroom soup 1/2 cup milk 3/4 cup cheddar cheese. 1 italian tomato, 1/2 tsp mince garlic, 1/2 tsp seasoning salt, 1/2 tsp celery salt (I used beau monde but it is part celery salt part onion salt. I used potato crowns as they appealed to me more than tater tots. I forgot to use the seasoned pepper. But it turned out yummy :yummy:

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady March 23, 2010

My husband and I thought this was a winner! Loved the taste and will definitely put this down as a favorite of ours. The only thing I did different was to use 1/4 c. milk and cream of mushroom soup. Then I put the cheese on top and then the fried onions and put it back in the oven for 3 or 4 minutes. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy June 10, 2015

i had never made a tater tot casserole & will definitely make this one for years to come. i used cream of mushroom soup and fried my own onions. Also used a can of green beans instead of broccoli (like mom used to make!) the hubby is very impressed! I can see why they printed this in the paper :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Honey B in PDX October 18, 2009

This was a kid pleaser! I had everything but the broccoli, so had to go with the old stand-by - green beans. This recipe will be part of our meal rotation from now on. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bread 'n Butter October 17, 2009

Yummy! Comfort food but better! I say better b/c it is not the typical cream of soup dish. I used a 1 lb ground turkey and about 1/3 of ground beef that I had. I used 2 cans of soup with about 3/4 cup of milk. I did not add the cheese/onions until the last 5 minutes. I put under the broiler at the end to get the onions a little crispy. Next time, I will add fresh garlic into the ground beef and double the onions. Thanks for the recipe and your helpful hints Roxygirl!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ck2plz October 09, 2009

This was excellent! A kick up from the traditional tator tot casserole. We loved the french fried onions and the brocolli. I used cream of muchroom soup and potato wedges (triangles). The leftovers will be great for lunch tomorrow. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan Marie September 01, 2009

I didn't use the fried dry onions, instead I fried up two small onions and sliced fresh mushrooms and flash fried them and set it aside as i put the rest together. Then used as they were supposed to be use. I did use cream of mushroom, just a person choice there. While adding spices, I put in some celery salt, * actually I dumped 1/3 of the entire bottle in it, and had to scrape the excess off. * I used canned Delmonte tomotoes and garlic, drained these too.. Overall.. This came out great!!!! Put a new twist to a family favorite. I always make this when someone is down and out. Or just not feeling too good. Always have smiles before dinner is over. Now I have a new variety to the same ole casserole. Thanks Roxygirl for sharing. Note: Mine came out nearly exactly as picture one. Can never have enough cheese and toms.. lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WyomingMoonDust August 16, 2009
Blue Ribbon Tater-Tot Casserole