Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blue Ribbon Tater-Tot Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blue Ribbon Tater-Tot Casserole

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on July 01, 2010

      Really good! Looking at the seasonings I thought my family would like more. I sprinkled the potatoes with seasoned salt, garlic powder, and a good dose of black pepper. This would taste good with some spice too. I used 1/2lb of ground beef b/c that's what I had on hand and it was plenty. I used cream of chicken b/c that's what I had on hand. I added a small can of drained mushrooms, pieces and stems. I didn't put any cheese on top, just the rest of the onions. Loved the broccoli and tomatoes in this! It really is a nice looking casserole and way better than the mushy "hot dishes" that I don't care for. Thanks for a great recipe! My alterations are truly to taste and/or availability.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      This was a good dish for dinner, but not stellar. My family gave it 3 stars based purely on taste. I would give it less (!) for the amount of work and fuss, but I thought the taste was great. However, it's a "heavy" casserole - one serving sort of lands with a thud in the gut. I followed the recipe exactly. All the elements: the freshly steamed broccoli, the freshly chopped plum tomatoes, the cooking times (in and out of the oven) etc. It was a lot to keep track of as I put it together, and that was annoying, because I knew this wasn't going to be top-notch gourmet fare. On the upside, it was a very pretty casserole. But after all the glowing rave reviews, I felt a little deflated with this. Apparently my family did too. Sorry!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Can't believe I haven't rated this yet nor am I sure If my changes are too much for me to rate this recipe. I halved recipe. Used 1/4 lb ground beef personal preference don't like lots of meat., 2 cups broccoli, 1 can french fried onions, 1 can cream of mushroom soup 1/2 cup milk 3/4 cup cheddar cheese. 1 italian tomato, 1/2 tsp mince garlic, 1/2 tsp seasoning salt, 1/2 tsp celery salt (I used beau monde but it is part celery salt part onion salt. I used potato crowns as they appealed to me more than tater tots. I forgot to use the seasoned pepper. But it turned out yummy :yummy:

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

    • on October 18, 2009

      i had never made a tater tot casserole & will definitely make this one for years to come. i used cream of mushroom soup and fried my own onions. Also used a can of green beans instead of broccoli (like mom used to make!) the hubby is very impressed! I can see why they printed this in the paper :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      This was a kid pleaser! I had everything but the broccoli, so had to go with the old stand-by - green beans. This recipe will be part of our meal rotation from now on. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      Yummy! Comfort food but better! I say better b/c it is not the typical cream of soup dish. I used a 1 lb ground turkey and about 1/3 of ground beef that I had. I used 2 cans of soup with about 3/4 cup of milk. I did not add the cheese/onions until the last 5 minutes. I put under the broiler at the end to get the onions a little crispy. Next time, I will add fresh garlic into the ground beef and double the onions. Thanks for the recipe and your helpful hints Roxygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      This was excellent! A kick up from the traditional tator tot casserole. We loved the french fried onions and the brocolli. I used cream of muchroom soup and potato wedges (triangles). The leftovers will be great for lunch tomorrow. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      I didn't use the fried dry onions, instead I fried up two small onions and sliced fresh mushrooms and flash fried them and set it aside as i put the rest together. Then used as they were supposed to be use. I did use cream of mushroom, just a person choice there. While adding spices, I put in some celery salt, * actually I dumped 1/3 of the entire bottle in it, and had to scrape the excess off. * I used canned Delmonte tomotoes and garlic, drained these too.. Overall.. This came out great!!!! Put a new twist to a family favorite. I always make this when someone is down and out. Or just not feeling too good. Always have smiles before dinner is over. Now I have a new variety to the same ole casserole. Thanks Roxygirl for sharing. Note: Mine came out nearly exactly as picture one. Can never have enough cheese and toms.. lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      Skipped the fried rings, threw in lightly pan fried onion, used creamed chicken soup and potato chips (uncooked fries), added loads of cauli, brocci and carrot. Added a generous squirt of bbq sauce and some chicken stock powder to taste. This was very filling and tasty. Even the kids ate it without complaint and that is saying something. Thanks Roxygirl...it's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      Thought it was very good, next time I would use cream of mushroom soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

      Excellent recipe!!! I didn't have any french fried onions on hand so I used a half of an onion chopped and threw it in the mix. It tasted great!!! I can't wait to try it with the french fried onions!!! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2005

      This was very good. I used tater-tots, Italian tomatoes, and cream of mushroom soup. I put on some ketchup when serving. We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2005

      This was very easy to make and was good, yet my family thought it was kinda bland, maybe I need to add more seasoning...also I couldn't find a 10oz size of Onion Rings, maybe the size is wrong in the receipe? I would make it again for sure for company

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2005

      This is the most excellent casserole I have ever made!! Everything in this recipe really sets off the flavor. The photo really helped to make my decision to make and it really does look like the second photo posted. I used a can of Italian diced tomatoes(drained) and used minced garlic in place of garlic salt. I know this casserole will be made many times in the future at my house. Its simple and oh so ever tasty!! Thank you so much for sharing this "out of this world" casserole. WE LOVED IT!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blue Ribbon Tater-Tot Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (345 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 515.3
     
    Calories from Fat 263
    51%
    Total Fat 29.3 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 14.0 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 99.0 mg
    33%
    Sodium 604.4 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 28.8 g
    57%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    French fried onion rings

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites