Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blue Ribbon Mile High Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blue Ribbon Mile High Lemon Meringue Pie

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 23, 2011

      I really enjoyed this pie, but as others have stated the filling was too sweet. I followed the recipe as written, but must have done something wrong, as there was a lot of watery liquid on top of the filling below the meringue after it cooled. I'm wondering if maybe the filling was cooked too long? (3 minutes seemed long to me.) I made two crusts, so I will probably try again with the second crust and use Splenda instead of sugar, also reducing the amount to 1 cup. Otherwise, the flavor was wonderful, and the meringue was great too!

      Note: After another attempt from a different recipe I had at home, I can say the most important thing here is to have the filling at a full boil before putting on the meringue. Also, bake the meringue at 325F for 20 min. and you should get better results. The other recipe cooked the cornstarch with a little water before adding it to the egg whites, and I liked that flavor better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      The Meringue on this was divine but the filling tasted too much like egg yolks. I followed the directions perfectly, using 6 yolks. Since this recipe does not specify, I used large eggs as that is what is generally used when cooking/baking. Perhaps using yolks from small eggs or even fewer eggs would be better. We could not eat this because of the yolky taste in the filling. Edited to Add: I initially forgot to give this a star rating, thanks for the z-mail reminder Kate!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2011

      I should have listened to the lone negative review. As stated, this should be called a Yolk Meringue Pie, not lemon. The yolks were so overwhelming the lemon flavor was almost completely lost. I have made a lot of Lemon Meringue pies in my years, some good and some bad but this was by far the worst. I will use this recipe for my meringue from now on, it was perfect, but the pie was just awful. I am giving it one star based on the meringue - the pie doesn't deserve any stars at all. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      My first attempt at a LMP and what a hit it was. I made this for a dinner hosted by my daughter. Everyone loved the pie. I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. Great instructions ... very clear and easy to follow. I can see why this won a blue ribbon ... it's a winner for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      OH MY GOSH! This was absolutely DIVINE! I am a major LMP lover and this is by far the best I've ever had! I did change one thing....instead of 1-1/2 cups of sugar I put 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup Splenda. It was PERFECT! Thanks so much for posting this recipe! I will be making it again....and again...and again... lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      Oh my, oh my, oh my, is this ever PERFECTION!!! I'm just sorry I made it into tarts, instead of a pie! I cannot wait to make this again, and probably will next week. Kate, this meringue is so, so, so wonderful, the filling is perfectly tart and sweet - WOW. Five starts does not do this justice!!! Thank you! Made for Veg*n Swap 12.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      LOVED IT! The lemon part was deliciously creamy and the vanilla made the meringue so flavorful. Based on another review I was worried about the sweetness so I reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup. We thought it was just right that way. Thanks for a true keeper Kate! Made for Please Review My Recipe Tag Game, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      I knew I had to put this together before I did runnings today if I wanted to let it cool as long as needed lol. Considering this is my first LMP I appreciate the precise instructions. Even my dad, who claims not like it had a small slice and said it was good but also complained of the sweetness, which he does about most deserts, but I thought it was fine. Defiantly very rich and creamy, I don't have much to compare it to but that doesn't matter. I especially loved the meringue, you wouldn't think a little bit of vanilla would make it stand out so much but it really did. All and all deserving of these five stars and maybe a few blue ribbons to boot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      I made this for Buddha's birthday today exactly as directed using homemade pie crust. First, you will need good arm strength for the filling, which we both found to be overly sweet. Made again, I would reduce the amount of sugar to 1 cup, or even by half. The lemon flavor was not as strong as we had hoped (I used 3 fresh lemons and fresh lemon peel), but it could be just due to the amount of sugar. On the upside, the vanilla in the meringue is worth a mention as it definitely adds a wonderful flavor to a normally bland meringue. This is what meringue should taste like! Overall, a nice LMP recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      This pie has a delicious, creamy filling -- more so than other recipes. I also liked the tart taste the lemon peel added. My pie "weeped" a little, but that was because I made it on a humid day -- a big no-no for any LMP. I should have made it on a drier day, but I couldn't wait. The taste was superb and as soon as I get a dry day I'll make it again. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Richer filling, excellent! Vanilla makes the Meringue just right! Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blue Ribbon Mile High Lemon Meringue Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (185 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 446.2
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    30%
    Total Fat 14.9 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 135.9 mg
    45%
    Sodium 223.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 73.1 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 56.8 g
    227%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes