Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blue Ribbon Carrot Cake [with Buttermilk Glaze] Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blue Ribbon Carrot Cake [with Buttermilk Glaze]

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2011

      This is the best carrot cake I have ever had. It is the one we used to serve at T.G.I. Friday's back in the eighties. Fabulous!!! Be careful not to let the buttermilk glaze boil over (which it does easily). Use a sheet pan. This is really too moist for a layered cake treatment. Go easy on the orange zest in the frosting. Poke holes in the top of the cake with the blunt end of a bamboo skewer to allow the buttermilk glaze to soak in evenly. This can be made several days in advance for a party. I have one in the refrigerator that is 13 days old and just as good as the day it was made. If I could give an extra half of a start, I would.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      This is my third time making this cake in less than a month. Each time I do something a tad bit different. Instead of the orange juice in the frosting, I used a teaspoon of pure orange extract. Perfect! Also, I was trying to flip the cakes out of the pan onto a plate and then another flip to over so the caramelized top would be on TOP...but this time I just flipped it over onto the cake plate....and icing'd the layer...then flipped the other over on top of it. It's actually nice how the caramel is at the bottom of the cake...and then droops down onto the bottom layer from the top. Didn't do the raisins in any of my cakes - and this time used baby carrots ground up in a food processor....my oh my ....this cake makes me feel like I WON the blue ribbon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      I have been searching for the Ultimate Carrot Cake. I need look no longer....This Is It!! This cake is the best I've ever eaten, and believe me I have eaten a lot of carrot cakes over the years. It is wonderfully moist and flavorful. I rarely frost this cake, as it is wonderful all by it's self. Thank you Recipe Junkie for ending a life long search. I will never try an other carrot cake recipe. I have found "The One and Only".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      This is truly the BEST,Blue ribbon carrot cake I have ever tasted.WOW! I have always looked for the best of any cake I try.Over the years,I probably have tried 20 carrot cake recipes,But this is the ULTIMATE.Thank you for sharing.A grateful carrot cake lover!Rose of Sharon

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      OMG on steroids!!!! I just baked this cake this morning and I can't stop sneaking bites! ... And I haven't even frosted it yet! This is truly THE MOST MOIST AND DELICIOUS CARROT CAKE I HAVE EVER TASTED! it's good with just the buttermilk drizzle that I'm seriously thinking about skipping the frosting. It's THAT good. The buttermilk drizzle is the key. You won't go wrong with making this cake. TO DIE FOR and worth every calorie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      This hasta be thee BESTEST Carrot Cake I've ever had!!! Little bit of work, but VERY well worth the effort!!! So very moist & flavorful!!! THANKS so much for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      I made mine into muffins instead and they turned out great. Its easier to grab and go this way. I left out the orange juice and zest in the frosting because I don't like the citrus flavor so much. I also forgot to put the coconut in but they're still very tasty. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      People get weak in the knees when I make this recipe. It is 2d4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      This was my first attempt making carrot cake and I baked it for my sister's baby shower recently. Afterwards, people were raving about it; coming up to me asking for the recipe, saying it was the moistest carrot cake they've ever had, etc. When I brought some home to my husband, he informed me, "You don't know, because you don't usually eat carrot cake, but THIS is excellent carrot cake!" Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      This is the best and also richest carrot cake I have ever had. I absolutely love it and the only one that I make and sell. My husband who loves carrot cake says that this is by far the best carrot cake he has ever had. I don't use all of the glaze because the cake seems to get wet as opposed to moist. I also don't use the raisins because I don't like them. I don't use the orange in the frosting either. I think I will next time I make it though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      Made this to sell at Willies Rear in TC. It was a big hit with the patrons....sold out...should have taken a picture....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      This cake is amazing. I think its the best carrot cake I ever tasted. I'm not crazy about the frosting. My mom always puts the pineapple in the frosting which makes not as beautiful but sure tasty. Maybe I'll put pineapple juice in the frosting next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      Made this for our Easter dessert-This cake is just phenomenal! I bake a lot and I must say this is probably one of the best cakes I have ever made. The buttermilk glaze gives a wonderful rich taste and WOW is it moist!! If you want or need to impress someone with your kitchen skills, bake this cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      I've been making a variation of this for years and it is by far the most requested cake I have. Can't wait to try yours!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      LOVE this recipe! Made me look like a rock star and I've never even made a carrot cake. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      From now on when I am asked to bring dessert this will be it. Easy, different (At least in this part of the country) and the taste is wonderful. Thanks for submitting and congratulations on your blue ribbon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      I have been making and serving this cake for over 20 years- with only the buttermilk glaze. It has always been a huge hit, especially when I was catering! The orange juice and zest in the frosting cake only make it taste more wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      This cake can be described as delicious beyond delicious. I thought I had the best carrot cake recipe until I tried this one. Now, I will only use this recipe. It is even delicious without the frosting. Unbelieveably wonderful...Give it a try and you will agree.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

    • on August 31, 2008

      This is a winner. My husband isn't a big cake eater at all but he is now reminding me how much he loves this carrot cake, considering I accidentally read the recipe wrong and doubled the sugar...stupid mistake, it still tasted amazing, so moist and flavoursome - this is a recipe keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blue Ribbon Carrot Cake [with Buttermilk Glaze]

    Serving Size: 1 (123 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 480.3
     
    Calories from Fat 209
    43%
    Total Fat 23.3 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 53.2 mg
    17%
    Sodium 343.7 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.9 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 52.1 g
    208%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes