12 Reviews

Like other reviewers, I basted every hour and baked at a lower temperature...275 degrees for 2 1/2 hrs and 300 for one more hour. The result was "falling-off-the-bone" delicious. Thanks for a great recipe! ( I covered the ribs with foil.)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M. Joan October 23, 2009

These ribs were excellant, very tender and juicy,, I DOUBLED THE RECIPE and cooked them at 275 degrees for 5 hrs, Didn't pour the sauce over, i basted with sauce every hour as chef 1350082 did .DH thought I'd parboiled them and was very surprised when i told him i hadn't.. Will definately make these again.. Thank you for sharing this wounderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nita 284904 southern girl October 10, 2009

These are the easiest and tastiest oven ribs ever ! All I added was a couple of drops of liquid smoke. Some Basamati rice and a wonderful treat.I could not believe how little prep was required. Great recipe !
Have just made it for the third time. That says a lot ! BUT, where is the garlic ? You have to have garlic !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hal Taylor November 30, 2010

These were easy and the guys loved them. I doubled the recipe and cooked at 300 for 3 1/2 hours, my husband doesnt like commercial bbq sauce, he thought these were great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela P. September 02, 2009

good sauce. cooked mine at 300 for 4 hr. meat fell off the bone. for mem#792572 you must not have gone to a national bar b que cooking contest. i would say 95% of sauces are made with catsup. you must be from N.C. ware they use vinerger as a sauce.eck.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foley41840 August 28, 2009

I've used a similar recipe for BBQ ribs for 40 years, and have always gotten rave reviews from family and friends. You should know, 792572, that many professional chefs use catsup in their BBQ sauce recipes. It contains an already perfect balance of spices and vinegar and helps with the texture of the final reduced sauce. If HF corn syrup is a concern, there are brands available at Whole Foods or other organic type stores that do not contain it. We use one of them. Good recipe!! Thanks for posting it!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakingNana August 27, 2009

Catsup! I would never use catsup in BBQ sauce, most are made with High Fructose Corn Syrup. I really hate to be insulting but this is a mediocre recipe. I honestly don't know how it could be labeled Blue Ribbon. Even at that I would probably use brown sugar to let the molasses add a little base to the flavor. Catsup? Oh my Lord.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
792572 August 25, 2009

Thank you for a great recipe. I cooked it on 275 degree for almost 4 hours, adding sauce on every one hour. It came out PERFECT!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aprilpage84 August 19, 2009

Baking @375 for 1 1/2 hours was NOT enough time My suggestion --3+ hrs @ 275* Sauce was good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fontama May 30, 2009

We loved the sauce on these ribs. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BillieJoeUtah May 08, 2009
Blue Ribbon Barbecue Ribs