Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blue Ribbon Apple Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blue Ribbon Apple Pie

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on December 07, 2009

      Love this pie. Minimal spices so it's a very "fresh", light taste. It calls for so many apples, I wasn't sure they would all fit in the pan but of course it cooked down and was wonderful. Will definitely make this again! Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      This was the first pie I have ever made & it turned out great. Thank you for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      I used pie crust Pie Crust - Blue Ribbon. Fast to whip up. I have to say I am no fan of nutmeg, so please use measurements! lol. I even think the sugar amount was right on. Zip-loc bag technique is a clean way to do it. I used Baldwin apples which didn't give off too much juice. Turned out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      This was the second pie I've ever baked. I made it as a dessert for my husband's relatives who came out of town. I told them I had never made apple pie before and his uncle said, "You dun good." It was wonderful. I made it with Betty Crocker's homemade pie crust; I rolled out the crust between wax paper so as not to have to put more flour in the crust. I used the oatmeal crumble topping as suggested, and then I put aluminum foil over the top to keep the crust and the oatmeal from burning. I took it off about ten minutes before the pie was supposed to be done. I have a small oven, so I had to cook mine longer, about ten minutes longer. I used granny smith apples because my grandma always told me those were the best for pies. I served it about two hours after it was done, so it was still a little warm inside-- a perfect match with vanilla ice cream. It feels good to have made something so successful and I have a feeling I will be making pies for family get togethers more often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      I made this and realized after pulling the pie out of the oven that I forgot to add the flour and cornstarch! LOL - this pie was just fine without it. Just the right amount of spices and butter. This really hit the spot and it is easy to see why you won a blue ribbon! Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2013

      This pie turned out great. I added about an extra tablespoon of flour, used a combination of Mackintosh and Granny Smith apples, and baked an additional 10-15 minutes. I think I would make it with just Granny Smiths next time (and increase the sugar), as the Mackintosh apples got a bit too soft for my tastes (more like applesauce). The pie was a bit light on spice, so I would probably double that next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      Awesome apple pie! Used all of the beat up apples in my refrigerator and a crust recipe I posted in my deep dish Emile Henry pie plate. The pie was absolutely gorgeous and wonderfully delicious. Perfect in every way! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      This is a fabulous pie! I used it along with pie crust 13619 and followed this recipe brushing the milk on top and cinnamon sugar. It made a beautiful and tasty pie. I almost took a picture of it! :o) All the boys agreed it was the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Delicious!! I used apples from my mom's tree and pre- made crusts. All and All it was perfect and so tasty! I loved the sugar-cinnamon mixture on top! Yum! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      Awesome! Used jonamac apples and pie crust out of a box. 8 cups of apples seemed too much so on second pie only used 6 cups and it was plenty on 9 inch pie. Didn't use pie crust shield--wasn't needed. Turned out awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      Made this pie with the 'shake a pie crust' recipe and it was very much raved about by those who had a piece. The taste was perfect. I dont like too much cinnamon or other spices in my apple recipes. This had the right amount. And there wasn't much sugar to add, which was great. The pie came out perfect. Not runny, not dry. Thank you Marg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      My Mum (who won third prize at the Apple Fest) even asked me for the recipe!!!! I cut back on the sugar a little bit, just a personal preference, but wow, this was GREAT!!!!! Thanks Marg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      Great tasting and super easy to prepare. I did cheat and used purchased crust which made it even easier. This pie isn't real soupy like some apple pies and I liked that. Followed the recipe exactly and I am so glad I did because it is perfect even down to the baking time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      Easy and excellent...was a hit at the DH's office! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      I made this pie for a silent auction and the people who bid on and won the pie couldn't stop raving about it! They are now convinced that I am the "Pie Queen"! :) Thanks for posting this, Marg, and making me look good! I took your advice and topped it with the Oatmeal Crumb toping and called it a "healthy" pie-anything with fruit and oatmeal has got to be healthy, right? Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      I used Splenda for the filling, and a nice oatmeal topping instead of a double crust. It turned out great! I served it ala mode with nonfat ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      I made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out so good! I used pre-made pie crust to make it easier. It baked up perfectly in the time suggested and I covered the edges of the crust with a pie shield to prevent overbrowning. Delicious flavor and looked beautiful. I like the added touch of cinnamon/sugar sprinkled on top. Thanks for the wonderful recipe Marg! I'll be making it again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blue Ribbon Apple Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 414.2
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    40%
    Total Fat 18.7 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 307.2 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.5 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 31.8 g
    127%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites