14 Reviews

I splurged for a bottle of Absolut Peppar but it wasn't worth it - I honestly couldn't taste it or the parsley...just tastes like blue cheese and sesame seeds. I'm not leaving any stars because I had technical difficulties. The balls kept melting. I kept having to put the tray back in the freezer. By the time I got to the party, the balls had flattened and weren't in ball form anymore :-( It's humid and 90 degrees in Florida so I would try them again in colder weather, and like the idea of using them as salad toppings.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen August 21, 2009

These are fabulous! We made them for our second annual Halloween bash and forgot them in the freezer. We used regular vodka and added a dash of tobasco. We also used toasted pecans because we made 4 times the recipe and it is hard (expensive) to find 2 cups of sesame seeds! Because of the time it takes to roll 4 recipes, we needed to pop them in the freezer now and again during the process. Tonight I added 3 of them to the top of my tossed Italian salad and it made my average salad gourmet! Great to eat as an appetizer or an elegant top to a vinaigrette salad!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 October 23, 2007

I liked the picture of these rolled in black sesame seeds and thought poppy seeds could be fancy, too. Love the blue cheese, but unfortunately these do tend to get soft very quickly out of fridge and the sesame seeds got kind of soggy very soon, too. I would only roll these shortly before serving. After all was not so sure about sesame seeds at all, the flavor is very prominent. Maybe rolling them in like digestive crumbs or walnuts just before serving would work best for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare November 21, 2012

I wanted to make this for a Steeler's Game. Forgot to print the recipe so I made it from memory. We substituted Gin for Vodka, It was a big hit. Simple fast and decadent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parris Original October 17, 2010

I accidentally bought a creamy blue cheese and the mix was far too soft/creamy to form balls. Since the flavor was so fantastic I added a splash of cream to cream it up a teeny bit more and then added most of the sesame seeds since I had already toasted them. Also used regular vodka and added pepper. Yummy dip. Very decadent and very tasty with pita chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodandwinelover December 23, 2009

Fantastic! I didn't have fat-free cream cheese, oh well. Also, used normal vodka and added fresh ground pepper. Absolutely wonderful. Was a big hit in my family. This is a keeper! Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thepeppermintpatties December 09, 2008

This is a great easy recipe that yields fantastic resuts. I doubled the recipe for a party and they were raved about and eaten up. Like the other raters, I just used regular vodka and added freshly ground pepper. I used blue stilton cheese and store-brand cream cheese. The toasted sesame seeds really make this special. Highly recommend for taking to a party. Thanks to you hellokitty -- you are a star!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SolightlyUK December 07, 2008

OMG! What a hit these were over the weekend. As another reviewer did I just used regular vodka (Grey Goose) and added a little fresh ground pepper. This is my new "go to" appetizer. I made them up a few days ahead of time, but did not roll in the seeds until just prior to serving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JLakins November 16, 2008

These are great! I made half with sesame seeds and half with finely chopped hazelnuts. They're so yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mulligan January 13, 2008

These were great... I followed exactly and ended up with about 12 mini-cheese balls. I did half with the sesame seeds and half with crushed walnuts I had left over from Christmas. I ground them up in the blender. I liked both kinds but the sesame was a wonderful and unique taste so I would probably go with that next time. Thanks for sharing this one !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef RZ Fan January 01, 2008
Blue Cheese Vodka Balls (Finger Food)