Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blue Cheese Vodka Balls (Finger Food) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blue Cheese Vodka Balls (Finger Food)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on August 21, 2009

      I splurged for a bottle of Absolut Peppar but it wasn't worth it - I honestly couldn't taste it or the parsley...just tastes like blue cheese and sesame seeds. I'm not leaving any stars because I had technical difficulties. The balls kept melting. I kept having to put the tray back in the freezer. By the time I got to the party, the balls had flattened and weren't in ball form anymore :-( It's humid and 90 degrees in Florida so I would try them again in colder weather, and like the idea of using them as salad toppings.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      These are fabulous! We made them for our second annual Halloween bash and forgot them in the freezer. We used regular vodka and added a dash of tobasco. We also used toasted pecans because we made 4 times the recipe and it is hard (expensive) to find 2 cups of sesame seeds! Because of the time it takes to roll 4 recipes, we needed to pop them in the freezer now and again during the process. Tonight I added 3 of them to the top of my tossed Italian salad and it made my average salad gourmet! Great to eat as an appetizer or an elegant top to a vinaigrette salad!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      I liked the picture of these rolled in black sesame seeds and thought poppy seeds could be fancy, too. Love the blue cheese, but unfortunately these do tend to get soft very quickly out of fridge and the sesame seeds got kind of soggy very soon, too. I would only roll these shortly before serving. After all was not so sure about sesame seeds at all, the flavor is very prominent. Maybe rolling them in like digestive crumbs or walnuts just before serving would work best for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      I wanted to make this for a Steeler's Game. Forgot to print the recipe so I made it from memory. We substituted Gin for Vodka, It was a big hit. Simple fast and decadent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      I accidentally bought a creamy blue cheese and the mix was far too soft/creamy to form balls. Since the flavor was so fantastic I added a splash of cream to cream it up a teeny bit more and then added most of the sesame seeds since I had already toasted them. Also used regular vodka and added pepper. Yummy dip. Very decadent and very tasty with pita chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Fantastic! I didn't have fat-free cream cheese, oh well. Also, used normal vodka and added fresh ground pepper. Absolutely wonderful. Was a big hit in my family. This is a keeper! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      This is a great easy recipe that yields fantastic resuts. I doubled the recipe for a party and they were raved about and eaten up. Like the other raters, I just used regular vodka and added freshly ground pepper. I used blue stilton cheese and store-brand cream cheese. The toasted sesame seeds really make this special. Highly recommend for taking to a party. Thanks to you hellokitty -- you are a star!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      OMG! What a hit these were over the weekend. As another reviewer did I just used regular vodka (Grey Goose) and added a little fresh ground pepper. This is my new "go to" appetizer. I made them up a few days ahead of time, but did not roll in the seeds until just prior to serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      These are great! I made half with sesame seeds and half with finely chopped hazelnuts. They're so yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      These were great... I followed exactly and ended up with about 12 mini-cheese balls. I did half with the sesame seeds and half with crushed walnuts I had left over from Christmas. I ground them up in the blender. I liked both kinds but the sesame was a wonderful and unique taste so I would probably go with that next time. Thanks for sharing this one !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      Fabulous is right! I doubled the recipe and wish I would have made more! Made these for our Christmas Eve buffet. Used Danish blue cheese and full-fat cream cheese. I didn't have pepper vodka so used plain vodka and added some fresh ground black pepper. Will definitely make these again! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      Fast and easy and liked by all. Next time I wouldn't use the vodka and I might try rolling in nuts instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      I loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      ABSOLUTELY was a big hit at our VFW, easy to make-followed recipe to a "T" except for the sesame seed. I used vey fine crushed nuts (a mixture) My friend wants me to make them for her birthday Definetly a keeper-thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blue Cheese Vodka Balls (Finger Food)

    Serving Size: 1 (39 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 171.0
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    72%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 12.6 mg
    4%
    Sodium 237.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fat-free cream cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes