11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are fantastic!! The sweet, slightly crunchy topping is delicious! I would recommend spraying the muffin pan even if using the muffin cups because they do tend to spill out over the edge & can be hard to extract.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erinj95 June 08, 2013

These muffins are delicious even though I did have some difficulty with the recipe. It says that it makes 12 muffins, but I got 16 muffins. It's important to not overfill the muffin cups, otherwise the topping will overflow into the oven and burn and smoke will come billowing out of the oven (not that I would know anything about this....) I also found that it worked better to bake the muffins at 350 instead of 375. The other thing is that I used only about half of the topping, so I recommend only making half of the topping for one batch of muffins. Otherwise, we loved these muffins! They are sweet and moist and the pie filling really intensifies the blueberry flavor. My husband took some to work to share with his coworkers and they were devoured.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks August 09, 2013

this is awesome! had to make another batch, because they disappeared in 15 minutes. i froze the leftover blueberry pie filling in paper cupcake liner and put in freezer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coffeecupcookie March 06, 2013

So glad this is on here! I read the book years ago, tried the muffins and they are outstanding. I wanted to make some to send my daughter at college (her absolute favorite) but didn't have the recipe at work for ingredients to purchase. Food.com to the rescue! Now I'm in business :) FYI, I have tried other of the authors recipes and all were very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
earllisa July 11, 2012

My DD asked me to make some fresh blueberry muffins and I thought this sounded interesting so I whipped them up with a little help from her. She gobbled down the first one and quickly reached for a second. You might say they were a hit! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustMeMelMel July 11, 2010

Although I can get fresh blueberries from time to time all winter long in my area, I did use the frozen ones from my on-hand stach & we had some VERY, VERY OUTSTANDING MUFFINS that took us not time at all to consume ~ Well, I shared a couple with the neighbors, but the rest were definitely for us to enjoy! I was particularly intrigued with the inclusion of the pie filling, which added so much interest & flavor! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed for one of my adoptees in the current Pick A Chef event]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike March 31, 2010

Unfortunately, blueberries (fresh or frozen) are hard to come by in Beijing, so my (mini) muffins were not as blue as expected. To supplement this, I added a tad bit more of the canned pie filling. Nonetheless, absolutely delish! Thanks Shari2!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ February 23, 2010

This muffins are incredible! I love the blue color inside, and so did the kids! I picked this recipe specifically because I had a small amount of pie filling I wanted to use up. The batter tastes like pound cake batter! This muffin is one of those you save for a special occasion! The batter made 18 instead of 12 for me...and I still had topping left even though I had 6 extra muffins to top. Delicious muffins my whole family enjoyed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ColCadsMom April 24, 2008

Great blueberry flavor! Hubby kinda raised an eyebrow at the color, but one taste took care of that. :) Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RobinTX March 19, 2005

Great Blueberry flavor! I had planned to make these today but had a "bad" doctor's visit so hubby baked instead. Instead of muffins we had "cake". He put it in a 9x13 cake pan. Worked out well. We put margarine over the warm "cake". YUM! We will cut back on the sugar in the topping next time...just because it's a little too sweet for us. :) Thanks for sharing the recipe Shari2!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Packer Backer Pammy November 10, 2004
Blue Blueberry Muffins