20 Reviews

This was SO neat! Lots of compliments! 1) Rubber ducks floating in the top are a must. 2) The ice cream is a must -- just use less. I was uncertain about adding the ice cream because of other reviews. I added about 8 large scoops of vanilla ice cream. I am so glad I did! They frothed and bubbled up to make it look like the duckies were floating in a bubble bath. I thought that was so cool, and so did all the baby shower guests. The look lasted for about 45 minutes and then the ice cream did kind of disintegrate and not look as pleasant. It still tasted fine. 3) I did make changes to the recipe. I left out the Pina Colada mix. I made one Kool-aid packet for the punch and froze the other prepared packet in ice cube trays. The full recipe: 1 pitcher Kool-aid, 2 trays of ice cubes (the other two trays can be used later), 1 2-liter of 7-up, 8 large scoops of vanilla ice cream, and 3 small rubber ducks. This served 17 guests.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaGun December 15, 2007

I have not prepared this one yet but perhaps leaving out the sugar would lessen the "too sweet" effect some are commenting on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen.lafromboise May 13, 2015

This is a great idea (made it for my sister's baby shower), but it was SO sweet that the only people that drank it were the kids. It was bordering on sickeningly sweet. I hate to give it a bad review because it looked so cute, especially with the duckies floating in it, but it was over the top. I'm sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness March 16, 2011

So cute and delicious! I've made this several times for showers. You can also use other floaty items depending on your theme. frogs, angels, etc. or use a pink colored kool-aid and add floaty pigs. Too cute!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
biscuits03 June 23, 2009

Perfect for the baby shower I just hosted! It was a hit and everyone wanted the recipe. I used pineapple sherbert rather than ice cream. Also would recommend not making large batches at a time because the kool aid/sugar/sherbert or ice cream starts to almost gel after awhile. BUT....PERFECT for a little boys shower!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~ Alison ~ January 03, 2009

turned out great! didnt use the pina coloda mix or ice cream, looked great for shower

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tabby Bartley November 10, 2008

I made this for a baby shower that I hosted last week. It was a hit!! There were roughly 20 guests at the shower and we went through a double batch! I substituted pineapple sherbet for the ice cream and found lighted rubber duckies to float in the bowl. It was a hit!!! Thaks a bunch for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SphynxCat27 June 13, 2008

My DIL is having twins, so I thought I would have punch with a little blue and a little pink since she is having a boy and a girl. I used raspberry sherbert for this one and I eliminated the pina colada mix. Everyone thought it was so cute, and tasted so good. I bought little miniature duckies and floated them in the punch. What a cute idea! We certainly had enough punch with the 2 that I made, and it was so good! Thanks Jules!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendyt57 June 08, 2008

It looked amazing. I am so glad that we didn't add any extra sugar because it was soooooooooo sweet. Everybody liked to look at it but after trying it most people opted for water or whatever else was in the fridge. Next time I will go for carbonated water instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monique L April 29, 2008

This was so fun :) I didn;t use the pina colada mix but did use pinapple sherbert instead of ice cream. Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xtra napkins pleeeeease April 20, 2008
Blue Baby Shower Punch