14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Quite perfect this Spring afternoon, as we beckon in a new season! If you don't sit yourself down to this incredibly, tasty, delightful, star sandwich then I don't know what ails ya. Super easy, super g o o d, and super fresh! Oh, and be sure you use the avocado, sends this to a whole new level! Got it? Thanks for posting this, Diena! Made for National Tomato Month, Diabetic Forum April 2012

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm April 04, 2012

I used veggie bacon and left out the avocado(it wasn't ripe yet). When I went to get the lettuce, I discovered there was none, so I used a little bit of some coleslaw I had on hand. It turned out wonderful. Thanks Dienia! Made for the Zaar Stars game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 September 29, 2011

Who doesn't love a good ol' BLT? I make mines exactly this way but without avocado. I do, however, add a slice of American cheese. For easier cleanup I cook my bacon in the microwave in between napkins to soak up the drippings. Perfectly cooked bacon each time! Next time I'll try your version with the avocado! It sounds good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cali_love September 13, 2008

Nothing bad to say about a BLT.....I added coarsely ground black pepper and salt, and left the avocado off.....I'm a purist and really love my BLT's.....plus I had no avocado! I also probably used more mayo. Thanks for a reason to enjoy my favorite sandwich when tomatoes are in season! Made for I Recommend, on linguinelisa's recommendation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom June 17, 2012

Great! Made without the avocado but enjoyed by everyone. Made for the Went to the Market cooking tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linguinelisa May 03, 2012

Made for lunch today. Made as directed except I didn't add the avocado as I don't like it. Everyone enjoyed these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol April 22, 2012

Yum! I had no avocado but HUGELY enjoyed this sandwich anyway! I used turkey bacon and red oak leaf lettuce. Next time I'll ttry to add a slice of goat's gouda, too. Thanks for sharing!!
Made for National Tomato Month / Diabetes Forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany April 13, 2012

almost EVERYone loves a BLT and avocado makes a big difference, i think... you can used canned tomatoes, drained if the fresh ones aren't really ripe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carrie sheridan April 01, 2007

I gave this 5 stars. I love BLT's they are so easy and taste yummmy! I do not put Avocado's on mine. Thanks for posting a great recipe! Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut March 07, 2007

For such a simple little sandwich, the avocado adds so much to it! I just sliced the avocado and added it, and it made a world of difference to a normal BLT. Thank you! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*OzMan* August 16, 2006
BLT Sandwich