Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / BLT Salad With Creamy Basil Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    BLT Salad With Creamy Basil Dressing

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 20, 2010

      This is very good. I used more romaine than the recipe called for as I like lots of lettuce. I used less tomatoes as i inadvertently ate most of my tomatoes. I mixed up dressing and served a drizzle over each serving when needed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      Awesome! The salad combination itself is terrific, but it's the basil dressing that makes it really terrific! The sweet basil flavor is perfect against the salty bacon and the fresh tomatoes.... and everything else. I made the dressing hours ahead of time to allow the flavors to develop and I'm hooked on the dressing alone. I'm going to use this simple dressing recipe on many other salads. Thanx for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      This was a truly delicious salad that is very filling and could be your main meal! I made this exactly as posted and loved it. The yogurt in the dressing gave it a nice tang and the basil was a unique twist. This stretches a lot if it's served as a first course because it is so hearty. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to impress guests, as well. Thanks for sharing this keeper! Made for PRMR Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      Really good! Fresh basil in the dressing was delicious. I skipped the garlic baguette because I was being lazy but it would have made my salad even better. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      What a great salad, you do feel like you are eating a BLT! I used more romaine. The avocado gives this salad a nice touch. Next time I will add a tad more vinegar, less mayo, and maybe some water to thin the dressing a little bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Loved the flavour in this dish, particulary the dressing. I used creme fraiche as the plain yoghurt and the dressing had a really fresh light taste. Thanks for a lovely recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      Great flavor, of coarse, I love basil, so go figure. Made for the everyday's a holiday tag, and glad I did. Served for dinner last night, daughter loved it, so did hubby. Thanks for another keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      Loved both the salad and the dressing: all the ingredients had us right in our comfort zone when it comes to flavours. I halved the recipe for just two of us, and followed it with only a few minor adjustments. I still used a whole avocado (just LOVE avocado, and they really are best eaten the day they are cut open) and I used creamy Greek yoghurt in the dressing (basically, it's the only yoghurt I ever use). I also added 1/4 cup of chopped pistachios to the salad. They added some extra crunch and flavour! Thanks for sharing this great recipe, Boomette! Made for the Please Review My Recipe tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      I made this awhile back and forgot to review it! Sorry! It was delicious! I used veggie bacon and scaled the recipe back for 2. Thanks France! Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      This is a great salad and a wonderful dressing. We omitted the avocado for personal preference and took the advice of another reviewer and used 1/3 cup of basil and it was perfect. I didn't get to serve the salad with the toasted baguette slices because while there was a baguette last night, seems like DH had a late night sandwich. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      How good is this? Just went over to the greenhouse pulled enough basil leaves right off the plant and made the salad. Well, I couldn't even wait for dinner, I just kept dipping the dressing with mushrooms, carrots, and cucumber. Oh how we loved this on the farm! I gave my Dad a salad, and made an extra for Dennis, and we were done the dressing. I used fresh, really fresh basil since I grow it 365 days a year. The recipe as written for us, on Longmeadow Farm was perfection ~ and loved every bite. Thank you Boomette the farm changed nothing. Made for *SSC Pet Parade* July 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      This was easy to put together but for us we thought the basil dressing drowned out all the other flavors. Very strong flavor. And I only used a little over a third of a cup of basil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      This is a great salad, easy to make and with a lovely basil dressing. I made it just as listed except I used a sweet Vidalia onion instead of red onion. It was just right (for us). Made for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      This is wonderful! I used center-cut bacon and omitted the avocado (personal preference). The dressing is very good and easy to make. This made a nice lunch for my DH and I. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for BLT Salad With Creamy Basil Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (383 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 617.6
     
    Calories from Fat 204
    33%
    Total Fat 22.7 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 18.1 mg
    6%
    Sodium 968.7 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.8 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 9.1 g
    36%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    33%
    Protein 20.4 g
    40%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sherry wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites