12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh my!! Another great one, NurseDi! YUM-MY! I made it exactly as written, using elbow macaroni. I will admit, I was not hopeful when I put the bowl in the fridge to chill. It just did not look tasty. BUT, after chilling and a good stir, and after the pasta absorbed most of the juices...well, YUMMY! DH has requested this be added to the "keeper" file. LOL. I think next time, I'll make a bed of lettuce on the each plate instead of mixing the lettuce in. That way if there are leftovers, there won't be lettuce left in there to get soggy. Oh...and you mentioned 8 servings? Not with my DH! Of course, we had this as a meal, not a side. Hehehe. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angel91805 October 24, 2006

Very easy and tasty. Everyone liked this recipe. We even had it for a main course one summer night. The second time I made it I did not have green onions, so I used a red onion. It was fine. I can imagine countless variations of this using olives, cheese, chicken, etc. A keeper for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnthonyC August 21, 2006

I used spiral pasta. I didn't have any green onions so I used 1/8 cup chives and 2 tblsp minced onion. My Husband loved this salad ,he went for seconds..I liked the zesty flavor from the chile sauce..For my DH and myself I made this full recipe but only used 1/2 the pasta mixture and added 1/2 the bacon and lettuce for our supper..Now, I have more fresh crispy salad to tomorrow...I know I will be making this BLT Salad often..Thank U NurseDi for another Great recipe.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potluck June 12, 2006

I tried this salad for the first time on some friends this evening. Everyone went back for seconds, and found it to be delicious; another recipe request was made! I like the hearty flavor the pasta brings to the lettuce, along with the bacon and tomato. A keeper, and great for repeating throughout the summer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claire de Luna September 18, 2004

My husband gave this 5 stars, I would go 4. I tossed everything torether and we sat down at the table and I was disappointed at how fast the lettuce went soggy. I think I may need to try lettuce that holds up better. The green onions and bacon were great, and a very pretty salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha August 19, 2003

I LOVE this salad. So does my husband. I think it is the chili sauce in the dressing that gives it a unique flavor. Football season is just around the corner and I am going to make it again for our first tailgate. Thank-you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChelseaB August 16, 2003

I have made this salad several times this summer and it has become our favorite summer BBQ salad. As others have said, very fresh tasting and well proportioned ingredients. Thanks Nurse Di.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower August 13, 2003

Easter dinner had a new dish this year! Your salad was a big hit, Everyone raved about it, and I am sure it will be a frequent guest at future family get togethers. Thanks, Nurse Di-another winner from you. Carole

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando April 20, 2003

It was great and fresh-tasting! I have 3 picky eaters at home and 2 got 2nd helpings! I didn't use chicken granules b/c I didn't have any and I didn't add the onions or they wouldn't try it. I loved it. I will use it for potlucks from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gholsoti April 11, 2003

This salad is wonderful!!!!! The dressing mixture provides just the right flavor for this salad. My whole family enjoyed this, even my "picky" son who is extremely picky about macaroni salad. I'll be keeping this recipe handy because we will be having this often. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas April 05, 2003
BLT Salad