12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved this salad! Would be great to take to a picnic or party as it makes quite a bit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc February 04, 2014

Far better than a BLT sandwich! To lower the fat, I used turkey bacon, lower mayo/vinegar ratio (light olive oil mayo) and less dressing overall. It was AMAZING, so I can only imagine how good the regular version must be -- will definitely make this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen February 19, 2011

This is wonderful!! Absolutely PERFECT!! LOVED THE CROUTONS!!! Thanks so much!! Made for ZWT6 & the Xtra Hot Dishes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris June 23, 2010

What is not to like about this salad??? Wonderful and I like it better than the actual BLT sandwich!! The dressing has more of a zing and you can adjust the amounts of bacon or bread that you want on the salad. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!! Made for ZWT6.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 June 21, 2010

Absolutely delicious! Everyone just RAVED over this salad. I made exactly as directed and wouldn't change a thing. BLT is my favorite sandwich and this salad is perfection. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for ZWT6, Zwizzle Chicks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof June 20, 2010

OMG! Did I die and go to heaven?? We LOVED this! I did use an artisan sour dough bread for the croutons (and, like Andi, I had never tried this way of making croutons.) So easy. I cut the recipe in half for the 2 of us. I also added a bit of diced red onion to the mix. Make this now everybody...you won't be disappointed. This is truly a keeper! Thanks for posting, Galley Wench. Made for ZWT 6.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie June 19, 2010

A devoted fan here! I followed this exactly, except scaled it down to 2. I used thick white bread as a previous reviewer and who knew you could put mayonnaise on bread and stick it in the oven and get *Croutons* I never knew this! The only addition was adding a very thinly sliced white onion to the top of the tomato, then dribbled that yummy dressing all around. Oh heart be still! What a ka-pow taste! Made for *Potluck Tag Game* October 2009

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm October 28, 2009

I don't even think I chewed...I just enhaled! Made for Everyday Is A Holiday.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng June 25, 2009

I am so happy this recipe is posted here because I had this recipe from Cook's Illustrated and lost it. I searched here praying to find it and here it is!!! It's BLT perfection!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ihvhope May 21, 2008

I think this is my new favorite way to eat a BLT! I scaled the recipe down for one. Tasted like a cut up version of the sandwich. I had everything on hand except french bread, so I used some thick white bread. It worked just fine. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. August 31, 2007
BLT Salad