318 Reviews

I have my list of cold salads that I make for family gatherings and this one was just added to this list! Everyone raved about this recipe so much so that my husband told me that this is my go to salad recipe now. The flavors are amazing together even though I was a little worried about the boullion granuales in there, it made it that much more flavorful.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrs_cupcake08 May 04, 2011

This was really interesting... Some of the items didn't sound like they would blend to well, but they did beautifully! I need to go back and look at the number of people it serves. I believe it said 16 but it was like 8 cups, one cup per person. So the serving size is 1/2 cup? Still, a great salad.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knnemo September 20, 2010

i, too, used half mayo and half sour cream (both half fat), mostly because i was almost out of mayo. if i'd thought of it i'd have used the homemade yogurt but oh well. i'm a vegetarian and couldn't find simulated bacon bits around here for anything right now so i did a C-L-T and used cubed cheddar instead. next time if i can't find fackon bits i might try vegetarian ham slices. i did add about a tsp of liquid smoke to the dressing for more flavor and that was a GREAT addition! fyi, 7oz of dry pasta is about half a box of smart pasta, which was plenty. i had to use a vegetarian chicken bouillon cube crumbled up as fine as i could get it since the vegetarian versions don't come in powder form. i was concerned about the small lumps that remained no matter what i did but it blended fine once on the salad. i wish i'd thought to grab some fresh lettuce from the garden instead of the tasteless iceburg in the fridge but oh well. this turned out lovely, flavorful, mild, and filling. will certainly make again! i've got the leftovers packaged with the lettuce separate for lunch tomorrow so we'll see how that goes.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spiritussancto July 22, 2010

Wonderful! I took this to my brother-in-law's 50th birthday party and got rave reviews! There were 2 pasta salads there and this is the one that went! Such a nice change from the standard Italian dressing kind of pasta salads. This goes on the make and make again list! I used 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cup sour cream (full fat, both!). Thank you for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie July 17, 2010

I have made this recipe twice. Both times got rave reviews. have been asked for the recipe by everyone. It was just great. thanks a million for posting

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peaches-n-Cream March 23, 2003

Our family made made this as it's written, (though we did use turkey bacon ). Here's what we liked...
- It's a nice, make-ahead meal for the weekend
- BL & T always taste great together


What we didn't like...

- the turkey bacon was soggy the next day, so I should have put it aside as a topping.

- the lemon & sugar. These account for the fair rating. I was really hesitant to add them but my daughter wanted to make it exactly as it was so I conceded.Of course it was sweet & tangy which I didn't care for. I know its a pasta salad, but BLTs aren't sweet or tangy so in my opinion the two thingsconflicted. Next time we make it we'll leave them out. The idea to make this into a pasta salad is great so we thank you for sharing it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shaliach August 05, 2011

I love this salad! I am a big fan of tomatoes so put in a little extra. I served the salad on a bed of lettuce, instead of mixing altogether, so everyone got the amount they wanted. I like a lot of lettuce and it was wonderful! My SO helped himself to seconds without taking more lettuce, and said it was also great that way. Clearly, this is a very good, versatile salad. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CorgiGirl July 06, 2011

Excellent pasta salad, even better for lunch the next day...made the full recipe for 4 people so we didn't finish it all. I used cherry tomatoes since they were ready in the garden and whole leaf spring mix salad, it gave it a really neat look with all of the greens and purple leaves. Highly recommended.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizzardb85 June 20, 2011

This is a wonderful spin on the ordinary, run of the mill, pasta salad!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntCoco September 11, 2010

Everyone LOVED this!! I got nervous after adding the lemon juice. I made the dressing a few hours in advance of serving - to chill, and didn't like the taste of it AT ALL. I thought I had made a big mistake - but it actually ended up mellowing out and you couldn't taste it. I used cheese tortellini for the pasta and actually chopped up a couple of avacodo's and threw in. Will hold on to this recipe and make many more times!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D's cooking July 19, 2010
BLT Pasta Salad