315 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A neat combo of flavors. Having made this a couple of times, first per the recipe, here are the things I would change: Add 1/2 the dressing, let the pasta salad chill, at serving time add lettuce, remainder of dressing and toss. Use 12 Oz. pasta, not 7. Use 1 more slice of bacon. Add 1 more tomato. Substitute chopped red onion for green onion and increase the amount.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mr. Capers August 01, 2009

This is a fabulous salad! I took it to a pool party, and there wasn't a sniff left. I was afraid the lettuce would wilt when mixed in, so I just layered it on top. I was also a little put off by the amount of Realemon, but I made it exactly as written, and it was wonderful! I'll be making this again on a regular basis. Great take-along dish.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papergoddess July 17, 2002

This is my husbands favorite summer salad. The only adaption that I made was substituting thinly sliced celery for the lettuce. I don't have to worry about the lettuce wilting and it holds up better in the fridge.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicdon May 28, 2005

Very good! My mom's catering business opens in 2 months and we have been trying out different items to possibly put on the cafe menu. We wanted something different than regular pasta salad and this may be the one! Also, after more than 24 hours of refrigeration, the lettuce still remains green and fresh. I followed this recipe exactly. Whether or not we decide to make this a regular on the menu; it will definitly be run as a special and will be made from time to time out of my OWN kitchen in the future. Thanks for a keeper!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook October 12, 2002

Yummy! Made this tonight for supper. Used a little more bacon than it called for (just shy of 1 lb.) and crushed 3 chicken boullion cubes (I didn't have any granulated boullion). Other than that, followed the recipe exactly. Great flavor. Next time I'll only use 2 boullion cubes; made it a little too salty. Oh, this is great w/fresh ground pepper on it!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Musical Joy September 09, 2002

This is delicious. I wondered about the lemon, but it was really good in it. You can taste the lemon, but it gives it a unique taste. I made it for a friend and she wanted the recipe too! Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 May 28, 2003

Great salad........tons of compliments, recipe requests & an empty bowl......what more could a person expect from a recipe. A big hit that we will be making often. THANKS!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anneliese8 April 05, 2003

Just made this for a July 4th picnic. Delicious! Was a little concerned about the combination of ingredients in the dressing, but wow they work well together. I added a little more bacon to the recipe and used a 12 oz box of pasta as one reviewer recommended. Since my family prefers Spinach, am substituting this for lettuce. I plan to add the spinach just before serving. Nice twist to turn a pasta salad into something a little more.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizzieNC July 04, 2012

This was an amazing salad! I made it exactly as the recipe said, except I used real lemon juice and abt a TBL of lemon zest. This actually made wayyy too much salad for just my husband and me, so on day TWO I minced a couple cloves of garlic, chopped a stalk of celery sauted them in a bit of butter and added it to the pasta. Then, on day THREE I deboned some grilled [leftover] chicken and tossed it into the salad with a handful of fresh lettuce and tomatoes. The salad is so good and easy to manipulate for what you have on hand. The lemon is sooo refreshing! Thanks for sharing your recipe, LAURA36 !

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueski April 26, 2012

This is a great recipe. I made it as written with no changes. My only comment is that I had to double the recipe. What should serve 16 only served 8. That was as a side dish with tons of other food available. It was a huge hit and there was not one drop left. Everyone had modest portions. I'll be making it again but I will double the recipe. Thanks for posting this one.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynmadhal June 20, 2011
BLT Pasta Salad