Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / BLT & P (Bacon, Leek, Tomato and Potato) Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    BLT & P (Bacon, Leek, Tomato and Potato) Soup

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 20, 2012

      Yum. I really enjoyed this soup and so did my kids; DH is not a fan of soups with too many veggies.. I added green onions and a bit of onion instead of leeks, omitted the bay leaf since I am not keen on the flavour and instead added a splash of beef broth and used fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Made for ZWT

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2013

      Like a Manhattan chowder without the clams. The bacon really makes it. I doubled the potatoes to make it heartier and had to sub basil for the parsley since it was no longer good. The basil went great with it - it was a really good soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      I was really pleasantly surprised by this soup! I had, for some reason, expected a thick soup, and ended up with a vegetable soup with a lot of stock. However, when I tasted it, it was perfect! I couldn't believe how tasty it was. I made this exactly as posted. It was quite a unique way to prepare the carrots and potatoes, but it all works together well. Bravo! Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      This is an awesome, filling soup. It has a great variety of vegetables in it and I love the bacon. Will make again. Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      Here's a great, new vegetable soup (well, pretty much vegetable, anyway!) for me to keep on hand! VERY, VERY TASTY! I served it with a hard-crust sourdough this time, but think it would be OUTSTANDING with a multigrain bread, too! Thanks for sharing! [Made & reviewed while touring Eastern Europe with Zaar's World Tour 4]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Wonderful and thick soup - inexpensive too which is always a bonus. I added a bit of diced pumpkin . Made for ZWT 4 .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Very good! I think for my family (I have a self-feeding toddler) I will cut the vegetables into more traditional cubes. We loved this! Also, I think this is more suitable for 8 servings than four. And, as I am often want to do, I added 1 t of dried thyme. Way YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      Great for those times when you're stretching the budget and using what's left in the pantry. I use homemade chicken broth and leave out the leeks if I don't have any. I add in some chopped onion with the other veggies to make up for it, and haven't had any problems. I think this was one of the first times I gave RR's recipes a try -- I can tell you my family and I are hooked! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      I made this last winter when I found some really good bacon and leeks on sale at the farmer's market. I used Kittencal's Best Chicken Stock/Broth (Crock Pot Option) for the chicken stock and I think that along with the really good quality bacon make this soup awesome. I make it just as written, using the homemade stock and organic vegetables, when I can find them. It is slightly smokey, rich and hearty for a great fall or winter's meal, along with some crusty bread... a MUST to sop up all the soup! I have a pot of chicken stock simmering now so I can make another batch! Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      I tried this last night. It was extremely easy and quite tasty! I did the recipe pretty much exactly as directed, except I used about 1 & 1/2 cups fresh tomato diced up small. To make things even quicker I used my new mandolin to slice up everything. Mine didn't turn out very pretty so I didn't take a picture, but since there isn't one of the recipe I can take one to post so there's something at least :-) My DB loved it so much he wanted to photograph it too, the picture with the magazine in the background is his. :-) I re-heated this for lunch the next day and I think it tasted even better on day 2. I have to up this review to 5 stars!! YuM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      I've made this a number of times...it is really tasty. My family loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for BLT & P (Bacon, Leek, Tomato and Potato) Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (870 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 422.8
     
    Calories from Fat 106
    25%
    Total Fat 11.8 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 22.5 mg
    7%
    Sodium 841.8 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.2 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 15.6 g
    62%
    Protein 18.9 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites