11 Reviews

Yum. I really enjoyed this soup and so did my kids; DH is not a fan of soups with too many veggies.. I added green onions and a bit of onion instead of leeks, omitted the bay leaf since I am not keen on the flavour and instead added a splash of beef broth and used fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Made for ZWT

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini August 20, 2012

Like a Manhattan chowder without the clams. The bacon really makes it. I doubled the potatoes to make it heartier and had to sub basil for the parsley since it was no longer good. The basil went great with it - it was a really good soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito April 13, 2013

I was really pleasantly surprised by this soup! I had, for some reason, expected a thick soup, and ended up with a vegetable soup with a lot of stock. However, when I tasted it, it was perfect! I couldn't believe how tasty it was. I made this exactly as posted. It was quite a unique way to prepare the carrots and potatoes, but it all works together well. Bravo! Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! June 20, 2010

This is an awesome, filling soup. It has a great variety of vegetables in it and I love the bacon. Will make again. Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 17, 2008

Here's a great, new vegetable soup (well, pretty much vegetable, anyway!) for me to keep on hand! VERY, VERY TASTY! I served it with a hard-crust sourdough this time, but think it would be OUTSTANDING with a multigrain bread, too! Thanks for sharing! [Made & reviewed while touring Eastern Europe with Zaar's World Tour 4]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 10, 2008

Wonderful and thick soup - inexpensive too which is always a bonus. I added a bit of diced pumpkin . Made for ZWT 4 .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew June 08, 2008

Very good! I think for my family (I have a self-feeding toddler) I will cut the vegetables into more traditional cubes. We loved this! Also, I think this is more suitable for 8 servings than four. And, as I am often want to do, I added 1 t of dried thyme. Way YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JacquelineS February 12, 2008

Great for those times when you're stretching the budget and using what's left in the pantry. I use homemade chicken broth and leave out the leeks if I don't have any. I add in some chopped onion with the other veggies to make up for it, and haven't had any problems. I think this was one of the first times I gave RR's recipes a try -- I can tell you my family and I are hooked! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unmistakable1 January 10, 2008

I made this last winter when I found some really good bacon and leeks on sale at the farmer's market. I used Kittencal's Best Chicken Stock/Broth (Crock Pot Option) for the chicken stock and I think that along with the really good quality bacon make this soup awesome. I make it just as written, using the homemade stock and organic vegetables, when I can find them. It is slightly smokey, rich and hearty for a great fall or winter's meal, along with some crusty bread... a MUST to sop up all the soup! I have a pot of chicken stock simmering now so I can make another batch! Thanks for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atlfitgirl October 06, 2007

I tried this last night. It was extremely easy and quite tasty! I did the recipe pretty much exactly as directed, except I used about 1 & 1/2 cups fresh tomato diced up small. To make things even quicker I used my new mandolin to slice up everything. Mine didn't turn out very pretty so I didn't take a picture, but since there isn't one of the recipe I can take one to post so there's something at least :-) My DB loved it so much he wanted to photograph it too, the picture with the magazine in the background is his. :-) I re-heated this for lunch the next day and I think it tasted even better on day 2. I have to up this review to 5 stars!! YuM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teddy's Mommy October 04, 2007
BLT & P (Bacon, Leek, Tomato and Potato) Soup