Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / BLT Nibbles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    BLT Nibbles

    Average Rating:

    72 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 72

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2002

      I couldn't find cherry tomatoes this time of year, so I used sweet grape tomatoes. They are smaller, but still held the filling. As I was making these, DH was grabbing them as fast as I could make them. These are definately a hit! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2002

      Kelly, well you did it, these were a hit at the party! I will admit however, they are time consuming to make, it would have been great if I'd had some extra hands around the house to do this with me. Be sure the cherry tomatoes are not smooshy at all as that does make them difficult but all in all these were great and a good "conversation piece" as well :}

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2002

      Yum! I decided to cut the recipe to 1/3, using 16 cherry tomatoes, and try this recipe out on my family. My boyfriend absolutely loved them, he couldn't keep his hands off the plate after he tried one! They were gone pretty quick, even without a large crowd. Maybe next time I'll make them for a barbeque or party, but I'd be careful about leaving them out long -- nothing worse than guests getting sick off spoiled mayonnaise :( Thanks for the recipe, I never would've thought this up on my own. I'll definitely be using this one again in the future! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2002

      Just excellent! A little bit of time and trouble to make but worth it! I actually made these a day ahead for a lunch buffet and they turned out perfect. Went really fast - had alot of request for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      I spent almost 2 hours slicing and scooping the inside of the cherry tomatoes only to find out that it truly is a mess to fill. It's an appetizer that requires diligence. I gave up trying to fill the tomatoes and served the mixture as a dip with veggies. The dip itself is phenomenal. I commend those who have the patience to fill the tomatoes, I just know I can't do it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      I have made these twice now. They are easy to make, I used pepper jack cheese instead of parm. gave it a little kick and creamy texture. Thanks for sharing this super recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      KeeWee, you've done it now! I had a few cherry tomatoes and mixed up just a little bit of this the first time. Why? I have had a stroke and lost the use of my left hand and didn't know if I could do it or not and didn't want to get frustrated. They were so good I have made them twice (full recipe +) since then. It seems to take me forever but you are a part of my therapy. THEY ARE WONDERFUL! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      Update: This recipe continues to be one of my favorites. I make it quite often, and it's always a hit. In warm weather I put the tomatoes on a bed of parsley mixed with crushed ice keep the mayo fresh. To save time I put the filling in a pastry bag and that makes quick work of stuffing the tomatoes. Oct 1, 2002: Oh so good. I made these for an italian dinner party. I needed something to keep them upright, so I used the leftover parsley(see photo). I made 24 and had just a little bit of filling left over which I'll use on hamburgers for lunch tomorrow. After cooking the bacon I put in the freezer then chopped it up in the food processor. I like this recipe because you don't need any bread/chips/etc. Thanks very much for a special appetizer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2002

      I just registered with this site, and was surfing the 5-star recipes. If this is a lot of trouble, how about using a pastry bag and a large round tip to fill the cherry tomatoes? That should speed things up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      I used whole tomatoes and they were easy to scoop & fill. I then cut them inro quarters & they were the hit of our family picnic. Takes a little patience, but works just as well, I think.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      These were time consuming because I didn't pulse my bacon long enough and it wouldn't go through the bag well and I used small grape tomatoes. Then I went and got cherry tomatoes and that went a little faster. It's one of those things that the more you make the easier it goes. Anyway even though they were a pain everyone just loved them. I will be putting them on ice tomorrow as I have an outdoor party to go to. I'm sure the people will like them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      My daughters and I made these for a party of the fourth. Everyone raved about them. We recently moved to rural America, and as such had to purchase our ingredients at a Walmart about 30 minutes away. They only had grape-sized tomatoes, and they were nearly impossible to stuff, but the flavor was awesome. My teen daughter was assigned to stuff them, and I thought I'd get major complaints. I asked if they were worth the effort to stuff and she replied "YES!". So, there you go, even when tedious and a pain to stuff, they are SO worth it. YUM! I was tempted to try using Miracle Whip, because that's what we like on our BLT sandwiches, but the mayo was tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      I took this to our annual family reunion and it was a HUGE hit! Everyone loved them and commented on them. We layed them on a tray lined with lettuce and topped with sprigs of parsley and they looked so fancy! I will make this dish again, cuz I loved the praise and attention it gave me....lol. Thank you so much for sharing this delicious appy recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      Huge hit at our Memorial Day festivities! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      OMG! I made these for a poker night I did at my house, and 2 days later we had a BBQ at a friend's house and she requested I bring them. Looks like I've got yet another frequently requested recipe! I've found that I had a problem with the melon baller (it was a little big), so I used a 1/4 TSP measuring spoon and it worked great, especially on the smaller tomatoes. Also the second time I made these I put the cooked bacon in my food processor and it went through the pastry bag MUCH easier. But I also don't put a tip on my pastry bag, less to clean and easier to fill the tomatoes. I'll be making these frequently! Thanks for the great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Not a darn thing bad about these! I added some cumin to complement the bacon and it was really nice. I filled the tomatoes with a sandwhich bag with the corner snipped off, it took no time at all. I will be making many versions of these. Next time I'll choose larger fruit though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      These are the perfect little appetizer for any get together. I suggest cutting the bottom off of the tomato. The tomato will not roll around if they are upside down. I will try them with the cream cheese next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      I've been making these for years. A small baby spoon works perfect for scooping out insides and filling with mixture. Have tried with miracle whip, but is much better with mayo.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      Took these to a pot-luck at work...they loved them! I used a small melon baller to remove the insides of the cherry tomatoes, and used the food processor for the filling. Very tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      I made these for our Memorial Day BBQ. They were a huge hit! I couldn't find nice, ripe cherry tomatoes, so I used Romas that I cut in half. I stuffed both halves with the filling and put them on the platter. These little tomatoes were the first thing gone! Everyone commented on them and several people asked for the recipe. I even got a call the next day from a friend asking for the recipe because her 6 year old son had been begging her to make them. What a great recipe--Thank you for sharing it!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for BLT Nibbles

    Serving Size: 1 (1514 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 62.3
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    80%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 110.6 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes