14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What could be better than a warm sandwich when you decide not to make dinner... (hubby is in the 'dog house' tonight). Thanks for the reminder of a classic sandwiich. I've been making them this way all of my lifetime (but I skip the tomatoes). Just ate one after reading your post. YUM! Thanks a lot, hun. :) Oops... I forgot to say that I do break the yolk while frying (personal preference), and I use "sour-dough" bread, and "white farm house cheddar" cheese. This is the perfect "some-what" grilled cheese sandwich +PLUS! (I still prefer the pan with butter method, but this is a lot quicker). Thank you for reminding me that "simple" is sometimes better! I will make this variation again :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 December 08, 2013

I made this ever-so-easy to make & yummy sammie for a family brunch Sat using whole wheat sandwich bread & very thinly sliced smoked gouda cheese. My DH likes having brunch as it normally includes a dessert, so I combined it w/Lemon Cream Scones by Bayhill + some fresh fruit. My BIL made the prize rating comment when he said ~ On a scale of 1-10, I give this a 9.5 ... only because I felt I needed to leave room for you to improve on it, but I am not sure that is possible. Thx for sharing this classic recipe combo w/us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis October 28, 2013

Good sammie! I like my yolks runny, and like breezermom it made it a challenge to eat it. lol. But it was worth it - messy sandwiches are always the best! This was simple and I used a maple-flavored bacon that really put it over the top. Thanks MsPia for sharing. Made for Cooking Tag Mania.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme October 08, 2013

In a skillet, cook the bacon over medium heat until crisp. Transfer to paper towels to drain. Set the Monterey Jack slices on 1 piece bread, and toast both slices of bread under the broiler until lightly browned and bubbly. Spread the slice of bread without cheese with mayonnaise, and then top with bacon, then lettuce, then tomato. Melt butter in a small nonstick pan. Add the egg and fry over moderate heat, turning once, until crisp around the edge, about 4 minutes; the yolk should still be runny. Slide the egg onto the lettuce; close the sandwich and eat immediately. What a hearty, good breakfast, Can't wait to make this for lunch today with a onion on top too, I did use sour dough bread and cover with laughing cow after toasting. I love BLT's bacon, lettuce and tomato; fried egg; and grilled cheese. sandwich, a winner all around!! We can play with this all day !! Thank You Pia !! .... PRMR 2013....Grpa

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF GRPA December 08, 2013

MsPia, you have so many wonderful recipes but this one just didn't work for us. We love bacon/egg/cheese sandwiches, and BLT's,... but this combo recipe was just okay for us, and felt it's better to have one or the other. We do recommend others to trying it, 8 reviewers loved it prior to our review. Thanks for the opportunity to try it though, and thanks for posting. Made for PRMR

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu July 26, 2012

I have to admit....I still prefer a BLT! But that being said, I tried to keep an open mind and really enjoy this sandwich. My problem was I wanted to leave the yolk runny, and when I took a bite that involved the yolk....well....it shot out all over my face! :lol: The taste was delicious, but the "eating of this sandwich" was a challenge, at least for me! I'll still leave 5 stars, as the taste is yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 12, 2012

I made this for lunch today. I used a Colby-Jack cheese. Very good, lunch was done in no time at all. Made for I Recommend game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 February 02, 2012

This made for a super filling breakfast this morning which I thoroughly enjoy, I quite often make BELTS for breakfast or lunch but this is the first time I have used cheese as well and I thoroughly enjoyed, I used slices of sharp vintage cheddar and wholemeal/wholegrain toasted bread. Thank you MsPia, and to Marra Mamba for recommending, made for I Recommend Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat January 30, 2012

Outstanding and outrageously good! I had some nice Italian multi-grain bread, which worked out great. The simplicity of this recipe is deceiving, because the complexity of the flavors is incredible. The jack cheese with the bacon with the mayo with the egg with the tomato...you get the idea. I can't wait to try this with next summer's crop of juicy tomatoes! In the meantime, I'll be enjoying with hothouse tomatoes. Made for I Recommend Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! January 24, 2012
BLT Fried Egg-And-Cheese Sandwich