Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / BLT Bites Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    BLT Bites

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2003

      I made these at New Year and should have tripled it, the vanished so quickly. I will make these often all through the year, I know.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2011

      All about making it easy - just a couple tips - for those having trouble "stuffing the tomatoes" - put the filling inside a small plastic bag, snip the end of the bag and squeeze the filling into tomatoes - like a pastry bag.
      Don't have time or don't feel like cooking the bacon - use the Oscar Meyer bacon pieces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2011

      I brought this to a potluck and everyone loved it! I put the stuffing into a ziploc bag, cut off the corner and used that to fill the tomatoes - worked like a charm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      These were AWESOME. I tripled the recipe to take to my nephews graduation party. I'm glad I made so many!! There weren't any left to take home. It took quite a while to get them all made but it was worth it. I baked my bacon in the oven which made everything easier. I baked it on a rack on a cookie sheet lined with aluminum foil. That way all the grease falls through the rack and collected all on the aluminum foil for easy clean up. I really really loved these and think that sometime I might just mix up the filling and spread it on toast and top with with tomato slices...*yum*. Thanks so much for posting, this is definitely going in the keeper file!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      I just made these for Thanksgiving and they came out wonderful!! I read some of the reviews and noticed that a lot of people had trouble stuffing the cherry tomatoes, so I bought Roma tomatoes instead..I sliced them in half so it was easier to stuff them...much much easier! I added a bit of the pulp so I didn't have to add too much mayo. they came out very very delish! Well make again for sure! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2010

      This is amazing :) ..the filling at least, since I accidentally bought grape tomatoes and they were impossible to stuff with the tools I had. The filling was SO GOOD I decided to add the whole grape tomatoes to the filling and 1 extra Tbsp. mayo and 1 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil. It was a delicious chilled salad! (for BLT lovers as the bacon taste was very strong but delish) Thank you Guava Girl for the idea and I can't wait to actually use it as intended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2013

      Great recipe. Similar to one I have (only better!). Only thing I changed was using pre-packaged Oscar Meyer bacon bits (not bacos) and shredded three cheese Italian blend (just personal preference). These were really, really good. Used my pastry bag made it simple. Just a tip for those who had trouble hollowing out the tomatoes, I used my strawberry huller, it's a little gadget I got in the houseware dept. of my local hardware store years ago ($1.99). It's about the size of a quarter tsp but with serrated edges, works great. Will make these again & again, Thank you Guava Girl! -- Nina

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      We liked it. I made it the night before and tried it. We loved it. We tried one right out of the fridge today and we loved it. It sat out until room temperature; we liked it. Thanks for the easy recipe. One tip: I have a serrated grapefruit spoon and it works great to hollow out the tomatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      These adorable little bites were a big hit! Made as directed with the exception of halving the parsley. I did make the filling the night before as suggested. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      These are incredibly tasty! I make these for guests following the recipe exactly, but when I make it around the house for a snack, I use turkey bacon instead of pork bacon and use 1/4 cup of sour cream and 1/4 cup of mayonnaise. It does change the flavour slightly, but it reduces the fat content.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      I doubled this recipe and brought it to a co-worker's going away party. Really great, and lots of people asked for the recipe. Very time consuming, but worth it. One trick: since this uses a pound of bacon, I baked it in a jellyroll pan at 400 degrees, turning often. Saves a lot of mess on the stove. Next time I will look for even bigger cherry tomatoes (I used far more than 60 tomatoes for the double batch and still had leftover bacon mixture), and I think I'll follow another reviewer's advice and simply slice them in half.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      Found these awhile ago, but just got around to making them. Are they wonderful!!! Will definately make again and everybody wanted the recipe. I didn't see the melon baller hint for scooping. I'm sure that's easier and will try that next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2003

      These are delicious! Just made a batch to take to a friends pool party, they might not make it as you can't eat just one. Will use this recipe often. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2003

      I had such a hard time finding cherry tomatos I went to 3 grocery stores! Guess that is something to add to my garden next year. Anyway I served these for a party and they were gone in a an instant. I actually only tasted one. I thought they were really good and I used shredded cheddar in the recipe. Also I added a tiny bit of kosher salt to the tomatos to keep them firm before adding the stuffing. I made the mixture the night before and stuffed a couple of hours before the party. I thought this was an easy to make recipe. I did serve them in the summer so I do think that would make a difference in the quality of this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2013

      These are so yummy! Tastes just like a BLT. Great party food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      ok forgot to review..made these for thanksgiving....they were probably the best app I have ever had...I got a ton of compliments and they were gone before all other appetizers on the buffet...thanks for posting this....gonna be a keeper for sure

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      These are fantastic! The only changes I made is I didn't use the parsley, I forgot, and I added just a spoonful of mirical whip. My cherry tomatoes must have been small because the bacon mixture was enough for 42 tomatoes with some filling left over. Even my mom who dosn't like tomatoes loved this. Thanks so much for posting!

      Oh and I found that the metal handle of an infant's spoon was the perfect size for scooping out the tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2012

      These bites did not go over very well for me and my family. They tasted to much like mayo and not like the BLT I had bragged about. I followed the recipe as written but feel maybe cream cheese would have been better than mayo. They looked great because I used really good tomatoes, hollowed them out and turned them over to drain then mixed the filling and let set in the refridgerator to meld. I stuffed them and returned to chill. Everyone couldn't wait to try but after one bite they didn't go back and the remaining tomatoes were thrown away. Thanks anyway!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      Love this recipe!! I made these for a bridal shower this past weekend and they were a huge hit! I will definietly be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for BLT Bites

    Serving Size: 1 (1036 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 111.9
     
    Calories from Fat 93
    83%
    Total Fat 10.3 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 14.6 mg
    4%
    Sodium 203.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites