63 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these at New Year and should have tripled it, the vanished so quickly. I will make these often all through the year, I know.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nelly February 24, 2003

All about making it easy - just a couple tips - for those having trouble "stuffing the tomatoes" - put the filling inside a small plastic bag, snip the end of the bag and squeeze the filling into tomatoes - like a pastry bag.
Don't have time or don't feel like cooking the bacon - use the Oscar Meyer bacon pieces.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckyt_7826925 July 03, 2011

These were AWESOME. I tripled the recipe to take to my nephews graduation party. I'm glad I made so many!! There weren't any left to take home. It took quite a while to get them all made but it was worth it. I baked my bacon in the oven which made everything easier. I baked it on a rack on a cookie sheet lined with aluminum foil. That way all the grease falls through the rack and collected all on the aluminum foil for easy clean up. I really really loved these and think that sometime I might just mix up the filling and spread it on toast and top with with tomato slices...*yum*. Thanks so much for posting, this is definitely going in the keeper file!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo June 27, 2010

I brought this to a potluck and everyone loved it! I put the stuffing into a ziploc bag, cut off the corner and used that to fill the tomatoes - worked like a charm.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brigs03 December 16, 2011

I just made these for Thanksgiving and they came out wonderful!! I read some of the reviews and noticed that a lot of people had trouble stuffing the cherry tomatoes, so I bought Roma tomatoes instead..I sliced them in half so it was easier to stuff them...much much easier! I added a bit of the pulp so I didn't have to add too much mayo. they came out very very delish! Well make again for sure! Thanks.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marbars November 27, 2010

This is amazing :) ..the filling at least, since I accidentally bought grape tomatoes and they were impossible to stuff with the tools I had. The filling was SO GOOD I decided to add the whole grape tomatoes to the filling and 1 extra Tbsp. mayo and 1 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil. It was a delicious chilled salad! (for BLT lovers as the bacon taste was very strong but delish) Thank you Guava Girl for the idea and I can't wait to actually use it as intended.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ittybittyoptimist August 15, 2010

Great recipe. Similar to one I have (only better!). Only thing I changed was using pre-packaged Oscar Meyer bacon bits (not bacos) and shredded three cheese Italian blend (just personal preference). These were really, really good. Used my pastry bag made it simple. Just a tip for those who had trouble hollowing out the tomatoes, I used my strawberry huller, it's a little gadget I got in the houseware dept. of my local hardware store years ago ($1.99). It's about the size of a quarter tsp but with serrated edges, works great. Will make these again & again, Thank you Guava Girl! -- Nina

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nina22541 November 20, 2013

We liked it. I made it the night before and tried it. We loved it. We tried one right out of the fridge today and we loved it. It sat out until room temperature; we liked it. Thanks for the easy recipe. One tip: I have a serrated grapefruit spoon and it works great to hollow out the tomatoes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
My Sweetie's Sweetheart February 06, 2011

These adorable little bites were a big hit! Made as directed with the exception of halving the parsley. I did make the filling the night before as suggested. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bethel February 08, 2010

These are incredibly tasty! I make these for guests following the recipe exactly, but when I make it around the house for a snack, I use turkey bacon instead of pork bacon and use 1/4 cup of sour cream and 1/4 cup of mayonnaise. It does change the flavour slightly, but it reduces the fat content.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gluten Free Berry's November 29, 2009
BLT Bites