35 Reviews

I mixed all the ingredients together (except vodka, lemon, and juice) plus I added a little dijon, olive juice, and a fresh minced garlic. Then let it sit in the fridge overnight.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sabatini99 November 23, 2013

Has anyone tried adding about 1 tbs of A1 Steak sauce to your bloody marys? it makes it so GOOD!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristyS September 10, 2007

In the age old debate of mimosa vs. bloody mary, I'd have to say that I cannot and will not pick one. Because what difference does it make? They're both awesome, they're both classics, and they both are typically consumed in the morning. I'm about that life. But, this recipe is awesome, and I like some of the suggestions that other users have added.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hoosier_Steve November 21, 2013

Added a bit of "bacon syrup" (new find this yr at World Market) and bacon salt for the rim. Served up with colossal Spanish olives and marinated asparagus.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe June 30, 2012

My DH uncharacteristically requested a bloody mary tonight so I quick looked it up on 'zaar and settled on this recipe cause it includes horseradish, which he loves. Well, he loved the drink I made him, even though I was completely out of horseradish! I love all the lemon juice. Can't wait to make it again -- with the horseradish. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina Farina May 22, 2010

Such a perfect bloody mary!!! Everyone at the brunch we brought these to LOVED them!!! Although I agree with the other posts that the horseradish is the key ingredient, I loved the amount of lemon juice in these- so fresh and tart. Perfect bit of acidity to go along with the spice!!!! FABULOUS drink!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyfrolly January 10, 2009

My DH made this and a few other drinks at a BBQ get together over weekend, I can see why there are so many wonderful reviews on this recipe, I have tryed a couple other recipes from this site, this one stands right up on top along with the a handful of others I have tryed in the past, thanks for this great recipe Riff!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz April 13, 2008

This was an excellent Bloody Mary recipe! Made this for the two of us on Xmas day 2007. I don't usually make Bloody Marys with as much lemon juice as this recipe calls for, but I love the fresh and tangy taste this way! In my opinion though, horseradish should NEVER be optional in any self-respecting Bloody Mary:). I used horseradish, but was a bit short so I added more horseradish taste by adding the juice. I served with celery sticks, and omitted the margarita salt as I didn't have any. I will definitely be making my Bloody Marys with more lemon juice in the future. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend December 26, 2007

hi riffraff, took the ingredients and a big bottle of vodka to my friends' house and everyone there liked your recipe except, (here it comes):( I used V8, extra tabasco & used limes and of course the horseradish. It was really great w/out the vodka and all the other guests said it was even greater with vodka. :) We are planning on having a Brunch soon and this will be the star attraction! Thanks for sharing, Diane :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manami December 23, 2007

Used limes since I had them and will have a tree full of ripe bearss limes in a month or two. Used ground sumac on the glass, low sodium V8, Gringo Bandito Hot Sauce, and assorted pickled vegetables for a nice snack. Could not find pickled green beans like the Field House uses. Pickled asparagus, okra, and Greek peppers were a nice addition to the drink. Wasabi nice substitute for the horseradish. The okra was crunchy and a new must have for the drink.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bbqwalt August 30, 2015
Bloody Mary