22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was a little disapointed after all the other reviews, while not awful it wasn't what I was expecting. They were very very rich and not something I could eat alot of. They were a little bit on the greasy side, maybe if I make them again I will bake them a bit longer. The edges were definitely the best part. Thanks for the recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raspberri_Skies October 28, 2007

Mmm-mm-mmm... deliciously toffee-y and fudge-y bars! Sprinkled some chopped nuts on top of the batter instead of stirring them in. Baked in a 9" square pan for some 23 minutes - worked fine! (Although I think 8" really would be better - the gorgeous texture probably works even better in decadently thick pieces ;-)) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee October 15, 2007

Amazingly delicious!!!Soo chewy and gooey, these were the best blondies i have EVER had. Instead of nuts which i am not really fond of i added semi-sweet choc chips to my blondies. Also it took me a much longer time to bake them as i used an 8inch round pan not a square one. It was absolutely great and will definately be a keeper for me. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Niki Z August 07, 2007

So one night my best friend and I were sitting around and we looked at each other and said "I want brownies!" So we wandered into the kitchen to make our favorite brownies (Chewy Cocoa Brownies). Alas, we had no white sugar. "But wait!" I said- "Let's find a recipe for blondies on recipezaar. I think those use brown sugar." So we made this recipe. Talk about yummy. We were up til past midnight waiting for these to bake, and boy are they good. Next time we are going to try adding chocolate or pb chips. These will also be great for the non chocolate lovers in the family. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leighmcl June 15, 2007

Excellent! Not anything at all like the blondie recipes I've used in the past, much much better. I used about 1/3 cup of pecans because that was all I had, but next time I believe I will up it to 1 cup. Truly a good recipe that I will be coming back to.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pies & cakes & cookies ohmy! June 05, 2007

These are amazing blondies! I just love the dark brown sugar flavor. I would choose these over chocolate brownies every time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather'sKitchen April 30, 2007

WOW! These were fantastic. Exactly like brownies in texture, but with a caramel flavor instead of chocolate. They even had that lovely crinkly top like brownies! I followed the recipe exactly, except I added 1/3 cup of toasted chopped almonds and 1/3 cup of sweetened flaked coconut which I chopped a bit to make it less stringy. I did have a little trouble determining when the brown sugar/butter mixture was done cooking - it never did seem to melt properly - but I cooked it for several minutes and it must have worked because the finished product was exactly as I'd hoped it would be - chewy and delicious! As another reviewer mentioned, I also cut them small, because they are almost candy-like, they're so rich and sweet. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe, kiwidutch! Update: I've now made these three times and can still say it's one of the best bar recipes I've ever eaten. I tried adding dried cherries as well as almonds and coconut (1/3 cup each) and I can highly recommend it. You can also add 1/2 tsp. almond extract but I would leave in the full amount of vanilla for richness. Terrific!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissyN February 09, 2007

OHHH This is just Satanic in nature!!! This was pure evil, darn if it wasn't gooood!!!! I made this and then made it again for Frank. I was extremely happy with this recipe, but you don't want to make it if you want to loose weight, since you won't!!!!! KUDOS to Kiwi!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Creation in Hope January 16, 2007

OMG, these are remarkably good. I've tried other blondies and they were sort of similar to a chocolate chip cookie with or without chips. these are rich, rich dark caramel/praline like bars that have a genuine decadent brownie like texture and character. Loved that they were soft and tender and a smidge gooey but not at all sticky. Since they are rather rich, I cut them into 20 pieces. Baked these to bring into the office and doing everything in my power not to nibble at them. Figure if I can roam the site for the next hour then fall asleep, they just might survive the night. Thanks kiwidutch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni September 21, 2006

Easy to make, super yummy, they were all gone from the plate before I knew it. I made them for a kids party, so I added m&ms instead of pecans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elke's Mom March 26, 2006
Blondies