14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I do believe this is the best cauliflower soup I have ever made. I was concerned with the thickening mixture at first but after adding the milk which is not mentioned in directions, I finally ended up with a pourable mix. I also added velveeta cheese. Will definitely make this soup again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay February 27, 2004

Very Good! Simple flavors so well balanced - sweet cauliflower accented with nutmeg, cooked in chicken broth and enriched with cream. I especially liked the chunks of cauliflower and the not overly thickened soup. I made the soup as directed using cream (note -step is missing from directions). This goes into my book of treasures.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac July 28, 2003

Wonderful soup. Perfect texture/thickness. It seems like a lot of nutmeg, but it's not overpowering at all. I did add some finely chopped onion and some mild cheddar cheese. I garnished w/ chopped scallions. Delicious. I'll make this again. Thanx for sharing this, PanNan!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* March 05, 2006

Very good. I used purple cauliflower. Followed the directions and used cheese for a real creamy rich texture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ October 23, 2005

good stuff i add grated parmesan and spring onion i add chives as a final garnish love it mate!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephen Dunne April 19, 2004

I added about 4 oz. of cream cheese, and it was amazing! Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nsomniak6 March 02, 2014

This soup had a very good flavor. I was suprised by the nutmeg, but our whole family found it very plesant. We also enjoyed trying to pronounce it's name as we ate. :) In the future I will use my handheld blender to puree half the soup to add some thickness. I would also reccomend cutting the florets on the small side, which I did not do very well. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Homeschool.Mama November 23, 2011

This will turn out real nice if you use more herbs and add some potatoes. I make it with cauliflower and potato LEFTOVERS from the day before, vey budget friendly and you will not hear the kids say "not THAT again!" :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Nourshe September 24, 2008

*Reviewed for ZWT4* I loved this soup. I used freshly ground nutmeg, homemade chicken stock and freshly ground pepper. I think the trick to the flavour is in the quality of the stock used. I used gluten-free flour and lactose free low-fat milk. Turned out beautifully. Added some more ground nutmeg and pepper as garnish. Photo also being posted

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** June 02, 2008

I felt that there was too much flour in it. There was something missing like herbs (thyme would have been great). With the leftover, I'll try to puree it tomorrow. It will add more flavour maybe. Thanks PanNan. Made for ZWT4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 31, 2008
Bloemkoolsoep (Dutch Cauliflower Soup)