Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blockbuster Vegetarian Crock Pot Black Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blockbuster Vegetarian Crock Pot Black Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2003

      As with one of the previous reviewers, my beans were still hard at the end of the projected cooking time, but I thought it was because of my failure to correctly read the recipe. I did not cook the first three hours on high but instead on low. Therefore, I cooked longer until the beans were soft. By that time, the soup was thick enough that I did not have to puree half of it. In addition, I did not have lentils, so I increased the amount of rice (brown) by 1/4 cup. Both my husband and I thought the soup delicious. And as we did not use the suggested sour cream as a topper, it is great nutritionally. It freezes well also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2003

      My beans were hard and undercooked even though I followed the directions as written, except I only used 1 tsp salt and eliminated both the carrot and oregano because I was out of both ingredients. For better results, I probably should have soaked the beans overnight instead of using the method suggested in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2003

      this does make a hearty soup. i halved the recipe and used a 3 qt crockpot. very easy to prepare with big bold flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      Great black bean soup recipe! I did use chipotle peppers instead of jalapeno's. Also used canned black beans instead of dry because I was running short on time :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      My husband and I liked this soup (although I think it qualifies more as chili). I made it as directed, except I, too, reduced the salt to 1 tsp. I think it needed a bit more salt--next time I make it, I'll do 2 tsps of salt. Also, next time I think I'll omit adding the rice to the soup, and just make rice in my rice cooker and layer rice, then soup, in my bowls. I did soak my beans overnight.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      Took this to a potluck and everyone loved it! It's a very flexible recipe. Instead of jalapenos, I added 3 Serrano chiles and 1 chipotle chile. Next time I will soak the beans overnight. I also added about 2 additional cups of water as the soup got very thick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2010

      This soup was so good. I was asked to make a vegetarian chili for a fundraiser lunch at work. I made it and took it in before the contest, just to make sure it would be good. We had a long discussion about what constitutes a "chili", but after we shushed the meat lovers, we decided that this would count! Everyone seemed to like it! I forgot the lentils and rice--and that was the only negative comment that I had--it was not very thick...so when I make it this week, I'll fix that with the lentils and rice! Amendment: I did make it for the fundraiser and I used the lentils and rice that it called for...it was perfect! Thick and hearty!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      This soup was delicious and so healthy! I had no problem doing the quick soak method. I used 2 chipotles in adobo instead of the jalapeno only because that's what I had on hand. I halved the salt and added a cob of fresh corn. I also used some leftover rice that I had on hand. I will make this again, thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      This was delicious. I really enjoyed all of the flavors. We topped it with some spicy cilantro dip, sharp cheddar cheese, and chopped fresh red onion and cilantro. Served some tortilla chips on the side and it was great! Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      I make this soup every couple of weeks and freeze it in individual portion sizes for a nutritious lunch. It is fabulous! My brown rice never cooks on low heat so I add it during the last hour that the beans are cooking on high heat. I also find that 1 teaspoon of salt is plenty and keeps the sodium level more reasonable.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      This is an awesome black bean soup recipe! I have made it 3 times now, although last time I forgot to add the rice. (Not nearly as good without rice). I love how spicy it is, but it does not taste too salty. This is one of the few recipes where I don't need to change a thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      Loved it! Came out better than expected, and with very few modifications (I usually change up recipes pretty drastically). I only added a little vegetable broth to the beans after they had been in the crockpot for a few hours, and I used a whole tomato instead of canned, nixed the jalepeno, and added a little cauliflower.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      I am afraid I cannot give this stars because I mess it up. I did not soak the beans, then I tried to do it with the boil and it was a fiasco. I ended up cooking it on the stove top. The flavors were very good and I will try it again but soaking the beans first. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      I made this soup (my very first in a crock pot) and it came out wonderfully. I followed the recipe with the exception of the lentils, jalapeno peppers, and dried oregano, because I didn't have these items on hand. Instead of a carrot, I used a sweet potato. I put all of the ingredients in the crock pot, set it on low, went to work and came home from work with a tasty dinner waiting for me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      I have been making soup once a week and this soup was a blockbuster. Wow. My family loved it. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      This worked out well. I love using dried beans, (when I plan in advance of course!). I pretty much followed the recipe but excluded the bell and jalepeno peppers. Also didn't add the rice because the crock pot was already overflowing. I used my immersion blender to blend it up a bit. My husband is a major meat eater, and I don't eat any...so served this with some chorizo on the side for him. It's rare for my husband to comment on a vegetarian dish without me asking, but with this one, he did. Nutritious and easy - thanks for posting! (Forgot to mention, I used a bouillon cube and probably 1 tsp of salt....next time I'd probably cook the beans in broth)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      I can't really give this any stars as yet. I don't know if my cooking was wrong or the amount of ingredients I used. My beans were hard and my brown rice was not cooked. I thought I followed the directions, but will have to fix again and use some of the hints from other posters. The juice of the soup was great! I hope I can come back and give 5 stars. Thnx, Sharon, for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      I omitted the peppers because I didn't have any. I used brown rice. This was very tasty and flavourful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Excellent, easy soup. We both loved it! I wanted a bit of tang, so I added some capers at the puree step. I also didn't have any jalapeños, so I added hot sauce & replaced the red wine vinegar with a good dose of red wine. I gave it 5 stars for being versatile, super easy & delicious. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      I love this soup because it is very low in fat yet very rich and robust in flavor. I have not had the issue of the beans not completely cooking, but I did follow the directions to the letter. I used one Jalepeno and found that it still had plenty of spice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blockbuster Vegetarian Crock Pot Black Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (350 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.4
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    98%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 745.3 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 10.1 g
    40%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 12.5 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes