18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Five stars and two thumbs up; I love this recipe for grilling white fish and chicken. Thank you so much for sharing. Even kid-friendly too, the grandkids love it on chicken, since I switched the paprika amount for the cayenne amount :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon Anne August 19, 2010

This is the perfect Blackening Spice. It has flavor as well as heat. I won't buy the bottled spice any more. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Corn Maiden June 05, 2010

Wonderful! I decreased the cayenne to 1/2t and coated my chicken and made penne pasta tossed with 2 large cloves of garlic, a little cream, and parmesan cheese. Then I added asparagus or what ever vegetables you have on hand like bell pepper or broccoli, then added chicken. Very good stuff. Turned out better than Chili's Blackened Chicken.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hkissling June 29, 2008

I would have to say, "it is over the top with heat". As you can notice the high percentage of comments have lessened the 2 tsp. of cayenne, dramatically. I was glad my fish was pretty thick to help absorb the heat a little.
And: I do eat with moderate amounts of different pepper flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yargr June 02, 2012

I have searched for 16 years for a blackening spice that comes close to being as good as one I used to eat regularly at a favorite restaurant. THIS is it. Super flavorful & the right amount of heat. I will be using this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mablackbear September 22, 2010

Perfect! For a more kid friendly version I reverse the amounts of cayenne and paprika. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy August 18, 2009

I use this for all different kinds of fish as well as chicken and pork. It's better than anything that you can buy in the grocery store!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobotash April 14, 2009

This is a great blackening season. I didn't have paprika or thyme so I left that out and used 2 teaspoons of black pepper instead of white pepper. I also reduced the amount of Cayenne to 1/2 teaspoon. Came out perfect! Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
munley.erin May 08, 2008

Wonderful seasoning mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea February 03, 2008

this answered my question. thank you very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmontague January 21, 2008
Blackening Spice Mix