Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blackening Spice Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blackening Spice Mix

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on August 19, 2010

      Five stars and two thumbs up; I love this recipe for grilling white fish and chicken. Thank you so much for sharing. Even kid-friendly too, the grandkids love it on chicken, since I switched the paprika amount for the cayenne amount :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      This is the perfect Blackening Spice. It has flavor as well as heat. I won't buy the bottled spice any more. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Wonderful! I decreased the cayenne to 1/2t and coated my chicken and made penne pasta tossed with 2 large cloves of garlic, a little cream, and parmesan cheese. Then I added asparagus or what ever vegetables you have on hand like bell pepper or broccoli, then added chicken. Very good stuff. Turned out better than Chili's Blackened Chicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2012

      I would have to say, "it is over the top with heat". As you can notice the high percentage of comments have lessened the 2 tsp. of cayenne, dramatically. I was glad my fish was pretty thick to help absorb the heat a little.
      And: I do eat with moderate amounts of different pepper flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      I have searched for 16 years for a blackening spice that comes close to being as good as one I used to eat regularly at a favorite restaurant. THIS is it. Super flavorful & the right amount of heat. I will be using this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      Perfect! For a more kid friendly version I reverse the amounts of cayenne and paprika. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      I use this for all different kinds of fish as well as chicken and pork. It's better than anything that you can buy in the grocery store!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      This is a great blackening season. I didn't have paprika or thyme so I left that out and used 2 teaspoons of black pepper instead of white pepper. I also reduced the amount of Cayenne to 1/2 teaspoon. Came out perfect! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      Wonderful seasoning mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      this answered my question. thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      Both DH & I liked ths alot. I reduced the thyme to 1/2 teaspoon (personal preference). We enjoyed this on chicken. I have extra in the cabinet to keep on hand. Thank you very much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      We used this for blackened tuna strips in fresh peppers (any long mildly spicy) topped with cheese and broiled. It was wonderful. I'll try to get my husband to help me come up with the recipe. We recreated it after having it as an appetizer at a FL restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      I can not for the life of me remember what I put this on, but it was fantastic. I made a jar to keep on hand right after dinner. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      Excellent seasoning. I used fresh garlic and freshly ground red pepper flakes instead of cayenne. I used this on HannahActually's Quick Zesty Green Bean Stir-Fry Quick Zesty Green Bean Stir-Fry and it was so flavorful I could have eaten the whole pan! I will use this seasoning many times! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2006

      I've been using this mix on a slab of salmon on cast iron for a 10-minutes-to-dinner favorite for the last four years. I've bragged about it so much that I'll package up a batch and put a fancy ribbon on the jar as a foodie-friendly gift!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2005

      Great seasoning for chicken. For those with low tolerances for spiciness, cut down on the cayenne pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2005

      I used this in a recipe that called for blackening seasoning. Very good and very spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2003

      I cooked "Grilled" Salmon (#53197) tonight. Of course, I had no blackening spices. Your version was easy to put together and was the perfect compliment to our salmon!! I used a little less cayenne pepper because I was afraid it may be too spicy hot, it was perfect!! Your mixes are the greatest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blackening Spice Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (23 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 33.5
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    22%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1555.1 mg
    64%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes