Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blackening Seasoning Mix Paul Prudhomme Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blackening Seasoning Mix Paul Prudhomme

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2010

      I used just a little bit of Thyme since we don't really like it, and I used 1/2 sweet paprika and 1/2 smoked paprika. It was delicious on blackened Tilapia! I think I'll make a big bowl of it to keep on hand instead of buying blackening spice at the store.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      This is the best and boy was I glad to this recipe because it is so expensive in the grocery stores. For a 3 oz container it cost $7.99. Now I can make it for a fraction of the cost. I love anything and everything by Paul and this is no exception. I did find out that Creole seasoning works just as good if blackening isn't available. In fact, I have compared both recipes and the ingrediens are the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      Wow, this was definitely spicy! Course that's why I picked this recipe to make... all the seasonings sounded up our alley and it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      Awesome spice mix! Very flavourful with many different layers of taste. I scaled the recipe back to 1 serving and that was the perfect amount for a hot chili I was cooking today. Mmmm!
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this great recipe with us, Ill keep it handy.
      Made and reviewed for Aussie Swap February 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      I made this last night to use in Voodoo Pasta Voodoo Pasta. I didn't have white pepper so I just used 2 teas. of black pepper and 1/2 teas. of cayenne. Next time I think I will add more cayenne. Other than the pepper change I followed the directions...perfect. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      I made a batch of this a couple of months ago and just tried it the other night on NY Strip steak blackened in a very hot skillet. Fabulous! This blend is very very close to Pauls at a fraction of the cost. However, I did add 1/2 tsp chili powder and 1/2 tsp ground cumin. I made mine with less salt and it was still plenty salty. Next time I will reduce even more or reduce the amount I put on the steaks. Thanks for posting. Update 02/08/10 - Used this on some shrimp and crawfish and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Tasted pretty good except for the thyme and oregano leaves which took away the flavor from the other great spices. All I could taste were these two things. It was good but just not for me. I'll try making it again but will omit the thyme and oregano.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Great mix of spices! I rubbed it on swordfish steaks and seared them in a saute' pan with a little olive oil to season up the swordfish in Grilled Swordfish, Green Beans and Spicy Tomato Salsa. It worked wonderfully, thanks for sharing the recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      This recipe is right on1 it makes a great blackening rub!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      Very delicious! This stuff is so darn expensive in the store but costs only pennies to make yourself! I sprinkled over catfish fillets and broiled. It is a similar result to skillet blackened fish but without the smoke because my exhaust fan can't keep up with the traditional method. I also put a tsp in some dirty Cajun rice and boy did that kick it up a notch! I love this stuff. Thanks Rinshin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      Made this to use on some "Black and Blue" burgers. Was delish!! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      Great recipe! I used it as a rub for steak and as part of a recipe for fried chicken. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blackening Seasoning Mix Paul Prudhomme

    Serving Size: 1 (5 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 9.3
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    22%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 970.5 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites