12 Reviews

I'm on a salt restricted diet, so can't use the prepared seasoning mixes. I did this one with 1/2 the salt for blackened chicken alfredo. Wonderful. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Queen Bag June 30, 2009

A wonderful spice mix! I made 1/4 of a batch and will mix up more as I need. I skipped the salt (didn't need it), also didn't have any dried chives and used only black peppercorn, fresh ground instead of cracked. I will try to find some dried chives next time. It was fabulous on shrimp. Thank you for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dimpi October 30, 2011

This seasoning mix was pretty good. Followed instructions with measurements exactly. I for some reason could not find the chives in the spice rack,pantry and cupboard. Major suggestion is to cut back on the salt to 1- 11/2 teaspoons. Two teaspoons is way to much and turned out very salty! Unless you like thinks to salty do not change a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Timothy H. December 31, 2010

I used this to prepare Lemon Blacken Grouper and loved it. I used a premixed mixture of peppersorns so the proportions may not be as written in this recipe but the result was still wonderful. Thankyou for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario February 05, 2009

MAJOR keeper of a recipe here. I used it on orange roughy and it was amazing. I did cut back on the cayenne (to about 1/8th of what's listed) as we're not crazy about too much heat. We're still talking about the wonderful flavor of this 3 days later, drooling over all the things we could use it on. Thanks for sharing this, chia!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) August 06, 2008

This is wonderful, handy and inexpensive! It will be great to have on hand. I could not find my colored peppercorns so had to use black only, but it was still great on my marinated Filet Mignon! Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marmie's November 05, 2007

I used this very successfully on salmon fillets. I didn't have all the different peppercorns so used only black. It's still a very good mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElishevaH July 24, 2007

5 stars it is !!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MYRNAS.LAW2 January 18, 2007

This is an excellent seasoning blend that I will keep handy. I used a 4 peppercorn blend and as Thorsten suggested crushed them lightly. Other than that made it as per the recipe. I used this to make blackened scallops which were served on top of Green Chile Chicken Alfredo (minus the chicken). I have just enough left over to try on some steaks. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG September 17, 2006

I took Thorsten's recommendation in using this seasoning recipe for the Blackened Shrimp Stroganoff Blackened Shrimp Stroganoff. This seasoning recipe did not dissapoint - quick and easy to put together. I have several times since ( I'm a little late in posting my review) used this recipe for various dishes and it always comes out a winner. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
- Carla - June 13, 2006
Blackening Seasoning Mix